Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I like most about this film is that it has a story that comes together beautifully
Marriage Italian Style (1964) has enough romance, drama and comedy to be considered all of them. The story begins with us seeing Filumena (Sophia Loren) on her deathbed and quite a fuss being made about it. The people there send for Domenico (Marcello Mastroianni), who was her lover for some 22 years. We learn about the couple's strange relationship in a series of...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by Richard Brzostek

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality DVD - shame
The film itself is a classic Sophia Loren vehicle and of course she's always worth watching - her beauty is almost in a class of its own. The story is quite good and well acted.

Unfortunately, this seems to be a DVD copied from an old video. The film itself is worth 4 out of 5 stars, but I have only given it 3 stars because this version is badly let down by...
Published on 27 Oct. 2007 by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I like most about this film is that it has a story that comes together beautifully, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Marriage Italian Style (1964) has enough romance, drama and comedy to be considered all of them. The story begins with us seeing Filumena (Sophia Loren) on her deathbed and quite a fuss being made about it. The people there send for Domenico (Marcello Mastroianni), who was her lover for some 22 years. We learn about the couple's strange relationship in a series of flashbacks. The story of this pair is quite amazing and unusual.

I wouldn't call their romance very typical. Domenico met Filumena when she was just 17 and worked in a brothel at the end of World War II. He is quite slick and does just enough to keep her from protesting stringing her along for so long. The story spends some time developing and showing us how Filumena isn't always treated so well and doesn't have an easy life. The story takes a few unexpected turns and there is much more to it than the above, which is where the humor comes in. What I like most about this film is that it has a story that comes together beautifully.

For those unfamiliar with Sophia Loren, she could be considered one of the most famous and most beautiful Italian actresses of all time. She also stared in many American films, which made her world-renowned. Her performance in Marriage Italian Style is remarkable.

Although I prefer to watch movies in their original language, this edition of Marriage Italian Style also has the option to watch it dubbed in English or German. Or if you are like me, there is the original Italian audio too (with an option for English subtitles). If you heard about this film and want to finally see it, love Sophia Loren's work or just can't get enough of Italian cinema, don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good transfer, ok translation, 26 July 2009
By 
M. FUSCO "yawnmower" (NEW YORK, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Having a widescreen copy of this wonderful film is very welcome after so many years of bad, full-screen versions. It does not appear to be remastered or restored, but the transfer is quite decent. Less so are the subtitles which are sometimes incomplete and sometimes innacurate, but not bad enough to spoil a beautiful and touching film.

But this is the best we have right now, until someone like Criterion or Bfi goes into action, and I, for one, am very glad to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastroianni and Loren at their best, 24 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Confectionery shop owner Don Domenico (Marcello Mastroianni) meets 17-year old Filumena Maturano (Sophia Loren) in a Naples brothel during a Second World War air raid. He rescues her, sets her up as his mistress, and over the years exploits her remorselessly (as he exploits most people). She loves him dearly but is disillusioned when she finds he is having an affair with the confectionery shop's young cashier. To win him back, she stages her own death, and when this doesn't work, she admits that she's the mother of three sons, one of whom is Domenico's. Don Domenico at last gives way, and the couple get married.

Such are the bare outlines of the plot, but a simple description doesn't do justice to the Edoardo de Filippo play, which is a funny, subtle and moving account of love between a Neapolitan couple during the 1950s and 1960s. De Sica gives the story the full works: lush and vivid colour photography, sentimental background music and huge emphasis on the romantic are combined to provide a showcase for the justly famous partnership (famous in the 1960s, anyway) of Marcello Mastroianni and Sophia Loren.

The principal actors give what is possibly the most marvellous of their many comedic double acts, and if you want to see why their cinematic partnership was so famous, look no further. Mastroianni captures the character of the faithless and louche Neapolitan businessman to absolute perfection; Loren, then at the very top of her form, gives an intelligent and quite moving portrayal of the exploited mistress. Never was she more sexy than she is in this film, but Loren was (and is) a highly intelligent and thoroughly professional actress, and the intelligence shines through just as much as the sex appeal.

Not everyone will like De Sica's heavily saccharine interpretation, but this after all is a romantic Neapolitan comedy set in Naples, and an over-the-top treatment is surely not out of place. In the background, we see tantalizing glimpses of Naples at its most baroque. The heavy and ornate interiors, typical of Naples and much of southern Italy, form highly authentic settings and are fascinating in their own right. Meanwhile the noise and bustle of the streets outside, and the sunny exterior shots generally, remind us that in the 1960s, Italian culture demonstrated a zest for life and a dynamism and hopefulness that have since rather withered on the vine.

The remastered wide-screen version has been generally well done, and the colours are almost as good as new. The sound on my DVD copy, while acceptable, was occasionally rather shrill. Recommended, and an essential buy for all serious devotees of the Italian cinema of the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophia Loren's Tour-De-Force Performance And A Great Forgotten Film, 3 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I've been patiently waiting for a decent version of this movie to come along and FINALLY an excellent one has arrived in this DVD, wide screen and all. The picture is clear and crisp, colors are rich and bright and the sound is excellent. It would have been nice to have extras, like old premiere footage, commentaries by Loren, etc., but who's complaining we have the real deal- the movie. After all, this is a film that brought Sophia her second Oscar nomination, a David Di Donatello award (Italy's Oscar), a Moscow Film Festival Award and other international awards. In my humble opinion, this is without a doubt Sophia Loren's finest acting performance, it even surpasses her greatest performances in "Two Women" and "A Special Day" and I say this because it is such a well rounded role, allowing her to run the gamut from comedy to drama, and she does so with great depth. No one laughs, suffers or cries more convincingly on the screen than the divine Loren, and director Vittorio de Sica knew how to extract the best that she had to give. The story is told through his and hers flashbacks and takes Sophia (Filumena) from her late teens to a middle aged woman,so multi faceted, running Loren from naive prostitute in worn torn Italy, to savvy kept woman, to conniving business woman to being a faithful mother;young or old, she shines and looks beautiful, commanding the screen with a fire and poignant dignity that leave you breathless. Add to this her wonderful partner Marcello Mastroianni and you have a solid if unusual love story which tugs at the heart Italian style. There is a scene were Sophia has to sign a lease to her first apartment, she is so gleeful and happy that she will finally have something of her own, and it is comical and heartbreaking at the same time, seeing her with great pride trying to form the letters to her name as she signs the document with almost child like innocence, it is here where you see the majesty of her comedic talent, seamlessly crossing the fine line between comedy and pathos and pulling it off with poignancy and truth. A true classic of Italian cinema, it opened to critical raves in 1964 and should be forever treasured by audiences young and old. Acting and directing don't get any better than this folks- BUY IT and savor this very fine film, I couldn't recommend it more. If you would like to see a photo montage video preview, please check out my tribute video of this film on everyone's favorite video website (which I rather not name), it features chronological photos of the plot set to the romantic song from the movie...just look up videos by boopkid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality DVD - shame, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself is a classic Sophia Loren vehicle and of course she's always worth watching - her beauty is almost in a class of its own. The story is quite good and well acted.

Unfortunately, this seems to be a DVD copied from an old video. The film itself is worth 4 out of 5 stars, but I have only given it 3 stars because this version is badly let down by the poor quality - faded and slightly blurred. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 20 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been complaints about the quality of this transfer. However, the original film, which I knew very well from the 60s, had some very obvious flaws in it. This transfer is about as good as it is going to get. The English dubbing is excellent and retains all the honor of the Italian with Loren doing her own dubbing and a perfect choice of actor to dub Mastorianni. A first rate film - well written, directed and acted. Get a copy for yourself. You will be pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible quality!, 19 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This DVD has just ruined my evening in front of the television to watch one of my favourite Italian classics... The quality is very poor, the original audio is completely out of synch with the visuals and the visuals are not that good anyway...Overall, a very disappointing experience. Not worth the money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Sofia Loren is a very good Actress and beautiful, Good Story from beginning to the end.
I loved it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality but not in its original version in Italian, still good, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I was happy to be able to watch that classic and to keep it, it s a good quality DVD but in English not in Italian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cut Edition, 27 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Marriage Italian Style (Matrimonio all'italiana) - (Mr Bongo Films) [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Don't buy this version if you love this film as there are a number of stupid cuts made which make no sense. Such a pity as it is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews