Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And in the end..........
Won't speak about the music, it's obviously incredible! Will however give my first impressions of the remaster. I've been excited for ages about the release of the Remastered Beatles albums and was taken aback to find Abbey Road in my local Morrisons 2 days before the official release date! (Spoils John Lennon's superstition about the number 9 somewhat). I've been...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Mr. Barry Deacon

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Something" not quite right here
I'm a big fan of the music and the likes of the Beatles will never be seen or heard again. This is a review of the sound quality of the new remaster, and I know this album very very well as it has been my favourite album of the group for the last thirty years.

I have had the 2009 remastered version of "Abbey Road" for some time now and I was interested how it...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by J. Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And in the end.........., 8 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Won't speak about the music, it's obviously incredible! Will however give my first impressions of the remaster. I've been excited for ages about the release of the Remastered Beatles albums and was taken aback to find Abbey Road in my local Morrisons 2 days before the official release date! (Spoils John Lennon's superstition about the number 9 somewhat). I've been flipping between the old and new cds to see how big the differences are. It is instantly apparent that there is a new crispness, detail and depth that hadn't been there before. It's as if the instruments and vocals are more clearly separated with no blurring between the lines. Lying on the floor with your eyes closed and with a set of good headphones, you can almost look around within the sound and see the individual lines playing only to you.
On first comparing the old and new copies the first thing that strikes you is the volume, noticeably a couple of notches louder on the new remaster. The old one is certainly flatter in contrast and almost distorted in its blurring of detail.
However, don't get me wrong, these differences are quite subtle. It's a big difference in some ways, but I'd say the majority of people won't really appreciate it. A bit like comparing a DVD to a Blu Ray, yes you can see it's crisper, but you remember the film, not how sharp it looked or even how big your screen is!
For a true fan that knows every note and sound on everything they ever released, like myself, I love it. I revel in the genius the whole process was. Writing, arranging, performing and recording it doesn't get better than The Beatles. This will remind you how good it all was in better definition on a digital format then ever before. It's been a long long....long time coming, but this is probably as good as you'll hear it. In my head, it was always this good anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure enjoyment, 30 Jan 2004
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
A combination of celebrated classics and less well-known yet equally enjoyable tracks, Abbey Road is undoubtedly one of the best ever recordings of modern music. The Fab Four's individual talents reach fruition and fuse together to make this album a must in anyone's collection. The album has no dull moments and the latter half of the album is a masterpeice of medley- songs such as Because, You Never Give Me Your Money, Sun King, Carry That Weight and The End are all rolled into one extravaganza of music and are rounded off by the amusing Her Majesty. With the first half of the album boasting such classics as Come Together, Something and Here Comes The Sun, anyone who calls themselves a Beatles fan and doesn't own a copy of Abbey Road is a downright liar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And in the end..., 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Bob Geldof has been known to express the opinion that the brilliant segued song medley on the 2nd side of Abbey Road (from track 7 onwards on the CD version) has never been equalled or beaten by any other pop artist. That is a view which I share 100%. I love this album, apparently the Beatles' biggest selling record, and I can never tire of listening to the famous medley section - 22 minutes and 22 seconds of sheer musical brilliance. In later years, Lennon apparently dismissed the medley section as being just bits of incomplete songs cobbled together. How modest! If that really was his view, then it's a shame because it's the highlight of the album. Only the Beatles could have bowed out in such magnificent style and not once does the medley section of the album seem pretentious or ill-conceived. This was the last Beatles LP to be recorded, although the ill-fated Let It Be album was released after it. Abbey Road is a classic Beatles album, packed with quality songs (with the possible exception of Maxwell's Silver Hammer, perhaps the worst ever Beatles song). Even Ringo's Octopus's Garden is like a remake of Yellow Submarine, ie children's song with lots of silly noises. Although this LP was recorded in 1969 at the end of their remarkable career, I feel it has more in common with mid-period albums like Rubber Soul and Revolver as opposed to later works like Sgt Pepper and the White Album. Aside from the much-lauded medley, Lennon's contributions are outstanding - Come Together, I Want You (She's So Heavy), Because (the best Beatles harmonies ever? ). And as for George Harrison, his songs (Something, Here Comes The Sun) are as good as any Lennon/McCartney composition and demonstrate that his songwriting ability had come on leaps and bounds by this point. Another great (and oft-forgotten) feature of this LP's sound is the subtle use of an early Moog synth on a number of tracks. Final verdict? A brilliant classic album that's only let down by one thing - shoddy and poor quality mastering. These Beatles CDs are in dire need of upgrading - they have not been upgraded since they first appeared in 1987. To prove the point, listen to this CD on headphones then listen, again on headphones, to the more recently remastered Red & Blue CDs or even the Yellow Submarine reissue from last year. Come on EMI, do the Beatles justice and remaster the whole back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And in the end...", 16 Jun 2002
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
There are a million words I could write to describe this classic album. However, to put it succinctly, this is my all-time favourite album. This is the work of a band who were breaking up for goodness sake and who knew this was to be the swansong of the greatest band ever..The medleys are the most awe inspiring and moving pieces committed to rock record. To say they had run out of ideas is absolutely absurd. True, there are a couple of lesser tracks in my opinion, but hey, we are talking The Beatles here - lesser tracks by The Beatles are the equivalent to the quality of material most contemporary bands make a living from nowadays. Abbey Road is easily up there with Revolver, but because this was the last thing they did, it will always have an edge over that 1966 classic. You Never Give Me Your Money is my most favourite song ever, but just look down the list ... Come Together, Something, Here Comes The Sun, Because, Golden Slumbers ... Abbey Road is a musical adventure and a testament to the greatest band in the history of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest fabs album, and therefore the best album ever, 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Abbey Road was the final album the fab four recorded, but by no means was their swansong a let down. The only bad thing towards the end of the 60s was the fact that Let It Be was released after Abbey Road. The album contains classic tracks such as Harrison's Something and Here Comes The Sun, Lennon's Come Together. However, one must look beyond these to fully appreciate the album. Starr's Octopus's Garden fails to be revolutionary, but Harrison's country-style guitarring turns it into a delightful piece to hear. The two medleys which end the album are near-perfection. Stand-out tracks include Golden Slumbers, McCartney's peaceful calming "lullaby" which leads nicely into Carry That Weight which then heads into the heavier The End, a piece which makes one reflect on the end of a beautiful band, the greatest ever and the end of an era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a "cheap" album, 14 Nov 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Abbey Road stands out in my memory originally because I had a stand-up row with my father, who was convinced that because he hadn't heard of the majority of the tracks it must be a "cheap" album of substandard material.
In many ways, it's a tribute to the endurance of Lennon & McCartney songs that he should expect to know and love all tracks on a Beatles album, but how wrong can you be? Abbey Road may have been chronologically the last Beatles recording, but the staggering power, variety and sheer innovation of the album remains undiminished.
Among its many qualities is the ability to appeal to hugely diverse audiences. For example, I always loved the rocking stuff (I want you/she's so heavy, Oh Darling, Come Together), but for the fans of other sides of the Beatles, there's the jovial, knockabout style (Octopusses Garden, Maxwell's Silver Hammer), are the classic ballads (Something, Golden Slumbers), poppy stuff (Here comes the sun, Carry that Weight) and so on.
In short, a vast treasure trove of songs, lyrically inventive and fresh as a daisy over 30 years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY OH MY !!, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Ad Arma "Ad Arma" (Holland, (Les Pays Bas)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
OH YEAH!
Was it 20 years ago, more even, since I last heard this Lp?-now-CD?
MY OH MY ! From the first tones I could sing along and knew what was coming next!
The volume-button on my car's installation went OPEN as if I was a puber again and I was singing along with it the full drives, repeating-the-repeats after and AFTER!!
In those over-20-years I learned to listen freejazz, avantgardemusic, but hey, this is still TOP ! I like those fat pushing baselines, the singing, the lyrics, the honesty and pleasure in making, the serious tone, the ache and search and hear how new it was ! Still standing like a dike!
But above all, there is this stretching song..: I want you/she's so heavy !!
WOW! That is the song that went repeated over and over, just need to hear that one a hundred times a year at least!!!! She's so... HEAVY Y Y..
No wonder the girls were yelling, she 's so.. (you've gotta love it!!)

Nice printing I received from the amazon-seller..
A latin print with unfolding papercover and extra linernotes/pictures.. nice surprice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AND IN THE END ........, 2 July 2008
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
The Beatles final album (last to be recorded) is a mixed bag. At one end of the spectrum there are Harrison's two landmark songs - 'Something' & 'Here Comes The Sun' then there is Lennon's frankly baffling 'I Want You Shes's So Heavy' and McCartneys trite 'Maxwells Silver Hammer'.
This is the sound of a band falling apart. Of course, this being the Beatles, there are also moments of pure brilliance - 'Come Together' is John's last great Fabs song and his band mates, especially Paul, help turn the swampy blues track into a minor masterpiece. Ringo's jaunty 'Octopus's Garden' may be a lightweight kids song but the inventive arrangement and clever harmonies are often overlooked.
Abbey Road though is Macca's album. 'She Came In Through The Bathroom Window' is almost classical in it's composition, whilst his work on the long medley shows a man in full command of his obvious talents. George also excells throughout and his distinctive lead guitar work is often outstanding.
Lennon was, at times, very critical of the overbearing McCartney and on Abbey Road the division between the two was never more obvious. But it's Paul thats holds the record together and it's to his, and George Martins, credit that the results are so good. Free to experiment with newly installed 8 track recording equipment the Beatles managed to fashion a complex and polished sounding album that lacked only in consistencey and focus.
Had 'Come and Get It', 'Maybe I'm Amazed' or Harrison's 'All Things Must Pass' made the cut then this could well have been The Beatles finest hour. It's sounds a lot better than the scrappy 'Let It Be' and as a swangsong record still manages to stand head and shoulders above the competiton of the late 60's. The iconic cover shot was the icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Harrison songs stand out, 26 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
This was the last album the Beatles recorded together although it was actually released before Let it be. The album is filled with many great Lennon-McCartney songs including Come together (a bluesy mid-tempo rocker), Maxwell's silver hammer and Oh darling, but the two best songs here - Something and Here comes the sun - are by George Harrison. George had written some good songs for the Beatles before, most notably While my guitar gently weeps (on the white album) but here he surpassed himself.
Come together and Something were coupled as a double A-side for single release so it is a little surprising to find them on the album. In the sixties, singles were normally left off albums, but it may have been around this time that record companies abandoned this policy. No other singles were released from the album (at least in the UK) but Here comes the sun has been recorded by plenty of other artists and was a UK top ten hit for Steve Harley and Cockney Rebel in 1976. It would surely have been a much bigger hit if it had been released as a Beatles single in 1969.
Octopus's garden features Ringo Starr as lead singer and while it is easy to dismiss as a novelty song, it is one of the better songs of its kind and it was included on the blue album (1967 - 1970) instead of Oh darling or Maxwell's silver hammer. The remaining songs are great but they seem ordinary by Beatles standards. The best of them may be Golden slumbers and Carry that weight.
This is a great album (of course - all Beatles albums are) but there are a few of their earlier albums that I enjoy even more. especially Magical mystery tour and Rubber soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 16 Sep 2003
By 
Mrs. G. Baker "geoffbaker62" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Abbey Road is and always will be my favourite Beatles album - It is and will always be my favourite album of all time as well. For those of you who are just getting to know Beatles music listen to this timeless classic and you'll realise that it will still sound fresh and strong in another 30 years time. You'll realise the immense debt that Popular music the world over owes to the Beatles.
Think of Golden Slumbers/Carry that Weight/The End and you know where the inspiration for classics like Bohemian Rhapsody came from. Think of George Harrison finally coming out of the shadow of John and Paul, with Something and Here Comes The Sun, think of the diversity of songs from Maxwells Silver Hammer to Shes So Heavy and Oh Darling and the pure wonder of the second half medley. They were ground breakers, standard bearers for everything that came after them couldn't have existed without the Beatles having shown the way.
For those of you who have forgotten what it is all about, put 45 minutes aside, sit down in a comfy chair, shut the world out and put on Abbey Road.....enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f1d3a8)

This product

Abbey Road
Abbey Road by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews