Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery...
Published on 26 July 2006 by C. Barlow

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odds and ends
The actual MMT tracks (the first six) see the Beatles at their lowest ebb creatively, spaced out and knackered after Sergeant Pepper, and inclined to let any old thing pass - especially Harrison, hacked off with the group and at being under contract to Northern Songs. His Blue Jay Way is a poor effort, a boring song about being bored (when he used to complain about not...
Published 10 months ago by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated, 26 July 2006
By 
C. Barlow "tkkeele1" (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery Tour. The rest are just o.k, but the double a-side of Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever is often cited as the greatest double a-side of all time, and the greatest single of all time, which is some compliment, this is one of the finest records ever, and shoudln't be taken for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My take on the stereo version, 2 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
In my opinion, Magical Mystery Tour is one of the very best Beatles albums. I actually like every single song on this album, yes even the most whimsical ones. But the movie stinks, you say? Well, don't watch it. Just listen to the music. With great songs like Fool on the hill, Strawberry fields forever, I am the walrus, Penny Lane and others you can't go wrong.

I would like to make a specific point about the stereo version of this album. Some people complain about the stereo sound picture, with drums sometimes coming from the far left and instruments changing place from one verse to another and so on. I think these people entirely miss the point. Today a stereo picture is drawn to give the sound a certain width, to make it sound as neat, pleasant and comfortable as possible. But in 1966-67, when pop groups started to take more interest in the recording procedure and stereo was still a pretty new thing, a stereo picture often had a different purpose. Back then, stereo was often more like a cool thing that was used for interesting and stunning effects. A bit like 3D glasses during the 1980's. If you watched a movie with 3D glasses you certainly weren't expecting the movie to look more pleasant and admirable. You just expected it to look... well, cool. This is how stereo was regarded during a short period in pop history. "Wow, it sounds like the drums are coming from somewhere else than the guitar and ooops they suddenly changed place, what will they think of next?"

Everything in history has at some point been something new and interesting. Magical Mystery Tour gives us a valuable look at how things sounded when stereo was something new and interesting. Sure, I wouldn't mind a new "proper" stereo remix of this album to go along with this one. But instead of putting this version down, try to enjoy it for what it is. It's an interesting piece of pop history.

The mono box version is also good of course, with slightly altered mixes of some songs, most notably Strawberry Fields Forever.

And whichever version you choose, you'll have a bunch of great songs. That's the nice thing about the Beatles - no matter how experimental they became, they always took their time to write some genuinely good songs to go along with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes overlooked but brilliant, 29 July 2007
By 
Brian Levine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The first Beatles album I ever bought (as an 11 year old in 1977) , it was the cover initially that attracted me.

When I heard the songs for the first time I remember 'Fool on the Hill' and 'Your mother Should Know' (both Paul) instantly speaking to me, the retro-feel (back to 1964) of the latter positively mesmeric. 'I am the Walrus' was genius by John, and the middle eight particularly pertinent to the summer we're having.

And then, side two, 'Hello Goodbye' is as upbeat a song as you could find anywhere, followed by the ultra genius of 'Strawberry Fields Forever' and 'Penny Lane', easily the best two songs on any album sitting side by side (listen to them on Anthology Vol II as well - also reviewed).

The final song sums up the whole album: and I have always wondered why this album is often overlooked in favour of the even more brilliant 'Sergeant Pepper' or even 'Revolver' (more complete as albums).

The film ('MMT') is a little bit nutty-as-a-fruitcake but also worth seeing to complete the full audio-visual experience, although the songs do not match the album exactly.

If you do not have these songs on any of your other Beatles collections, get this album and you will understand what made an eleven year old learn all 216 released Beatles songs so he could play them on his guitar and buy about 40 Beatles albums as well as a number of singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY GREAT, GREAT, MEMORIES OF THE 'FAB-FOUR', 7 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I Remember the 'Magical Mystery' short film being presented on TV way back
when, the films they made were never intended to be anything but fun.
This 'CD' has the numbers from the TV film along with some memorable favourites
that we all remember.
The songs from the film include numbers such as --'The Magical Mystery Tour'
(of course) ...'The Fool On The Hill' (love that one).....'Your Mother Should Know'
and the cleverly written... 'I Am A Walrus' among the memorable songs from the
film, backed up by hits such as ...'Hello Goodbye' and 'Penny Lane' and 'All
you need is Love' along with perhaps one of my all time 'Beatles' favourites
'Strawberry Fields Forever'
All in all, if you're still collecting 'Beatle' albums, don't miss this 'Gem'
(am listening to the album as I write)
This is music that has remained popular for around 50 years and will almost
certainly still be played 50 years from now (maybe not by myself)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up for a mystery tour!, 25 Nov. 2012
By 
C. Rigby (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the 2012 vinyl edition. Please ignore the Amazon UK's bunching up of reviews.
First off, one benefit of this pressing is everything is in true stereo being rather than the awful duophonic fake stereo of the analogue US and UK versions on the songs Penny Lane, Baby, You're A Rich Man and All You Need Is Love that my very first copy had. Because this lp was in truth a American creation added later in the day to the World-wide catalogue, they have used a old style colourband Capitol logo for it. So cool!
The booklet is tucked in the left jacket pouch rather than stapled in the gate-fold ready to fall off and is printed in thicker paper.
Secondly Sean Magee cut this and he did an extremely good job of getting deep bass on it, the treble is very smooth, and the presence on the vocals almost fooled me into thinking this was analogue sourced, lacking the harshness you sometimes detect on cd. He left a good amount of space from the end of the final track to the edge by the label to minimize any end of side playback problems. I went from having the 1976 UK version with the last three tracks in fake stereo originally to the 1988 Capitol digitally mastered one that was a bit better.
I feel this is the best one yet I've had.It was dead quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Treat, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Magical Mystery Tour was for a long time the only Beatles collection where the US version gave better value than the rest of the world edition. In the UK, it was a double EP with all the songs from the film; in the States, Capitol made an album out of the songs by adding five more tracks, including the incomparable Strawberry Fields and Penny Lane.

The EP and LP both gave you a nice photo and lyric booklet, which is unfortunately missing from the CD issue.

While it doesn't quite hang together as an album for me, anyway, the overall quality of the songs is equal to the Beatles' best. I even like Flying, which was, believe it or not, one of their most played tunes as it used to fill in time before radio news bulletins.

The CD sound is a bit trebly and thin and could do with a re-jig.

I'd also suggest renting or buying the film, as it is, in Paul's words, a 'pretty cool little film'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam packed with classic Beatles recordings, 21 Aug. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
If it is even possible for a Beatles album to be somewhat underappreciated, Magical Mystery Tour is that album. Maybe it's the cover image of the Fab Four dressed in wholly ridiculous garb; that image is rather offsetting. As for the music, it's something of an odd mix of songs. The first six tracks come from the rather obscure television film Magical Mystery Tour, and the remaining five are made up of singles added to the pot in order to cook up enough material for an American album release. Thus, what you end up with is not a concept album such as the incredible Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band but rather a densely packed collection of huge hits complemented by several other very fine songs in their own right. Of the seven tracks, seven are bonafide Beatles classics: Magical Mystery Tour, The Fool On the Hill, I Am the Walrus, Hello Goodbye, Strawberry Fields Forever, Penny Lane, and All You Need Is Love. The last of these songs became a veritable theme song for the culture of love thriving at the time of this album's release in 1967. I Am the Walrus is unquestionably the strangest song the Beatles ever released, but John's unique delivery of the seemingly nonsense lyrics is inherently fascinating. I don't even need to expound upon the fascinating, psychedelic, and wholly unique Strawberry Fields Forever. Besides being two of the Beatles' most amazing songs, I Am the Walrus and Strawberry Fields Forever also hold an important place in the mythology of the Beatles, supposedly containing clues pointing to the "death" of Paul.
The four less familiar tracks are rather remarkable in themselves. Your Mother Should Know and Baby You're a Rich Man are fun and somewhat bouncy little tunes. Flying is a short instrumental (short being the best kind of instrumental in my opinion) that is notable for its existence as such among the Beatles discography. Then there is Blue Jay Way, George Harrison's sole contribution to the album. It is a terrific song wholly in keeping with the strange, oriental-influenced type of psychedelic sound showcased in Sgt. Pepper's Within You, Without You. It is a pity that George Harrison was never allowed to contribute more than one or two songs to any Beatles release because his songs prove the most fascinating and oddly compelling of all the group's recordings.
Clearly, this is an album all Beatles fans should cherish and listen to on a fairly regular basis. Few Greatest Hits albums can boast as many chart toppers as Magical Mystery Tour can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up , roll up ....step right this way., 27 Nov. 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Originally released in late 1967 as a 6 song double E.P. and subsequently expanded to an 11 song album Magical Mystery Tour is the soundtrack to a one hour television film made by the Beatles( It was Paul McCartney,s idea to have a film based around magical adventures) shown twice over the Christmas period in 1967. The film is a bit of a mess, a charming mess , but a mess none the less. The album is actually much better and features many of my favourite Beatles songs.
Magical Mystery Tour was the first project for the band after the death of their manager and mentor Brian Epstein in August 1967 and many blamed the films sloppy production on the fact is lacked his mature judgement . The music though was far more favourably received than the film .When the soundtrack was released in the U.S. it became a full L.P. with the films soundtrack on side one and a collection of A & B sides on side two. This has now become the version of the films soundtrack that everyone is now familiar with.
Side one contains the same songs as the original E.P. but in a different order. Not that this matters once the vivacious title track kicks in with its blaring trumpets courtesy of four session musicians and with Beatles compadres Mal Evans and Neil Aspinall on percussion. "The Fool On The Hill" is one of McCartney,s more poignant and genuinely moving ballads with plaintive flute and Lennon and Harrison on harmonica. "Flying"" the brief churning instrumental is credited to the entire band leading into George Harrisons woozy "Blue Jay Way" before the wistful insanely catchy "Your Mother Should Know" which brilliantly elucidates McCartney's genius for melody.
However the real tour de force is Lennon's utterly berserk avant garde masterpiece "I Am The Walrus". Whether the tale is apocryphal or not , i don,t know, but apparently Lennon got the stirring rhythmic spine of the song from lying in bed in a New York hotel listening the sirens constantly blaring outside.Either way the dramatic orchestration , vertiginous arrangement juxtaposed with Lennon's barking lyrics( his typically sardonic response to academics over analysing Beatles songs) is arguably the finest example of the bands ability to match memorable tunes with sonic innovation. It,s my favourite Beatles and not even Oasis,s clodhopping cover can diminish it.
Talking off innovation . "Strawberry Fields Forever" a song that could merit a full review on its own. McCartney played the mellotron ( an instrument introduced to the band by Mike Pinder of The Moody Blues) and also wrote the first verse. George Martin utilises some of the studio trickery he learnt working for the BBC,s radiophonic workshop manipulating tape. Strawberry Fields refers to an orphanage in Liverpool and was released as a double A side with "Penny Lane" which kept the Liverpool theme going and is as effervescent a pop song as The Beatles ever produced with it,s fizzing trumpets and McCartney,s joyous vocal.
Another typically jaunty McCartney song the more throwaway but none the less sprightly enjoyable "Hello Goodbye " along with Lennon-McCartney collaboration "Baby You,re A Rich Man"( recorded for The Beatles animated film "The Beatles - Yellow Submarine [1968]" ) make up side two .Along with of course Lennon's. "All You Need Is Love"featuring it,s star laden backing band including Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Marianne Faithfull ,Eric Clapton, Graham Nash and George Martin on piano. The song became the centre piece of the 1967 Our World satellite broadcast neatly encapsulating the summer of love.
For a somewhat thrown together affair Magical Mystery Tour is surprisingly cohesive and is every bit as experimental and arguably more consistent than the far more garlanded Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. That's a truly great album too lest there be any misunderstanding but amongst the pantheon of brilliant Beatles albums -The Beatles: the White Album, Abbey Road, Revolver ,Rubber Soul -Magical Mystery Tour more than holds its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Beatles album, 10 Feb. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I am in a minority but this has always been my favorite despite one or two tracks that I'm not wild about. Strictly speaking, this is actually a compilation, being made up of the tracks from the soundtrack EP plus the A and B-sides of various singles. However, as none of these tracks appeared on any other original Beatles albums, it is classified as an original album. – Because it was not recorded as an album, it sounds less cohesive than some of the other Beatles albums but the strength of the songs more than compensates for that.
Taking the soundtrack songs first, three of them are outstanding – Fool on the hill (a song that has been covered by others, sometimes brilliantly), Your mother should know (a fun song, as true today as it ever was) and the theme song. I can never make up my mind about I am the walrus. It is a piece of nonsense but it is very well done. Only John Lennon could have recorded such a song and not been ridiculed for it. There are times when I really enjoy it and there are times when I think it is rubbish. You must make up your own mind. Flying (an instrumental) and Blue jay way (a George Harrison song) are decent but nothing special.
The singles tracks are, of course, all masterpieces. The only B-side, Baby you're a rich man, is less famous than the other tracks but it's a classic as far as I'm concerned. You need no introduction to the four A-sides (Hello goodbye, Strawberry fields forever, Penny Lane, All you need is love) – you've heard them all countless times or you wouldn't even be thinking about buying this album.
Others may cite Sergeant Pepper, Abbey road or Revolver as their favorite Beatles album. I love them all, but not as much as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 28 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
This review is based on the 2009 CD remaster.

Received as a Christmas present, this was my introduction to the 2009 remaster, already owning this on LP. It's evident from the start that the tracks have been given an extra punch as Magical Mystery Tour kicks things off with the first of six tracks from the original British double EP. It's not only punch either, with track two, The Fool On The Hill presented in great clarity.

The joy of these remaster is being able to hear the nuances of the production in a depth unrealized - by the time we are at track three, the (almost) instrumental Flying, the melotron and Paul's bass can be heard with pin sharp detail.

Of course this is the only American version of an album to enter the core canon, with five tracks recorded around Sgt Peppers being used to flesh things out. But it isn't a Hodge podge, nothing could be further from the truth, with the first appearance on the long player format for the Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever double A side single which preceded Pepper. It's the latter which reveals new secrets, with arguably the most revered track they ever released heard in great depth.

A wonderful album, their other great work of 1967. The Beatles near their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magical Mystery Tour
Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews