Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery...
Published on 26 July 2006 by C. Barlow

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odds and ends
The actual MMT tracks (the first six) see the Beatles at their lowest ebb creatively, spaced out and knackered after Sergeant Pepper, and inclined to let any old thing pass - especially Harrison, hacked off with the group and at being under contract to Northern Songs. His Blue Jay Way is a poor effort, a boring song about being bored. Most of the others are also below...
Published 1 month ago by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated, 26 July 2006
By 
C. Barlow "tkkeele1" (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I can't believe people take the mick out of this because of the movie, its one of my favourite Beatle Records, and it should be because of the classic songs on the album like.

I'am the Walrus, Strawberry Fields Forever,Penny Lane and All You Need Is love.

Other great songs include. Fool on the Hill, Baby you're a Rich Man and The Magical Mystery Tour. The rest are just o.k, but the double a-side of Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever is often cited as the greatest double a-side of all time, and the greatest single of all time, which is some compliment, this is one of the finest records ever, and shoudln't be taken for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam packed with classic Beatles recordings, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
If it is even possible for a Beatles album to be somewhat underappreciated, Magical Mystery Tour is that album. Maybe it's the cover image of the Fab Four dressed in wholly ridiculous garb; that image is rather offsetting. As for the music, it's something of an odd mix of songs. The first six tracks come from the rather obscure television film Magical Mystery Tour, and the remaining five are made up of singles added to the pot in order to cook up enough material for an American album release. Thus, what you end up with is not a concept album such as the incredible Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band but rather a densely packed collection of huge hits complemented by several other very fine songs in their own right. Of the seven tracks, seven are bonafide Beatles classics: Magical Mystery Tour, The Fool On the Hill, I Am the Walrus, Hello Goodbye, Strawberry Fields Forever, Penny Lane, and All You Need Is Love. The last of these songs became a veritable theme song for the culture of love thriving at the time of this album's release in 1967. I Am the Walrus is unquestionably the strangest song the Beatles ever released, but John's unique delivery of the seemingly nonsense lyrics is inherently fascinating. I don't even need to expound upon the fascinating, psychedelic, and wholly unique Strawberry Fields Forever. Besides being two of the Beatles' most amazing songs, I Am the Walrus and Strawberry Fields Forever also hold an important place in the mythology of the Beatles, supposedly containing clues pointing to the "death" of Paul.
The four less familiar tracks are rather remarkable in themselves. Your Mother Should Know and Baby You're a Rich Man are fun and somewhat bouncy little tunes. Flying is a short instrumental (short being the best kind of instrumental in my opinion) that is notable for its existence as such among the Beatles discography. Then there is Blue Jay Way, George Harrison's sole contribution to the album. It is a terrific song wholly in keeping with the strange, oriental-influenced type of psychedelic sound showcased in Sgt. Pepper's Within You, Without You. It is a pity that George Harrison was never allowed to contribute more than one or two songs to any Beatles release because his songs prove the most fascinating and oddly compelling of all the group's recordings.
Clearly, this is an album all Beatles fans should cherish and listen to on a fairly regular basis. Few Greatest Hits albums can boast as many chart toppers as Magical Mystery Tour can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up for a mystery tour!, 25 Nov 2012
By 
C. Rigby (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the 2012 vinyl edition. Please ignore the Amazon UK's bunching up of reviews.
First off, one benefit of this pressing is everything is in true stereo being rather than the awful duophonic fake stereo of the analogue US and UK versions on the songs Penny Lane, Baby, You're A Rich Man and All You Need Is Love that my very first copy had. Because this lp was in truth a American creation added later in the day to the World-wide catalogue, they have used a old style colourband Capitol logo for it. So cool!
The booklet is tucked in the left jacket pouch rather than stapled in the gate-fold ready to fall off and is printed in thicker paper.
Secondly Sean Magee cut this and he did an extremely good job of getting deep bass on it, the treble is very smooth, and the presence on the vocals almost fooled me into thinking this was analogue sourced, lacking the harshness you sometimes detect on cd. He left a good amount of space from the end of the final track to the edge by the label to minimize any end of side playback problems. I went from having the 1976 UK version with the last three tracks in fake stereo originally to the 1988 Capitol digitally mastered one that was a bit better.
I feel this is the best one yet I've had.It was dead quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odds and ends, 17 Jun 2014
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The actual MMT tracks (the first six) see the Beatles at their lowest ebb creatively, spaced out and knackered after Sergeant Pepper, and inclined to let any old thing pass - especially Harrison, hacked off with the group and at being under contract to Northern Songs. His Blue Jay Way is a poor effort, a boring song about being bored. Most of the others are also below par; I Am The Walrus is a classic, I guess, but not a favourite of mine. The larky 'performance' (ie mime) in the film belies the fact that nobody else - except perhaps Nirvana - has been anything like this caustic about their own audience.

Of the other tracks, Penny Lane and Strawberry Fields belong to the Sgt Pepper sessions; the others are okay post-Pepper singles, pleasant enough but not their best work. Not until the following year would they get off the acid and begin to raise their standards again - though tensions would rise along with them.

As a whole, it can't be compared to the classic Beatles albums because it simply isn't an album; it's an EP, mediocre by their standards, with some other oddments stuck on. Personally I think the film is, if anything, probably better than the music and more influential than people realise - eg I'm pretty sure the young Pythons watched it with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY GREAT, GREAT, MEMORIES OF THE 'FAB-FOUR', 7 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
I Remember the 'Magical Mystery' short film being presented on TV way back
when, the films they made were never intended to be anything but fun.
This 'CD' has the numbers from the TV film along with some memorable favourites
that we all remember.
The songs from the film include numbers such as --'The Magical Mystery Tour'
(of course) ...'The Fool On The Hill' (love that one).....'Your Mother Should Know'
and the cleverly written... 'I Am A Walrus' among the memorable songs from the
film, backed up by hits such as ...'Hello Goodbye' and 'Penny Lane' and 'All
you need is Love' along with perhaps one of my all time 'Beatles' favourites
'Strawberry Fields Forever'
All in all, if you're still collecting 'Beatle' albums, don't miss this 'Gem'
(am listening to the album as I write)
This is music that has remained popular for around 50 years and will almost
certainly still be played 50 years from now (maybe not by myself)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My take on the stereo version, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
In my opinion, Magical Mystery Tour is one of the very best Beatles albums. I actually like every single song on this album, yes even the most whimsical ones. But the movie stinks, you say? Well, don't watch it. Just listen to the music. With great songs like Fool on the hill, Strawberry fields forever, I am the walrus, Penny Lane and others you can't go wrong.

I would like to make a specific point about the stereo version of this album. Some people complain about the stereo sound picture, with drums sometimes coming from the far left and instruments changing place from one verse to another and so on. I think these people entirely miss the point. Today a stereo picture is drawn to give the sound a certain width, to make it sound as neat, pleasant and comfortable as possible. But in 1966-67, when pop groups started to take more interest in the recording procedure and stereo was still a pretty new thing, a stereo picture often had a different purpose. Back then, stereo was often more like a cool thing that was used for interesting and stunning effects. A bit like 3D glasses during the 1980's. If you watched a movie with 3D glasses you certainly weren't expecting the movie to look more pleasant and admirable. You just expected it to look... well, cool. This is how stereo was regarded during a short period in pop history. "Wow, it sounds like the drums are coming from somewhere else than the guitar and ooops they suddenly changed place, what will they think of next?"

Everything in history has at some point been something new and interesting. Magical Mystery Tour gives us a valuable look at how things sounded when stereo was something new and interesting. Sure, I wouldn't mind a new "proper" stereo remix of this album to go along with this one. But instead of putting this version down, try to enjoy it for what it is. It's an interesting piece of pop history.

The mono box version is also good of course, with slightly altered mixes of some songs, most notably Strawberry Fields Forever.

And whichever version you choose, you'll have a bunch of great songs. That's the nice thing about the Beatles - no matter how experimental they became, they always took their time to write some genuinely good songs to go along with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Sep 2009
By 
N. Bailey "nialli" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The original CD from 1987 was terrible, for me the worst of the bunch sounding tinny and substandard. This 2009 remastering is incredible, bringing home the full glory of some of their fabulous finest songs. Magical Mystery Tour itself is a tour de force now, whilst I Am The Walrus is ear-watering - stunning. And as to the rest, has there ever been a better set of "filler" tracks than Hello Goodbye, Strawberry Fields Forever, Penny Lane and All You Need Is Love? I even prefer it to the mono remastering, stereo being the first version I ever heard back in the early seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Mystery Tour, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The Magical Mystery Tour started life as a six track EP showcasing the songs from the avant-garde film which shared the same name, the release soon morphed into a full blown eleven track album released for the US market. This album therefore is basically six songs from a film which not many people liked plus another five cuts which weren't selected for the Sergeant Pepper release from the same year. So on paper it's not looking good is it?

However The Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles, released in late 1967 on Capitol in America, is one of the finest albums by the band. It suffers undeniably as a result of the long shadow of 1967's other Beatle release but as a stand alone album it really is tremendous.

The album starts with the title track; could this song be a contender as one of the best openers to an album from the decade? I think it's up there. We then move on to the rather splendid McCartney composition, The Fool on The Hill, a song which features flutes..... enough said.

The next highlight from this album is track four, Blue Jay Way is a song written by George Harrison, and for me personally it's his finest effort up to that date. It is also one of the few Beatle songs from the period which captures some of the feel of the 1967 British underground Psychedelic scene, although it would still feel pretty out of place on Piper at The Gates

Track Six is of course I Am the Walrus, a song which now probably deserves a review of its own; needless to say it is of course John Lennon at his best. This song finishes off the songs which featured on the ill-fated film. But for those lucky folks in America, this album is just getting started.

Side two starts off with Hello Goodbye, a typical McCartney pop song. Track nine is also your typical McCartney effort; Penny Lane is nice on the ears and is of course harmless.

The flip side to the original Penny Lane double A side single was actually track eight from the Magical Mystery Tour LP; Strawberry Fields Forever for me is the much stronger out of the two songs. In essence the song is rather simple yet has had some marvellous production work going into it, a beautiful song, which once crossed with producer George Martin, was always going to be something special.

The album ends with the anthem; All You Need is Love, it also pretty much marks the end of 1967; a fine year where anything artistic was possible, even two wonderful albums from The Beatles. You're more then welcome to debate the merits of the Magical Mystery Tour film, for me I think it has its moments. But when it comes to the Magical Mystery Tour album, there really is no doubt, this album is immense and thankfully after 1976, is now available in the UK as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes overlooked but brilliant, 29 July 2007
By 
Brian Levine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
The first Beatles album I ever bought (as an 11 year old in 1977) , it was the cover initially that attracted me.

When I heard the songs for the first time I remember 'Fool on the Hill' and 'Your mother Should Know' (both Paul) instantly speaking to me, the retro-feel (back to 1964) of the latter positively mesmeric. 'I am the Walrus' was genius by John, and the middle eight particularly pertinent to the summer we're having.

And then, side two, 'Hello Goodbye' is as upbeat a song as you could find anywhere, followed by the ultra genius of 'Strawberry Fields Forever' and 'Penny Lane', easily the best two songs on any album sitting side by side (listen to them on Anthology Vol II as well - also reviewed).

The final song sums up the whole album: and I have always wondered why this album is often overlooked in favour of the even more brilliant 'Sergeant Pepper' or even 'Revolver' (more complete as albums).

The film ('MMT') is a little bit nutty-as-a-fruitcake but also worth seeing to complete the full audio-visual experience, although the songs do not match the album exactly.

If you do not have these songs on any of your other Beatles collections, get this album and you will understand what made an eleven year old learn all 216 released Beatles songs so he could play them on his guitar and buy about 40 Beatles albums as well as a number of singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Treat, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Mystery Tour (Audio CD)
Magical Mystery Tour was for a long time the only Beatles collection where the US version gave better value than the rest of the world edition. In the UK, it was a double EP with all the songs from the film; in the States, Capitol made an album out of the songs by adding five more tracks, including the incomparable Strawberry Fields and Penny Lane.

The EP and LP both gave you a nice photo and lyric booklet, which is unfortunately missing from the CD issue.

While it doesn't quite hang together as an album for me, anyway, the overall quality of the songs is equal to the Beatles' best. I even like Flying, which was, believe it or not, one of their most played tunes as it used to fill in time before radio news bulletins.

The CD sound is a bit trebly and thin and could do with a re-jig.

I'd also suggest renting or buying the film, as it is, in Paul's words, a 'pretty cool little film'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magical Mystery Tour
Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews