Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles best album... and here's why
Overshadowed by the massive adulation afforded to "Sgt. Pepper" - which for at least two decades after was considered the Beatles, and even rock music's finest hour - time has shown "Revolver" not only to be a better but much more pivotal work.
Why? Well caught, in early 1966, between a global audience who simply wanted more of their peerlessly tuneful "pop" songs,...
Published on 22 Oct. 2005 by nicjaytee

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 73 stars for the music...Re-mastering is strange in places...
I've lived with the new digitally re-mastered Revolver for nearly a month and changing my review a little... (Date - October 7th 2009).

In comparison to the 1987 CD the sound is definitely fuller. On each track there is a better balance between vocals and instruments and more detail can be heard in the instruments too. (The 1987 CD higlighted the vocals a...
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by M. Norman


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than sex!, 20 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
This is surely the greatest album of all time, and better than their more publisised next offering in the form of Sgt. Pepper. Every song is incredible - even 'Yellow Submarine' fits in well. It caters for many tastes, so everyone will enjoy it. Until 'Abbey Road', this was George Harrison's greatest work on a Beatles album, with opener 'Taxman', the mystical 'Love You To' and the funky 'I Want To Tell You' fantastic songs. Lennon at the time was creeping ever more towards frequent isolance, but this allowed for some of his greatest songs to be made, like the wierd 'Tomorrow Never Knows'. This song was the first ever to feature sounds never heard before on any album, let alone a pop album, and pushed further the boundries to which a song could be made. His other songs 'Doctor Robert', 'She Said She Said' and 'And Your Bird Can Sing' are fabulous rock songs. And for the first time, Paul showed he was capable of making songs equal to his writing partner, with the love song 'Here, There and Everywhere', the sad Eleanor Rigby', the feel-good 'Good Day Sunshine', the thoughtful 'For No One', and the Motown-influenced 'Got To Get You Into My Life'.
This album was really the first 'studio' album - meaning they used the studio to make their instruments sound wierd, and their voices to sound different. This blew away the music industry, and still does. No one will ever produce an album better than this. One final word: listen to track 3 - John's 'I'm Only Sleeping' - one of the greatest songs ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness is a warm turntable, 17 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Buying this LP back in the 1960's was a great experience. To start with, you got a square foot of Klaus Voorman's artwork in crisp black & white. Then you realised the pun in the title as it spun on the turntable; and an unforgettable musical experience began with "Taxman" by George Harrison. This incredible album has now matured into a piece of vintage Beatles. I usually prefer John's tracks, but here McCartney is supreme with the brassy "Got to get you into my life" the delicate "For no one", and the sad "Eleanor Rigby". Their playful side gets an airing with "Yellow submarine" (a brilliant song, why does everybody hate it?). George is also outstanding with "I want to tell you". Has anybody mentioned the Beatles' vocal harmonies? Just listen to "Good day sunshine" and tell me there has ever been a better close-harmony group!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering, 16 April 2006
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
There is so much to marvel at on this 1966 album that is it is difficult to know where to start. I think if one thing stands out it is the sheer melodic brilliance of Paul McCartney whose songwriting is at an absolute peak throughout. 'Here There And Everywhere' is just about his most affecting ballad, even perhaps topping 'Yesterday' from the previous year. The melody is made in Heaven and I don't use that word lightly. 'For No One' is a masterpiece with its descending chord sequence and beguiling melody. And this is from a man with no classical music training! And if that wasn't enough we have 'Eleanor Rigby'. No wonder Lennon was effusive in his praise of his partner on this album. The standard of these three songs is so high it's not even funny. McCartney would reach these heights in later years but when you've reached this level it is hard to equal. Here on this album his touch is one of sheer genius. The other two McCartney songs are hardly lightweights either: 'Good Day Sunshine' brims with optimism and colour, in the same way that Harrison's 'Here Comes The Sun' was to do 3 years later. And 'Got To Get You Into My Life' is a soulful classic with its distinctive horn refrains and thought-provoking and uplifting lyrics.

And that's just Paul's contribution.

Meanwhile Lennon is exploring other avenues such as the world of dreams in 'I'm Only Sleeping' and 'Tomorrow Never Knows' and when one hears these songs presented alongside Paul's melodic masterpieces, one can truly wonder if this is the same band. Here John and Paul perfectly compliment eachother and although the styles are different, it makes for a captivating listen. On this album, The Beatles were at the peak of their powers and believe it or not were still touring the world singing 'She Loves You' at this point. No wonder they quit touring. They saw it first on 'Rubber Soul' from 1965, that there was another world to discover in the studio, away from the screams and adulation. Where they could reach artistic heights only dreamt of previously. There is still some evidence of the rock and roll days from Lennon on the blistering 'And Your Bird Can Sing' and 'Doctor Robert' both featuring some great electric guitar and harmonies to boot. 'She Said She Said' may not be much of a song but the delivery is electric. And Loud.

And then we come to The Quiet One. George Harrison. 'Taxman' is one hell of an opener and timeless in its message and about the most pulsating thing Hari Georgeson has committed to vinyl. Even Roy Carr and Tony Tyler were impressed. The other two George tracks are weaker for sure but fit the format perfectly.

And somwhere buried in here is 'Yellow Submarine' which many people have slighted over the years. OK so it's a children's song which sounds a bit lost amidst it heavier brothers here. But in its way it is timeless. And after all it led to the film of the same name which must stand as one of the greatest animated films for kids. Ever. Ask any Blue Meanie if you're not convinced of this.

And Ringo. Well he learnt to play chess on Sgt Pepper. Here he is more than once called upon to produce the goods, particularly on 'She Said She Said' and 'Tomorrow Never Knows'. And on the single 'Paperback Writer/Rain' single released at the same time but not featured on the album. On these tracks his drumming is massive. No wonder this is the accepted pinnacle of The Beatles' entire career. Up against some pretty stiff competition for sure but song for song I struggle to see how any band could topple this album. Not even The Beatles. One word to sum it up? So many spring to mind but I will settle for one. Staggering :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was alone, I took a ride, I didn`t know what I would find there, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
I bought the LP of Revolver on holiday with my parents in Geneva when I was fifteen, and I remember I couldn`t wait to get back home to N London to play it. I always loved the photo on the back sleeve, they all looked so - cool is the only word for it. The mop tops were getting longer, the shades `grannier` and the clothes hippier.
Oh, and the music sounded fantastic.
George really came into his own on this record, with no less than three songs, the wrily riled opener Taxman, the lyrically and melodically gnomic Love You To, and the poppy I Want To Tell You.
Paul`s contributions are pivotal to the album`s success, with the instant classic Eleanor Rigby, sadly lovely For No One, joyously ebullient Good Day Sunshine, the pensive ballad Here, There And Everywhere and the storming Got To Get You Into My Life - quickly covered superbly (and more authentically jazzily) by Cliff Bennett & the Rebel Rousers.
John`s songs are just great: the drowsy mid-tempo I`m Only Sleeping, the tremendous and too often neglected She Said She Said (always a favourite of mine), the fast and insidious, utterly wonderful And Your Bird Can Sing, the brisk, slightly less memorable yet oddly mysterious Doctor Robert, and the wailing, wanton Tomorrow Never Knows, which closes the record on a dissonant note.
Ringo sings John & Paul`s number Yellow Submarine in those mournful tones of his, a daft but likeable song which benefits from this remastering, as do all the songs on this eclectic yet remarkably cohesive set.
As usual there are several excellent photos, as well as brief notes, in the accompanying booklet.
Hearing these Beatles LPs again in such vivid detail reminds me once more just how innovative and melodically rich their songs were, what a thrillingly urgent voice John had, the subtlety and tenderness of Paul`s best songs, and George`s vital contributions to this always vital group.
Utterly essential - and it`s not even my favourite Beatles album.

Let me tell you how it will be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best from the best, 22 May 2013
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
I would like to start by saying that I have juggled with my favourite Beatles album for many years and that there's no doubt it will change again in the future but 'Revolver' has to be my favourite at the present. This album really showcased what these four extraordinarily talented musicians could do and how they were evolvoing from their previous transition in the shape of their 1965 album 'Rubber Soul'.

The Beatles will always remain my #1 band of all time for many reasons but this album is the top draw for me. Straight from the beginning of Harrison's 'Taxman' we are all drawn in to a world of psychedelia and diverse sounds from which people had never heard before. As the album progresses, so do the songs and the music that encompasses them.

Lyrically every single one of these songs is advanced from previous tracks- as is the sheer brilliance of style that they incorporated within each and every second of them. The standout tracks for me are McCartney's 'Eleanor Rigby', Lennon's 'Tomorrow Never Knows' and of course the unforgettable and signature sound of Harrison's 'I Want To Tell You'. Ringo unfortunately does not qualify as a highlight for his vocals on 'Yellow Submarine' albeit a pleasant contribution.

For me this is the greatest band in music history at their peak accompanied by the following albums of Sgt Pepper's and The White Album. I wouldn't even attempt to beg someone to purchase or even listen to this as it would be their loss. This kick started the revolution of 60's experimental exploration and I will say that the genius behind 'Revolver' has never and will never be dismissed or forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quantum leap, 18 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
This was the record that took the Beatles from outstanding pop talent to musical icons. The songs reached new heights, tunes like I'm only sleeping, Got to get you into my life & Taxman left the competition trailing in their wake. Yet there was more, much more to come. Hear it all in this marvelous digitally remastered form. The quality and clarify is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best from the best., 13 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
by this time in their careers, the beatles were striving for a different approach to their music; this album shows just that.

heavier guitar riffs, different kind of lyrics but also spending more time in the recording studio. the right decision in my view, as they had ceased to function as a live group due to the increasing noise of the fans.

as for the tracks on this album, my personal favourites are: "here, there and everywhere," "for no one," "and your bird can sing," "she said she said," " i want to tell you" and "i'm only sleeping."

an example of how music should be produced; skill, perfection and a touch or two of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE, 8 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album that hasn't been said already? All I can offer you is my personal opinion, this is the greatest collection of songs ever put together on one album. It is brilliant from start to finish. Musically The Beatles were the most cohesive band in history, these four people were born to play music with each other, never has there been a more talented bunch of people all gelled as one in a single group ever, no one even comes close and this album proves it. Personally I believe that it is never going to be surpassed and Q magazine got it spot on when it voted Revolver as the best album of all time. Now I am lost for words!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't...stop...listening!, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Anyone who says they don't like this album either hasn't heard it or is in serious need of some psychiatric help (No offence Dad!). It is gauranteed to appeal to everyone, everywhere with consistently varied, brilliant songs. Still as revolutionary and jaw-droppingly fresh as it was in the sixties. The tragic beauty of some of Paul's best songs (e.g. For No-one, Eleanor Rigby) combine with the divine experimentation of John's (e.g. Tomorrow Never Knows, I'm only sleeping) and the dark, rocking brilliance of Harrison's (Taxman, I want to tell you) to form what is undoubtedly one of the greates musical recordings ever. Mind-blowing stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolver The Turning Point., 9 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
This album was the point in time when the beatles music went from top gear to warpdrive. Allready light years ahead of any one else they put the boot down on the creativity pedal and raced out of sight of all competition.Every track is platinum with gold surround embelished with psycodelic holographs.Tomorrow Never Knows will allways be my favourite track with all of its rich imagary and sonic brilliance, but having said that there is not one less than cosmic track on the whole album. You could say I like it. Buy it now and be blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolver
Revolver by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews