Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!!
i brought this for my GF for christmas, shes a photography student and has a passion for the retro cameras.

when she opened it i was instantly the best boyfriend ever! :)

from what i can gather everything works just as it should. the coloured plastic inserts for the flash are a great feature.

One thing i will mention (for those who aren't...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by MattB

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Marketing Concept
I have to take my hat off to the marketing of this concept - genuinely really brilliant (hence the three stars), namely manufacturing very cheap film cameras equivalent to the cheapest box cameras of the 1930's to 50's, and advertising the optical distortions brought about by the simplest lenses set at too wide an angle as bonus features. The snag is that when one...
Published 4 months ago by M. Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!!, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
i brought this for my GF for christmas, shes a photography student and has a passion for the retro cameras.

when she opened it i was instantly the best boyfriend ever! :)

from what i can gather everything works just as it should. the coloured plastic inserts for the flash are a great feature.

One thing i will mention (for those who aren't as informed as she is) it may be worth also buying the 35mm film back so that you can use 35mm camera film rather then just the medium format film, yes MF allows a larger print, but its not as easily accesible or as low priced as 35mm.

and on the final note...the seller was supurb! quick posting, no hassle, and well packed (even if our postie did through it over the fence! :( ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Marketing Concept, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
M. Davies (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
I have to take my hat off to the marketing of this concept - genuinely really brilliant (hence the three stars), namely manufacturing very cheap film cameras equivalent to the cheapest box cameras of the 1930's to 50's, and advertising the optical distortions brought about by the simplest lenses set at too wide an angle as bonus features. The snag is that when one analyses the concept, these cameras are really expensive for what they are. One could get the same features (or photographic faults!) by buying the cheapest digital camera (less than modern lomo) & distorting the digital photos with free downloaded photo software. On the other hand, if one wants to learn film photography, buy a second hand film camera very cheaply (less than 20 pounds) - these will give much better results than the modern lomo. Incidentally the original Russian lomo was an inexpensive but very well specified camera giving very good results. If one wants to go down the new lomo route, & learn film photography, then I suggest buying a 35mm camera kit (yes assemble it yourself) for about ten pounds from China, and be patient for it to be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
Love love love this camera. Can take a bit of getting used to, have had a few dodgy photos as have been so used to using a digital camera but once you get the hang of it the pictures are fab, they have a really dreamy quality to them. The retro design of the camera is great too especially the massive flash! which also comes with gel filters so you can play around and experiment with giving your photos different colours. The only problem is trying to find somewhere to process the 120 film. I don't have anywhere local to me so I did an internet search and found a great place which I post my film to. I'd recommend doing your research as some places are pretty pricey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth to buy it, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
Very cool camera, retro-style with many effects, totally recommendable if you like photography. Also, the price is fair, you get what you paid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kitschy and fun, but cheap, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Susan Cozzolino (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
I bought this camera for my husband, a digital SLR enthusiast who loves to manipulate his photos online to get them just perfect. I thought this would be something of an antidote -- a way to reconnect to the spontaneous joy of phototaking. (The Lomo 10 Golden Rules really inspired me in this direction -- what a kick in the pants!)

When the camera arrived, though, it was made of light plastic -- kitschy and fun to my eyes, but a very different feel for someone used to handling high-end camera equipment. He gamely went along with the idea and shot a spontaneous roll of film, biting his urge to see the results right away.

The trick now is getting the 120 film developed. The guys at our local camera specialty store say it needs to be sent out -- a 2-week wait. We're now investigating other options. The film is still sitting on our kitchen counter.

Bottom line: Be aware what you're buying. You're buying an idea, a set of principles, entree into a group of like-minded enthusiasts. If that's your bag, you'll be thrilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana F, 14 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
I found it easier to use and better built than expected, I am enjoying it and it allows being very creative in many different ways. If you are a point and shoot digital camera freak consider very carefully before purchasing, this is something totally different but yet awesome (to me at least). Also make sure that you have around you someone who knows how to develop and scan 120mm film. I have had issues in development especially with the endless panorama feature, despite me asking for uncut negatives they came back cut. Hopefully film photography is in fashion again, lomography as well, so there will be more specialized places and people (at least in Greece). Finally I have to say it is an excellent gift idea! If you fall for it you are up for a whole new hobby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lomo Diana F+ 1960's Retro Style Camera Starter Kit (Camera)
cool old school style camera for taking fun pictures not over expensive for the quality of the item get one ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews