Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lot of goodies in a little packet
Children at War: World War 2 replica Memorabilia Pack (World War 2 - Memorabilia Packs)
This item looks like a huge great pile in the advert, but when it arrives faces will drop, it comes in a tiny packet and looks disapointing - HOWEVER it isn't the size that counts but how you use it!
Inside the little packet is a large selection of well chosen, interesting,...
Published on 19 Sept. 2010 by chris j

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very small package
I bought the pack for my friends daughter. It looked good in the photograph on amazon. However when it came I was dissapointed at how small it was and I felt embarassed to give it as a stand-alone present. I felt I needed to explain it wasn't as cheap as it looked. When my friends daughter opened it she really liked it, so overall I would suggest it went on sale for a...
Published on 31 Dec. 2011 by Jon B


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lot of goodies in a little packet, 19 Sept. 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
Children at War: World War 2 replica Memorabilia Pack (World War 2 - Memorabilia Packs)
This item looks like a huge great pile in the advert, but when it arrives faces will drop, it comes in a tiny packet and looks disapointing - HOWEVER it isn't the size that counts but how you use it!
Inside the little packet is a large selection of well chosen, interesting, informative and clearly printed replicas that will delight any history fan from ages 2 - 92 yrs. Before my son actually opened the packet I did feel a bit let down, but after seeing the contents I think I will be adding a few more of these to my Christmas present list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Children's Memorabilia for World War 2., 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
Resources for Teaching have published several Memorabilia Packs covering
such things as the Victorian Era, RMS Titanic, World War One, and this one
which covers the experiences of children in World War Two.
The first thing you become aware of on opening it, is the extremely small
size of the contents, the display advert gives an impression of much more.
That said, there is enough in the pack to create interest for all but the
most bored of minds.
The pack comprises a copy of the Children's Newspaper, the Boys Own Paper
dated December 1944 containing stories and adverts of the 1940's.
A ration book, Ministry of Food cookery leaflet on puddings listing such
questionable delicacies as Prune Sponge, and puddings that required the
use of potatoes.There is also a copy of the label of a wartime issue of
Kit Kit priced 3d, and made of plain chocolate as milk was in short supply.

Of interest too are the Evacuation notices, and copies of labels that
a child had to wear on their jacket/coat. Instructions on where to pick
up a babies anti-gas helmet,a Civil Defence Leaflet from 1939 on The Why
and How of Evacuation.

Also included is a one page English Composition dated 1938, from the pen of
a schoolboy giving his experiences of life. Two facsimile postcards of
the era make up the rest of the better quality items.
Where the pack falls down is in the cigarette card size items, which show
military uniforms, adverts for toys and games of the period. These are only
some 4cm by 6cm and difficult to read and would likely easily be lost.

No doubt aimed at teaching today's children, these packs are also an ideal
memory jogging instrument for such groups as Golden Years Clubs, where older
folk can be helped to remember their own childhood experiences, and it was
with this in mind, that I purchased this pack.
Why it is listed as a toy, I am not sure, there is every reason to see it as
a Primary and Secondary Source material pack for students of WW2 history.
Despite my initial disappointment, it is a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War II memorabilia, 27 Feb. 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
Great product. Used for a school project on World War II and evacuees. It brought various of the facts of the war to life for the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 23 July 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
My eight year od nephew was very excited to get this as a present for his birthday, he is learning about World War 2 at his school at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for school WW2 re-enactment., 8 May 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
My 6 year old grandson is doing a WW2 re-enactment at school this pack is very informative & is ideal, it covers a wide range of aspects. I'm letting the school have the pack so all the children can learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Children at War, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
This replica pack is ideal as an introduction to WWII topic. However as a teaching resource many of the items at miniature and would be better at a size to show a class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small but informative!, 30 May 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
As other reviewers have commented the items in the pack are small but my class loved exploring them. They learned alot about what life was like for children during World War II and for the price were good value for money. I will definitely consider buying more items from the same range.

On the down side, I am not sure how they will stand up to a couple of years of being handled by inquisitive children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 27 Jan. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
Received my order for this today and was over the moon with it. Cannot wait to go through this package with my boys later tonight. Really brings the war to life especially from a childs' point of view. Fantastic product, now going to look see if there are other packs to make a collection with. Awesome for school and awesome for home use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and well printed., 4 April 2014
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
I didn't purchase this pack from Amazon but actually acquired it during a trip at a WW2 museum in London.

The company has put an amazing effort at making the items as close to the original as possible. It even has that old ageing smell. Everything is interesting. This pack includes adverts for toys, a ration book, postcards, a Boys Own magazine that has loads of wonderful content to read, a Children's Newpaper and more.

After reading everything and feeling more than happy with the content I decided to purchase 3 more packs; The Home Front, The 1950's Househole and 1960's Childhood. I plan to purchase a few more packs from the Mempack Company's website and hope you do to.

Pros:

Amazing quality
Great content
Interesting things
Decent price

Cons:

Small size (don't let that deter you as the newspaper folds out to an A4 size and I believe that was the size of the original documents)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package - really authentic and informative, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
L. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's War Memorabilia Pack (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent package - really authentic and informative. Great aid to helping the children with their WWII project. Certainly brings home the difference between a 1930's - 1940's child and one from today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children's War Memorabilia Pack
Children's War Memorabilia Pack by The Memorabilia Pack Company
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews