Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars79
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2012
Some Girls is very good. But concentrate on the bonus album. Its fantastic. Stones as they should be. Very raw, could be in a blues club. The bass and drums drive it along. Its not over produced. A good mix of tracks very good value. Stones note- make the next album like this one.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
This is one of my favourite Stones albums but the record company seems determined to neutralise my continued enjoyment. The 2009 remasters of the post-Decca/London studio albums (from 1971's Sticky Fingers to date) have come in for some stick in some quarters & rightly so; the one-EQ-setting-suits-all-tracks approach to 'remastering' was a creative mistake which simply did not suit some titles, with Some Girls suffering the most. The original release didn't sound like it was recorded in a tin can but the 2009 version did with the contents compressed to a degrading degree, stripping the original of its dynamic range. What used to sound nice & sleazy was transformed into something shrill & dense. I was hoping that this 'deluxe' issue might feature a decent second attempt at the job but, alas, no: this package contains exactly the same 2009 remastered version with no discernible attempt to improve the faulty sound. This is disappointing, to say the least. Some Girls deserves so much better than this. What is truly frustrating, however, is that the same does not apply to the bonus disc of out-takes. The sound here is excellent from start to finish- I'm not about to complain on that score because the 12 extra tracks are well worth hearing if you're interested in a collection of would-be B-sides in fine quality sound. But is it not ABSURD that the out-takes sound so much better than the album proper? This is not quite how it's supposed to be, is it? If you think I'm being a tad tetchy here, compare this version of Some Girls to the 1990s remaster & you'll hear what I mean. The difference in tonal range is striking. Hell, under normal circumstances I'd be giving Some Girls a five-star rating but this version succeeds only in making it sound like a 3-star album & that just can't be right. In fact, it's a bit of a crime in my book. Are we not entitled to expect it to sound better instead of worse? Has concern for musical quality been finally thrown out of the window? Worth buying for the out-take disc, though, which really does sound pretty good.
1313 comments|97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2006
With the album 'Some Girls' the Stones came back into favour with a contemporary audience.

The Stones managed to do this by stripping their sound of the excesses of more recent years. Longterm collaborators like Billy Preston were put to one side as they went back to a more basic and immediate sound. Of course much of this new direction related strongly with the punks primitive musical philosophy which was in full swing at the time of the album's recording. 'When The Whip Comes Down', 'Lies', 'Respectable' and 'Shattered' have some of punks primitive energy yet it's far more tempered and still very much relates to the Stones own primary influences like in the case of 'Respectable' - Chuck Berry. They also incorporate a little disco into their sound on 'Miss You' and while again still managing to maintain their own highly identifiable style. 'Faraway Eyes' is a welcome return to their occasional country sound.

'Some Girls' is the Stones most vital sounding and focused album in years thanks in part to new member Ron Wood's role with Keith Richards. They trade riffs in a far more spontaneous way than Keith had worked with his previous guitar partners - there is little division between lead and rhythm - their guitar parts almost merging as one.

However, although 'Some Girls' is a fine album i would never put it on par with the Stones greatest albums from the sixties and early seventies like some reviewers tend to do. While it undoubtedly fits in perfectly with the sounds of 1978 it lacks that extra dimension which Ron's predecessors Brian Jones and Mick Taylor (be it musical variety or sophistication) brought to the Stones. It's that extra layer that elevates an album or song from being really good to being truly great.

'Some Girls' does stand as their last really good album (along with 'Tattoo You' perhaps).
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
Hey this is good, no its not excellent but its good very good, i remember first hearing miss you on radio luxembourg in the early hours in the uk. The distortion in the transmission seemed to add character to the song and whenever i hear miss you or respectable i remember hearing them in their radio luxembourg finery. Anyways this led me to buy the album which is a good album, it fits together as an album. Some girls , faraway eyes , beast of burden , before they make me run, shattered.etc
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Stones really hit the mark with this one, great playing, great production and great songs-even if they are a bit below the belt. It has everything that I like about the Stones in bucketloads. Keith and Ronnie make the ancient art of weaving sound as effortless as breathing. They really work as one on this one. Ronnies slide, Faraway Eyes, and lead guitar work really stands out. The Stones, for me, peaked with this one, followed closely by Tattoo You. Everyone is giving it 110%, playing Lies would exhaust a lot of modern "rock" bands.

This album features a load of styles from the sly funky disco opener Miss You, through the smooth cover of Imagination, the rawk bluesy anthropological and educational(well not in the school sense) trawl through the wiles and ways of the worlds female population Some Girls, the punky and rocky Lies, the country hued sarcastic take on "gospel" radio Far Away Eyes, via others ending with the evocative description of the darker side of dwelling in New Yawk. Its all here! Magnificent degenerate rock music.

The remaster is once again a touch up in the detail on previous releases, better drums, better vocal separation, better guitar separation, better guitar crunch and better bass definition. Not as immediately apparent a difference as the Sticky Fingers and Its Only Rock and Roll remastering, but an improvement none the less.

Is it worth buying? If you are new to the Stones, definitely! If you have this on the Virgin release, yes if you want to hear every detail, no if you are just going to blast it on a portable.

There are folk out there who like to feed the music through a wave editor to find out what is going on, this review is based on listening to the music on a couple of different cd players.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
I've personally been waiting a long time for this remaster,one because this is my favourite stones album,two because i couldn't find the virgin reissue and also because i was excited about this because i had been wanting a nice sounding copy as i have the original cbs cd but wanted something a little clearer and more powerful.
So is it clearer?
Well yes it is definitely clearer but whilst its not a complete disaster unfortunately this is yet another member of the loudness war.
Not to the extent of anything thats distorted but there is hardly any bass here at all and the whole album is very "toppy" meaning the treble range is over-emphasised,so it sounds rather washed-out without any warmth at all.
It's also been redone too loud,which means it's great for using in the car etc but for quality listening at home or through good quality headphones this doesn't sound great,in fact the original is better,which sort of defeats the purpose really.
A friend of mine has the virgin remaster of this (which i cannot find lol) and i will be continuing to look for a copy of that for myself,it sounds clear,isn't too loud,has a nice dynamic range and is a step up from the original,which is exactly what a remaster should be.
Unlike this one which just doesn't cut it.
I shall be getting rid of this one as soon as possible which is a great shame but at least i have my original to listen to while i look for the other one.
I don't know if all the 2009 stones remasters are going to sound like this but if they are i'll stay away.
So as to a rating,well 5 stars for the music,maybe 2 for the remaster.
A great shame,but it doesn't surprise me as sound quality on cds these days seems to be getting very poor.
99 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
I think most people need no introduction to the original album which is the last great Stones album so i will review the bonus disc which is great.There is some old style rock n' roll in tracks such as Claudine and Tallahassie Lassie (complete with groovy handclaps) both are great,some punchy blues and boogie (So Young,Keep Up Blues)and best of all some country rock such as the georgous Do You Think I Really Care and You Win Again all with fine vocal performances by Jagger.Keith Richards vocal on We Had It All is superb a real tearjerker and the disc finishes with the piano boogie of Petrol Blues which somes the second disc up it is loose,rootsy and fun and puts to shame every Stones album since er! Some Girls.So a great value package.If you already own Some Girls or purchased the 2009 re-issue (as i did) and you are a fan of the band i would recommend you shell out again it is worth it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
I agree with Lost Golfer. Anyone who intends to listen to this on a HIFI and enjoy the experience is going to be disappointed, the sound is harsh with no depth to the bass, maybe the master tapes have aged and this was the best they could do. OK for ripping to ipod, car stereos etc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
If this was a faithful reproduction of the original long-player, it would be worth 4 or 5 stars, but sadly this 'Deluxe Edition' falls short of the original release, due to poor remastering, and an extra disc which may please die-hard fans, but for myself and others, this mostly sounds like a collection of uninspiring B sides.

Disc One 'Some Girls' (40:46) 10 tracks
This 2011 'Deluxe' version uses the 2009 remaster of the 'Some Girls' album. Unfortunately the synthetic and harsh remastered sound is likely to skew the listeners opinion or star rating of the CD. To my ears tracks 3-5 are the worst-sounding songs ('Just My Imagination', 'Some Girls', 'Lies').

According to the sleeve-notes, the album was influenced by New York, disco, and punk. The disco-flavoured hit single 'Miss You' / 'Far Away Eyes' was released just before the LP in June 1978. The next single 'Respectable', an up-tempo rock 'n' roll number, followed in September 1978.

'Just My Imagination' was a cover of the 1971 Temptations hit. The rocker 'When the Whip Comes Down' sounds quite repetitive here, but I never really noticed on the original vinyl LP. Another rocker, 'Lies' is a bit of a throwaway, which used to end side one.

The country song 'Far Away Eyes' could easily have been sung by Keith Richards, based on his performance of the country song 'We Had It All', on the second disc. 'Before They Make Me Run' is another strong track sung by Keith..

Elsewhere, 'Beast of Burden is a good ballad, and 'Shattered' is quite unusual, with its grinding rhythm, backing vocals of "shoo-be, shattered, shattered" and Mick's lead vocals which sound like 'rapping' at times.

Disc Two (40:46) 12 tracks
The first 4 songs here sound like a rather old-fashioned mix of rock 'n' roll and blues, until track 5 'No Spare Parts', which has a 'Beast of Burden' feel. I can't get very excited about this CD, but the aforementioned song 'We Had It All', co-written by 'Funky' Donnie Fritts (as Kris Kristofferson called him in a song) is the best of the bunch.

There is a decent enough cover of the Hank Williams song 'You Win Again', but I would rather hear the Jerry Lee Lewis version, recorded for the 'Sun' label. The closing track 'Petrol Blues' is like a short, sparse-sounding demo. At least this 2011 second disc has better mastering !

My advice would be to hang on to your original CD, or even the Bob Ludwig remaster from the 1990s, for better sound. The extra disc is only recommended 'for fans only'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Some Girls is really the last great Stones album.

Apart from their stunning début album, and the too often overlooked outstanding "Aftermath", albums hadn't really been the Stones thing for most of the sixties in the same way as they had been for the Beatles. All that changed with the run of 5 star excellence that spanned "Beggar's Banquet" to "Goat's Head Soup". (Yes folks, I do include that one). The presence of Mick Taylor had a lot to do with that.

"It's Only Rock n Roll" and, more notably, the jam session fuelled "Black and Blue", saw a change to the "feel" of their music. No longer sleazy, "from the hips". More rapid pumping from the wrists. Both fine albums, but some element of their former musicality was missing. The contrasting textures of Mick Taylor and Keith Richards were already becoming a thing of the past in the former album, and gone by the second. From now on, with the addition of Ronnie Wood and the loss of Taylor, they would instead have two riff merchants making the sound.

The "Some Girls" album cover states "pardon our appearance we're under construction". And so they were. Re-construction. This is the band re-grouping and getting their act back together. Contributions from anyone outside the 5 members are minimal. (Rumour has it Ian Stewart walked out saying they now sounded too much like Status Quo). It's a great album. A fine balance between Jagger's desire to formally write the songs and Keith's penchant for getting a groove going and see what happens. Each member of the band positively shines. They will never feel quite so much like a band ever again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.02
£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)