Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthems For The Common Man
Mr White has always been a writer of distinction.
It's good to hear his very fine songs coming out
of his own mouth rather than the mouths of others.

What a splendid collection this is. Irrepressibly
English even when his subject is California.
Listen to the voice and diction on 'Weird Friendless Kid'
for immediate ellucidation. A man...
Published on 13 July 2009 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Slick Album that Lacks Direction
Having written some brilliant hits for the likes of Duffy, Adele, James Morrison and Will Young to name but a few, you would have thought that his solo effort would have the same quality. In some respects it does. The production is very slick, shiny pop... almost over-produced considering his vocal efforts almost seem like a ghost track, ranging from struggling with...
Published on 21 May 2009 by T. Ball


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthems For The Common Man, 13 July 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
Mr White has always been a writer of distinction.
It's good to hear his very fine songs coming out
of his own mouth rather than the mouths of others.

What a splendid collection this is. Irrepressibly
English even when his subject is California.
Listen to the voice and diction on 'Weird Friendless Kid'
for immediate ellucidation. A man not afraid to be
himself for a moment. A complete joy in fact !

The tunes are all strong, organically light-handed;
the lyrics observant, whistful and loaded with pathos.

'My People' is an anthem for the lonely man; the acutely
personal becomes universal in the epic chorus. A real gem.

'Broken', too, is saturated with honest emotion. The string
arrangement here, as elsewhere, is particularly beautiful.
Music of grand gesture but never less than humanly grounded.

The intimate insights of 'There's Going To Be Someone' are
almost unbearable in their vivid depiction of real people
struggling with real feelings . The polar opposite of Soap.

'Time To Fall' looks failure in the face without fear.

'If You Run' raises the prospect of more hopeful possibilities.

'Pull Me Through', however, is nothing less
than terrifying in its unremitting intensity.

Loss. Hope. Despair. Love. Loss Again.

A profoundly honest but ultimately uplifting album.

Uncompromising and magnificent.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. For those who miss Eg and Alice...., 18 May 2009
By 
Mr. S. Barlow "simonbarlows" (Reading. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
Great, great album!

I have had Eg and Alice - 24 Years of Hunger ever since it came out. I remember taking a chance on it after reading the review in Q magazine!

Then bought Rocket Man. Again-loved it, but not as much as Hunger.

Now, downloaded this album this morning-on the third play already. It just hits you. The voice makes you swoon, the lyrics are rising and just take you off on a cloud. Even the songs which are melancholy, have a wonderful appeal to them.

Currently My People is my favourite, but that may change with a few more plays.

Buy this, then buy 24 Years of Hunger-no matter how much it costs. You won't regret it!

Eg - can we not wait as long next time please. We need music like this! :-)

24 Years of Hunger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real class act, 24 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Man (MP3 Download)
If you can get hold of a copy of Eg Whites first album (24 years of Hunger) recorded with Alice Temple in the early '90's then do so. Immediately after he quit Brother Beyond he recorded this priceless piece of sophistication and beauty in the face of airwaves swamped with the next 'great thing' (grunge). Almost 20 years on it still stands the test of time. Songs that you will still sing and remember.

Now providing hits for the latest 'great things', Eg White shows that when he quits the day job he can still produce staggeringly great music that touches your heart.

An invaluable addition to any serious music lovers collection and a reminder that many of our best songwriters remain below the mainstream radar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for putting this on my Recommendations, Amazon, 15 July 2009
By 
S. HORRIGAN "Sally Horrigan" (Shoeburyness, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventure Man (MP3 Download)
This album appeared on my Recommendations listing at Amazon so I listened to snippets from the mp3 purchase option and decided that it was for me. I absolutely love this album. Eg writes the most beautiful lyrics and his voice is perfect. Each song as I hear it becomes my favourite for those few minutes - although I have to say that My People, There's going to be Someone and Time to Fall are just superb! I hope that this will my first of many Eg albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disappointment, 28 July 2009
By 
M. Harpham "Matt Harpham" (Corsham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Eg since Eg and Alice (one of the most satisfying albums ever) and bought his 1st solo album, I was slightly worried his current professional associations might have taken his edge off, but this is great. As personal as his other work, cracking tunes and beautifully sung, lovely to hear him back with Alice Temple for one track - as if they'd never been away! And it's proper album length - would fit on one side of a C90! Good work young man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Based on the first single "Broken", 5 May 2009
By 
E. Bryce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
This is EG White, amazingly remembered from last nights journey home listening to the radio. The first single "Broken" was played and I have waited all day to get hold of an advanced copy from my friend and cannot wait to hear the album. His voice is absolutely divine! I don't really know much about this guy but I intend to find out. (This is now an updateed review and I have!! - Wow, all the songs he's written for the like of James Morrisson, Will Young and Adele I love, no wonder I like his style. He's written some of the best pop songs ever recorded and this album promises to be great, especially if the single is anything to go bye. Wow, I can't wait for My 17th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 17 July 2009
By 
M. Hutchinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
I must say I am pleasantly surprised by this album. Not being a big fan of Will Young or Brother Beyond (I'm more of a Nick Cave sort), I bought this album only on the strength of the review in the Sunday Times.
It really is a lovely album - melancholy at times, lovely meoldies, and EG has a wistful, sad but hopeful voice.
Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Incredible, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Alyse Black (Austin & Seattle) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
I found a way to get this album in America - where it isn't selling. I listened. I got goosebumps. I teared up. This is my new favorite album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird Friendless Kid, 21 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
Loved 24 Years of Hunger. So got this off the back of that. Thought this had some wonderful tracks on it, even if several of them did leave me feeling a tad melancholy. Weird Friendless Kid is a favourite, but kind of like an earlier version of 'Indian' (those who have listened to 24 Years will know what I mean).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut Album, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. J. E. Adams "jeauk" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Man (Audio CD)
A super album. Broken is the current `radio play' but there are about another seven tracks which could be released as singles. I took a chance on buying the album, based on just hearing one track, but it was well worth the risk. A great debut for EG White.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventure Man
Adventure Man by EG (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews