Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2006
I have been ill for the last year. Watching Everwood got me through my darkest days. You live in another world for an hour each day and it has been the only program I have watched that you actually feel like you are there with them, living the lives of Ephram, Amy, Delia and Andy Brown. I recommend it to anyone who wants to ride an emotional rollercoaster. I am hoping to go on a road trip through the Rockies in 2007/2008 and I owe this to Everwood for giving me hope and the realisation that life is worth living.

I bought the complete first series and I can't wait for the second series to come out.

Greg Berlanti (the writer and creator) has got Everwood spot on - you ride an emotional rollercoaster - you laugh, cry, feel angry, exasperated - every emotion a human could have. How anyone could create something so brilliant is beyond me!

Anybody lost in life and need a helping hand to guide them on their way? Watch Everwood and follow your heart.
44 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2004
When I first saw this series it seemed like another one of many. But it really began to draw me in. Excellent acting and story lines that contain with real honesty and genuine feeling. It deals with teenage romance, adult loss, the alienation of parents and their children and has many funny and heartbreaking moments.
I can't wait for it to be released on region 2 DVD.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2006
I tuned into the pilot of Everwood and was instantly hooked. This is a gentle, thought-provoking series surrounding a world-renowned brain surgeon, suddenly widowed and faced with the daunting prospect of raising his 2 children, aged 8 and 14, alone. They leave the bright city New York lights for a rural town and Dr. Andy Brown sets up as one of the town's GPs. What follows is a journey of discovery for all the main characters, including the viewer, as they tackle the trials and tribulations of life, the every day dilemmas it poses and the complexities of the relationships they form with each other and the people they meet.

The acting is simply superb. The warmth conveyed by the entire cast is a delight and they quickly have you laughing at some of the antics and sobbing at some of the events - you have become a part of the Everwood community. This is how dramas should be - well written, well acted, well delivered. The series is modern and isn't afraid to tackle issues. It will leave you thinking about similar situations in your own life.

In years to come, Everwood (or Our New Life in Everwood to give it the UK title, not sure why they lengthened the name for UK audiences) will be a series I will look back on very fondly and always regret that it had to come to an end, whenever that will be. I want it to go on forever and to believe that a place such as Everwood, with all its characters, really exists. In my heart, it certainly does.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
This show is simply wonderful - an enchanting tale of relationships, pain, loss, courage, youth, growth and the rest of human emotion, cleverly interweaved with humour. Although a continuing drama with story threads beading through the series, each epsoide is mostly self contained with a single individual storyline that allows the characters to interact, discuss & ultimately resolve the issue to general satisfaction. It may sound simple TV hokum, but its not!

Treat Williams is charming as fish out of water Dr Brown, a famed New York brain surgeon who uproots his family (young daughter and teenage son, the amazingly gifted young actor Gregory Smith) after the death of his wife (a pre-Desperate Housewives Brenda Strong) to Everwood, a small Coladaro town (reminisent of probably any small US town). There he meets the other local doctor, his family, neighbours, patients, and other townsfolk. The crux of most stories is how Dr Brown tries to align his 'big city' beliefs, skills and morals to small town America. The continuing story of 'Colin' a local boy in a coma following a road accident, and Ephram (Brown's son) and Amy's on-off teenage relationship hold center stage throughout most of the series.

I cannot stress enough that Everwood is US TV drama at its truest and most fine - genuine, often thought provoking and incredibly well acted stories not only keep you hooked but also enthralled and they play out. Watch out too for many 'special guest' appearances from big stars too, as well as the numerous very funny moments which often help make light of some of the hard hitting (although not grossly overworked) storylines.

If you have a multi-region player and have previously enjoyed other high class, although down-played US shows such as 'Six Feet Under' (series one) and more recently 'Desperate Housewives' (series one only again) then buy this and enjoy - I promise you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
I started watching Everwood when I was at home recovering from having my tonsils removed. It was already about halfway through the 2nd seaosn judging by the episode descriptions on wikipedia, and I loved it. All of the character were really interesting, and I just had to know what was going on form the beginning, so I bought the 1st season on DVD. All of the characters are very well developed, and they all have a place. Nothing is over the top, like with most british shows, where in every episode there's a fire, or a wedding or something else catastrophic. It's just a simple show that tells of people's lives - it's very realistc and down to earth. I recommend this show to anyone who wants to see something different from the usual stuff we get out here in Britain.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
If you enjoyed the sentimental feel good family tv shows like 'The Waltons' and 'Little House on the Prairie', then you will love this. It is centred around a high flying New York brain surgeon, whose wife is killed in a car crash, and he is left to bring up his son and daughter. He moves them to a quiet town in Colorado and sets up a free GP practice, believing it to be what his wife would have wanted. Unfortunately his relationship with his son is fragile and the show focuses on this fragility whilst they work their way to an understanding and acceptance of one another.
There's romance, sadness but also laughter, particuarly the relationship between the two Doctors in Everwood. This is such a superbly written show, exceptionally well acted, and set amongst some of the most beautiful mountains and lakes. The characters are fabulous and leave you caring about what happens to them next. My kids and husband are as addicted to it as I am, even my 22 month old who as soon as she hears the theme tune asks for "more"!!!!.
This really is a 'comfortable' programme, something that admittedly requires little deduction and analysis, but will certainly leave you wanting more.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
"Everwood"'s first season is already almost classic. It is highly unlikely you haven't heard about this show, but just in case that happened I'll tell you some things about the plot, so you can decide whether this is the kind of show you might like.

Dr. Andrew Brown (Treat Williams) is a highly successful neurosurgeon that has neglected his family in order to take care of his patients. But reality crashes down on him when his wife (Brenda Strong) dies in an accident. He doesn't know what to do, and, in the spur of the moment, decides to move with his two children to Everwood, a little town in Colorado that his wife had loved when they saw it for the first time, a long time before her death.

Leaving the big city and becoming a small town doctor will mean many changes Andrew, but even more for his teenager son Ephram (Gregory Smith), and his young daughter, Delia (Vivien Cardone), that have to leave their friends and everything they know in order to move to a strange city. What it is worse, they are not accustomed to actually spending time with their father, and miss their mother a lot...

Will the Brown's become a real family? And will they find their place in the world in Everwood? These are some of the questions that this first season begins to answer, and the reason why you should watch this dvd. "Everwood" has a little bit of everything, drama and comedy, and specially that kind of moments that make a series stand out. Recommended!

Belen Alcat
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
I was happening to watch TV when the first episode of 'Everwood' was being showed. I'm not a huge TV fan and I don't keep up with any soaps... but this, however, was different. It instantly gripped me, and from that moment on I would be infront of the TV each day at 2:30pm, eager for the next episode.
It withdraws you from your day, taking you to the mountainous village of Everwood where relations of its people are deep and touching, bringing a tear to your eye in each episode.
I'm buying the first series on DVD and I hear they're releasing the next series on TV 20th March - not too long!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
I first started watching this series on ITV daytime. unforntunatly work commitments meant that i missed the last 12 episodes.
However............no to be left out, i ordered a copy over from the states. i was not dissapointed.
Basic stroy outline, dr Andy brown, a top brain surgeon from New York, is a high flying work aholic, and tends to neglect his family. However when tragic event's spiral his life out of control, he leaves all that he knows behind and moves with his two children Ehprham and Delia to a small colorado town called Everwood.
Here in this strange small town high in the mountains, there lives will change forever.
I will not tell you anymore, as I insist you buy the dvd, you wont be dissapointed. Its heart wrenching story lines will keep you hooked from the first episode.
I just wish they would get a move on and release the next series on dvd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2008
I love this programme. It's feelgood and charming; a bit like The Waltons but not quite so twee. Complete escapism.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)