Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Either I'm having a mid life crisis or this really is a good album!!
I used to be a big rock fan back around Satriani's surfing with the alien. I saw him live around that time and although he was technically good- he needed a proper band to make it work. I always liked Sammy Hagar too, as i thought the VH albums he was part of were nearly up there with the Dave lee Roth stuff.
Anyway, for whatever reason I rediscoverd a few older rock...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by G. Crosby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
a great line up, with some great performances, as such.
one for the fan.
buy if you like them, don't if you don't
Published 7 months ago by Mr. L. Woolcott


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Either I'm having a mid life crisis or this really is a good album!!, 9 Oct 2009
By 
G. Crosby (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
I used to be a big rock fan back around Satriani's surfing with the alien. I saw him live around that time and although he was technically good- he needed a proper band to make it work. I always liked Sammy Hagar too, as i thought the VH albums he was part of were nearly up there with the Dave lee Roth stuff.
Anyway, for whatever reason I rediscoverd a few older rock albums and decided i'd look at what was happening now and sure enough it's taken nearly 20 years for him to realise, but Satriani has a proper band to work with. It really works, Satch is confined to riffing for most of the songs (sneaking the odd ridiculous modal lick in whenever he can!) but that just makes the solos stand out more for me, Turning left particularly is a real standout track with a fantastic 'verge of noise and chaos' solo.

Of course what i didn't even realise back in the day is that vocals and solos would be nothing without a rock solid rhythm section, and with Michael Anthony and Chad Smith you've got that in spades.

So if you like Van Halen, Satch or want to hear American cheese rock played by the most experienced, technical and talented group - this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collaboration, 7 Jun 2009
By 
J. Stockwell (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
I've been hearing snippets of this album during the run up to it's release, but it didn't prepare me for how good it would be. The Chickenfoot album brings out the best in all the musicians: Satriani's playing sounds fresh, Hagar's lyrics are witty without the laddishness of some Van Halen-era product, and the Anthony/Smith rhythm section are tight and punchy. Kudos to the the producer of the album, Andy Johns, who has made the recording sound massive, tight and punchy without losing detail in the mix. Classic rock at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had this album for weeks - still not tired of it!, 19 May 2009
By 
J. M. Gaden (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
I had the job of reviewing this "supergroup's" new record for the magazine I work for. The term supergroup is something often bandied about, and more often than not it's the result of a record company pushing individuals together, and in the bulk of the cases, the actual albums never quite live up to the alliance on paper. Consider Chickenfoot the exception to the rule! Despite the fact that the foursome is comprised of Red Hot Chilli Peppers (and part time Glenn Hughes) drummer Chad Smith, ex-Van Halen bassist Michael Anthony, guitar god Joe Satriani and the eternally youthful Sammy Hagar on vocals, these guys shirk the rules. They don't consider themselves a supergroup, they see themselves simply as four individuals who have a like minded goal of creating a magnificent rock album, and they financed it themselves so they weren't tied to a big label who wanted to compromise their creativity.
That's all well and good, as long as you gel as a unit, and by god, this does. The songs on offer here are truly awesome, the performances rank as possible career bests from any member you care to choose, and it's all given a larger than life production by the legendary Andy Johns, who engineered albums like Led Zeppelin II and III, `Exile On Main Street', and Blind Faith, and produced the likes of Satriani, Van Halen, Cinderella and many, many others.
The album kicks off with `Avenida Revolution', which Satriani described to me as an experiment to "see how dark Sammy would sing". It's a stunning opener which sets the bar sky high for the rest of the album, but one listen to the follow up track `Soap On A Rope' and you know that consistency is not going to be a problem.
`Sexy Little Thing' is an absolute gem with a fabulous chorus, highlighted by Anthony's backing vocals meshing beautifully with Hagar's, who delivers a tremendous performance throughout the record. `Oh Yeah', `Get It Up' and `Running Out' all rock hard and heavy and there's diversity in the form of `Learning To Fall' which slows the pace a touch, and a nod to Led Zep's `Thank You' with album closer `The Future Is In The Past'.
I can't find fault with any aspect of this album. Sammy's vocals are the best he's done in ages, Anthony plays better and sings better than he ever did with Van Halen, Satriani is a demon on guitar and Chad Smith plays like a modern day John Bonham. All this, encapsulated in such an immense production and wild vibrancy makes it sound almost like a live album - there's no fade outs, polishing, or tons of overdubs, this is just a rock record for the ages. Even the album cover is cool - place your hand on the black, and the heat changes it to images of the band! Yes, they have a weird name, but if I hear a better album this year by anybody, I'll eat my hat.

James Gaden - Fireworks Magazine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Old School Hard Rock, 12 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
Take a veteran rock singer with an enviable back catalogue, a guitarist who is arguably the best axe player on the planet and a rhythm section so tight you could bounce a coin off it, and what do you get? Chickenfoot.

Yes it may go down as the most ludicrous name for a rock band ever conceived, but their debut effort is anything but.

What you need to know: It rocks, it rocks a fat one, in fact if it rocked any more, a hard hat would have to be included by law with every album purchase. Listen to it once at you get the feeling that it's just 4 fantastic musicians cocking about, listen to it again and you'll pick up subtle little guitar runs from Satch that just delight and amaze.

The production is excellent throughout, Mark Anthony's bass playing and outstanding backing vocals combined with Chad Smith's excellent drumming keep everything tight at the back so Satch can do what Satch does best and unleash his legendary talent at the front of a band for the first time. It's rifftastic at times and Hagar's voice sounds as good as ever.

My only criticism is the lyrics leave a lot to be desired, so if the lyrical prowess of Axl Rose turns you on, then you might be disappointed. Having said that, don't let it put you off as the music alone is well worth the price of admission.

It may not be perfect, it may not be cool, it may not be relevant, but by god is it fun. Stick it on in the car with the windows rolled down and the stereo turned up to 11 and you'll not go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mint!, 5 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. If you like sammy hagar and van hagar then you'll love this. joe does some great stuff, the overall sound is very jam session and hendrix like in parts, less produced sound than VH. hope they do more. new cd i have, has a dvd aswell, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, gets better as it goes along., 26 Aug 2009
By 
K. Wharton "kwhart" (Staffs England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
I'm pleased this album works as I have been a fan of Sammy H since his Montrose days. I have enjoyed reading the other review and it always makes me smile to see the difference, even if people like the same music.

For me, the album is a 'grower' - certainly getting better with age and as the album plays. The album kicks off with `Avenida Revolution', which to be honest, is my least favourite track.....I don't quite get it. 'Soap On A Rope' follows.....better, but for me the album gets going with the third track, `Sexy Little Thing'. This is an absolute gem with a fabulous chorus and has 'single' written all over it. `Oh Yeah', `Get It Up' and `Running Out' all rock hard and heavy and feature the standard great musicianship the whole album exudes. The ballad, `Learning To Fall' follows, which slows the pace, but is still a good track. Just you wait 'til you get to the closer `The Future's In The Past'. It starts slower and builds to a crescendo of mammoth rock proportions. I love this track, you could land me on a desert island for a year with just this and I wouldn't tire of it.

I gave the album a four star rating because it is not perfect........but well worth buying. Sammy's vocals sound as though he is enjoying life again (when he sings `I want to be your hoochy coochy man', you can almost see the lady he's looking at!) - I would say the same for Anthony. With the exception of 'Summer Song' I don't know Satriani's work, but he proves to be an accomplished axe man here. Tremendous performance throughout the record and I will be first in line when they tour....even at my age!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 parts Van Halen, 1 part Chili Peppers and Joe Satriani, 16 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
"Chickenfoot" will probably go down in the history books as the silliest name for a rock band. If this eponymous debut album is anything to go by, this could be the undisputed rock supergroup collaboration of 2009.

What happens when you take one of the top five ranked electric guitarists on the planet (Joe Satriani), put him in a room with one of the best rock bass guitarists (ex-Van Halen 'Michael Anthony'), partner him up with the second lead vocalist of Van Halen (Sammy Hagar), and the Red Hot Chili Peppers' drummer, Chad Smith?

It's a no brainer; you get one of the hottest rock'n'roll albums of the year.

What really works on this album is the rawness of the production and the amazing mix of guitars, vocals and drums, performed by some of the best players at the top of their game. With the production helmed by Andy Johns (Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin), the songs put a bolt of lightening down your spine and kick thunder to the max.

Stand out tracks like "Soap on a Rope", "My Kinda Girl" and "Oh Yeah"
illustrate we're in the company of musicians who are taking no prisoners.

It's refreshing to see Satriani taking a break from his instrumental guitar solo work for a "band collaboration" led by one of the greatest rock singers of all time (Hagar).

The album comes in head sensitive packaging which means when you touch the CD inlay, photos of the band will start to appear. All that seems to be missing is the limited edition tour edition Day-Glo poster!

Rock enthusiasts, who are into AC DC, Bad Company, Van Halen, Chili Peppers, Joe Satriani, vintage Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, and GNR, will see this album as the next best thing to Jesus Christ sporting shades, smoking a cigarette and holding a guitar.

This could be the best album Van Hagar never made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems fair enough to me, 24 Oct 2009
Lets face it, record companies have got to make money somehow. The fact that this album wasn't released with the first was probably due to the fact that they didn't know if it would sell. Sure there was lots of hype but who knew what the public would make of it? The fact is that Chickenfoot's debut album went Gold in America, selling over 100,000 copies. So why not celebrate that fact by giving fans more of what they like? This edition comes with an extra track (Bitten By The Wolf) and various music videos, performances and rehersals. The public made it clear that they love Chickenfoot, and although this CD probably won't go gold again, its something for fans to hang on to.

(And hopefully this will be another nudge to Edward and the boys to get something going with Van Halen!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The name might be naff, but that's all!, 17 Aug 2009
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
Bought this purely on the back of Hagar's name, and other reviews, and I have been absolutely blown away. Have to admit right up front I don't much like the first track, and so I was not hoping for much after that when I first listened, but the rest of this album is just phenominal rock. The production is first class - a really tight, crisp, full sound, and unlike most of his contemporaries, Sammy Hagar's voice is still ALL THERE. Fantastic raucous screaming vocals, no hint whatsoever of any trouble hitting any of the notes (have you heard Deep Purple lately? So sad...), a seemingly effortless performance.

My favourite track so far is the final one, Future in the Past, and I can just imagine that being a tumultuous finale to a live concert.

Fantastic new band - don't miss it just because the name puts you off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hell Yeah, Why Not?, 16 July 2009
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chickenfoot (Audio CD)
Now I love my hard rock .... but ....I'm not a huge Van Halen fan (except for VH1 and Women and Children First), I'm not a huge Hagar fan (except Montrose debut and the ocassional song), I'm not a huge Satriani fan...endless guitar noodling no matter how brilliant just bores me, and the Chilli's....ermmmm no thanks.
But this rocks,it's not perfect but it is a nice slice of hard rock with enough chest beating power to keep me happy. Fave track...dunno maybe Get It Up. I'm so glad I didn't take too much notice of the less complimentary reviews I've read.
Anyway it seems to be an album that divides people - Van Halen and Satrianti (Satch???...oh yeah he's my mate too!) puirsts don't seem to like it, if you can get out of that kind of rut you might find something in this to rock your world a little!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chickenfoot
Chickenfoot by Chickenfoot (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews