Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Bad Marketing
I always expect top quality from Kate Mellua and 'The Womble' and they always deliver.
Really good live recording, full sound and note perfect. Well behaved audience too.
Some live albums are a cash in, others offer a different view of the artist than the studio recordings offer. This falls into the latter category. Katie sounds relaxed and confident even a bit...
Published on 18 May 2009 by J. Smart

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing as incomplete concert
I was at the concert at the O2 Arena ... one of the best concerts that I've ever been to ... so I bought this album .... and as a previous reviewer has said ... three songs are missing from the cd version of the album ..... I find this very annoying ... so what if these songs are available on download and on vinyl ! I'd rather have paid a little extra for a two cd version...
Published on 13 July 2009 by Mr. N. C. Earl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Bad Marketing, 18 May 2009
By 
J. Smart "Joe Smart" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
I always expect top quality from Kate Mellua and 'The Womble' and they always deliver.
Really good live recording, full sound and note perfect. Well behaved audience too.
Some live albums are a cash in, others offer a different view of the artist than the studio recordings offer. This falls into the latter category. Katie sounds relaxed and confident even a bit of talking between tracks (something you don't hear very often on live albums these days).
I've given 5 stars for the quality of the music but very nearly deducted 2 stars for the note on the inside sleeve of a sealed CD cover: -
"Due to restricted running time of CD's 3 songs: Thank You Stars, Two Bare Feet, and Spellbound were left off this album. These songs are available on the download and vinyl versions of the album."
Marketing speak for 'we want to sell twice as many units to fans who want the complete version.' Never heard of Double CD's? (the vinyl version is bound to be a double LP). How about free downloads of the missing tracks? 10 out of 10 for Katie, 100 lines: - 'I must not rip off fans' to the Marketing department.
On a different note; Why do HMV insist on putting Katie's CD's in the Easy Listening section. It can't be due to the Mike Batt connection because even The Wombles made it into the Rock & Pop section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing as incomplete concert, 13 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
I was at the concert at the O2 Arena ... one of the best concerts that I've ever been to ... so I bought this album .... and as a previous reviewer has said ... three songs are missing from the cd version of the album ..... I find this very annoying ... so what if these songs are available on download and on vinyl ! I'd rather have paid a little extra for a two cd version of the complete concert.The three star rating is because it is an incomplete concert ... great music ... shame someone thought it acceptable to release an incomplete concert for those of us who prefer to buy on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any fan, 20 Jun 2009
By 
S. Worsfold (london england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
Katie melua must have one of the best voices out there at the moment and she losses none of her abilaty to make the hair on the back of your neck stand up by singing live. the version of ghost town on this album realy shows a very versatile singer with a huge future to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Darren TOBIN (Hilton Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant live album from a fantastic female singer of the modern era and a understated singer songwriter of this century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
Katie never disappoints me. Such a voice and great talent. I look forward to hearing much more from such a talented musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at the O2 Arena, 30 April 2009
By 
Mr. S. Kent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
Live at the O2 Arena

I always feel the best way to tell a great artist from a good one is how they sound on stage 'Live' compared to how they sound on record. Is their sound a true reflection of their studio sound? In the case of Katie Melua the answer is YES. Backed by a great band I saw Katie live at Powderham Castle near Exeter during 2008 and she was 5***** great! Her voice clear and beatiful. This album reflects all those great evenings from last year and is a must for anyone who has seen her live. It takes you through her entire range of songs from the slow ballard to the semi-rock numbers like 'On the road again' Buy, Buy, Buy you will not be disappointed. Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
brilliant singer and different style of music. a very talented lady and worth listening to. worth every penny I spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
Very good tracks, delivered on time, shame it does not include autorip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+++++++++++, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
im addicted to her voice, i want to marry her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD LIVE SET !, 18 Jun 2009
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the O2 Arena (Audio CD)
My how this young lady has come on.The first CD contained a set recorded at Fairfield Halls, Croydon,which I felt at the time lacked something.It was I believe then her first major tour and she seemed a little in awe and lacked any real stage presence.Move onto 2008 and she's now really found the secret to live shows,and at a venue as large as the O2 that's pretty important.This is a cracking set by a very talented performer with a maturing voice and a set of songs that vary,sure the hits are there,the well known album tracks,but they sound so much better now.The keyboard player Jim Watson adds so much more depth in that department than Mike Batt did and that for me has brought depth to all she does. 'My Aphrodisiac Is You' receives here the best I've ever heard her do it,likewise the old Canned Heat classic 'On The Road Again'with a great backing band,some fabulous guitar work and Katie's voice much stronger than I've heard before.She's certainly growing as a performer and deliverer of songs and this set is proof of that,very enjoyable indeed.P.S. if you get the Collection set you get a DVD of a show in Rotterdam on the same tour,again very good indeed.This lady's here to stay and she just keeps getting better.Thank's to KM we know how many bicycles there are in Beijing as well,education in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at the O2 Arena
Live at the O2 Arena by Katie Melua (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews