Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best !
Fantastic track order, and all the tracks are remastered in 24Bit Audio, cheap, the only problem being the sleeve notes are a bit vague, otherwise if you're a fan a great compilation, if not probably the only Furs album you'll need, well recommended.
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by i

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sampler yes. Best of? Not on your nelly...
The Furs are one of those bands now blighted by countless budget, so-called 'best of' comps. And here's another: 15 tracks - 4 from the debut LP, 4 from Talk Talk Talk,3 off Forever Now, 2 from Mirror Moves, 1 from Midnight to Midnight, stand-alone single 'All That Money Wants' and nothing from either Book of Days or World Outside. So for example, from the first album...
Published on 8 July 2012 by The Pop Picker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sampler yes. Best of? Not on your nelly..., 8 July 2012
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Furs are one of those bands now blighted by countless budget, so-called 'best of' comps. And here's another: 15 tracks - 4 from the debut LP, 4 from Talk Talk Talk,3 off Forever Now, 2 from Mirror Moves, 1 from Midnight to Midnight, stand-alone single 'All That Money Wants' and nothing from either Book of Days or World Outside. So for example, from the first album while you get 'Sister Europe' amd 'Imitation of Christ', you don't get debut single 'We Love You' and instead inexplicably get 'Fall'. From Talk Talk Talk no 'Mr Jones', hi-energy, nihilistic classic. The 3rd album selections ignore 'Only you and I','Forever Now' itself or either of the slower-near-ballad cuts 'Sleep Comes Down','No Easy Street' (both of which illustrate their range). No inclusion for Mirror Moves air-hanger epics like 'My Time', 'Like A Stranger', 'Highwire Days' - nor the dance-heavy 'Heartbeat'. And to totally dimiss the final 2 LPs (which may have been commercial flops but saw a welcome return to a more raw, gritty sound/style after the aberational and vacous slickness of 'Midnight To Midnight') even though they threw up some classics like 'Should God Forget', 'House','Get A Room', 'There's A World' and especially 'In My head' (up there surely with the very best Furs numbers)? This set is single heavy but still ignores 3 or 4 classic 45's, it omits some premier album tracks but still finds room for minor cuts like 'Goodbye'and the aforementioned 'Fall'. We all like a bargain in these recession hit days but this is false economy unless you are looking for a mere taster or just want some Psychedelic Furs and don't really care what you get. If you don't want to run to the full set of 7 studio albums then track down the double CD-retrospective Should God Forget - as I write there's a second-hand copy being knockled-out for the ludicrously low price of 1.72 plus p&p, or a download's available at 8.49. Should God Forget: a Retrospective. Even if you have to pay a bit more Should God Forget: ...it's decent value. You won't get all the tracks I've mentioned here but you'll get a damn-good stab at a genuine career best and some rarities thrown in for good measure. As an alternative another 2-disc set Heaven: The Best of Heaven: The Best Of The Psychedelic Furs gives another decent selection (including the bonus of oft-overlooked 'Susan's Strange but ending at the penultimate album) available at around a fiver. Trust me, steer clear of all the other Greatest/Best Of's that don't do justice to an at-times truly great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best !, 28 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Fantastic track order, and all the tracks are remastered in 24Bit Audio, cheap, the only problem being the sleeve notes are a bit vague, otherwise if you're a fan a great compilation, if not probably the only Furs album you'll need, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Furs?, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
All the usual hits.Has the main songs from first 2 albums. In my opinion,The Furs went downhill once they moved to America the 1st & second albums are the ones to go for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a listen, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
not everyone's cup of tea this group. But I think they are great .A good album for checking out the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Just what I need to remember the songs that I used to ear. Great cd for the psychedelic furs lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Furs, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I brought this not expecting it to be as good as it was. Songs such as Love My Way, The Ghost in You, India and President Gas are up there with the best. If you want an introduction to the Furs then this is a great cd to start with or, like me, it has most of my favourite Furs songs on it so is good to have all on one cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music CD., 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Item arrived in good time and excellent condition. I would certainly use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by The Psychedelic Furs (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews