Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another surprise
A veer towards the mainstream perhaps, generally with softer melodies and less experimental sounds. But this is still the Mars Volta and maintains their character. The vocals are unusual but beautiful. The melodies are excellent, though the first 90 seconds of the album could have been ommitted. This is still the band that has brought me more joy than any other. What will...
Published on 23 Sept. 2009 by Redshark

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not their best.
Having been a fan of The Mars Volta for some time (since Deloused in the Comatorium) , and after being blown away by their previous album, The Bedlam in Goliath, I was slightly disappointed by Octahedron. While still musically brilliant, some of the energy from their recent albums seems to be missing. If you like some of the slower, more ethereal songs from the previous...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Wonko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another surprise, 23 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
A veer towards the mainstream perhaps, generally with softer melodies and less experimental sounds. But this is still the Mars Volta and maintains their character. The vocals are unusual but beautiful. The melodies are excellent, though the first 90 seconds of the album could have been ommitted. This is still the band that has brought me more joy than any other. What will they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not their best., 30 July 2009
By 
Wonko (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of The Mars Volta for some time (since Deloused in the Comatorium) , and after being blown away by their previous album, The Bedlam in Goliath, I was slightly disappointed by Octahedron. While still musically brilliant, some of the energy from their recent albums seems to be missing. If you like some of the slower, more ethereal songs from the previous albums, then this should be to your liking.

Chances are, if you are a fan, then you are fairly open to 'different' music, in which case, give it a go, but approach with and open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best ever, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
Octahedron is the definition of a grower, each listen brings the album closer to your heart and rewards you with a deeper and fuller appreciation of the superb music and lyrics on offer.
The unusual thing however; is that with any other Mars Volta cd the repeated listenings unveil hidden saxophone parts, guitar licks you hadn't heard before or hidden layers of vocals that you missed while concentrating on the drums.
With Octahedron its what you don't hear which becomes so impressive with each new listen. The focus, clarity and purity of this album is what's breath taking; The band likened it to an acoustic album not because of the instrumentation but because of the stripped down feel and intimacy that this record has.
Opener 'Since We've Been Wrong,' may feel like a ponderous Televators-alike when you first skeptically listen to the album, but the haunting vocal performance and unusually decipherable lyrics will at first challange your skepticism, impress you and finally make you fall in love.
That is the perfect example of why this album is so magnificent, songs like 'With Twilight As My Guide,' and 'Halo of Nembutals,' insinuate themselves into your brain and slowly wrap themselves around the pleasure centres.
The album is however no all-ballad oddity with no power, single 'Cotapaxi,'is a frantic punky song that would fit right in on The Bedlam in Goliath and album closer 'Luciforms,' features an impressive Omar solo along with some fine complicated material that stops the album from feeling like a complete departure from tradition.
Some fans may be dismissive of this record because they wanted something brash, noisy, busy and confusing but were instead treated to the most deliberate and thoughtful Mars Volta album to date and that's the great thing about the band, you never know what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, and a logical step forward, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
B. Rose "Soothsayer" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
Contrary to other reviews of 'Octahedron', I wasn't a fan of The Bedlam In Goliath. I found it to be a messy album, with flashes of brilliance bogged down in noise and incoherence.
I found this album a breath of fresh air and a welcome change from the frenetic energy of their previous albums. Don't get me wrong, I love The Mars Volta but it's nice when they tone it down a little occasionally and let the instruments breathe a little, and this album does that.
It does feel like a stepping stone to their next album though, whatever that will be. I'm still waiting fo something on the level of 'Deloused In The Comatorium', which would almost get my vote for album of the 00's.

Put simply, if you're familiar with the Volta and like them, get this album. If you're looking for an introduction to them, get their first album, 'Deloused...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different to what went on before., 16 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
The album is full of nice songs, but does not excite. There are very few twists and turns and only glimpses of the past. The album is not bad by any means, but by The Mars Volta standards it is very ordinary fare. Maybe a few more listens may bring out that something that seems to be missing at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
John Hammond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
In my opinion their best album since Deloused... The 1 and half minutes of silence at the start are worth the wait for what is to follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a couple of points to reinforce what others have said, 9 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
Firstly, songcraft on this album is their best yet. By this I mean, giving each song what it needs, to be the best it can be. No less, no more, no filler. This is a really hard thing to come by in prog rock where "tripping for tripping's sake" can and often will become self-indulgent. A mere 3:38 song on a Mars Volta album must have blown hard-core fans' minds... But to me this is one of the best prog rock albums ever - we always knew these guys know how to write music, but here they have so well executed the concepts from start to finish. It is still slightly baffling that they aren't as famous as Radiohead or Tool with whom I think they are now easily musical equals.

Secondly, as another reviewer pointed out, the sonics are better balanced and the production is superb. For example, previous albums tend to - not always - have too much much treble (particularly on the guitar). Listeners without a burning desire to give themselves tinnitus while playing music full-blast will be happy about this, because you want to hear the awesomeness of all of the components of the band interacting together without some massively overloaded high-end frequencies on guitar or vocals destroying your inner ear at the same time. To mix and produce these guys must be a total nightmare with so many instruments competing for a look-in.

So, along with the overall greatness of the music, the interesting lyrics, good balance of song vibes and fantastic production makes this an eminently listenable album and I'd highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in rock music, let alone genuine prog rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 23 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
I never thought they could record something as good as Frances the Mute again but they have and how. This album is quite different from others in that it is lighter in touch. Only three tracks are really trade mark Volta here. Lots of atmosphere and lots of keyboards, some great atmospheric Floyd sixties sounds in the background, great singing and one hell of a great solo towards the end of the album on possibly the best track they have ever recorded.

One great album by a brilliant and inventive band, I did miss the Saxophone but we have that on other albums and its really nice to hear a band willing to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SWEET, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Mark Ranger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
Definately a lot more ambient that other Volta albums, with a couple of trademark tracks. Certainly worth owning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Both Haunting & Disturbing...mostly in a good way., 4 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Octahedron (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of The Mars Volta since "De-loused in the Comatorium". This album definatly more mellow than the others with the exception of "Cotopaxi". Octahedron doesn't have the building cresendo's that we fans have come to love so much BUT it does have that unique combination of haunting lyrics over equally haunting melodies that The Mars Volta aren't always appreciated for. On this album "With twilight as my guide" is an obivious example of this. Previous examples are "Miranda that ghost just isn't holy anymore" from "Frances the Mute" and "Asilos Magdalena" from "Amputechture". Be warned though, in my opinion the lyric's are the darkest I've heard from The Mars Volta and they're usually pretty dark.Still, I like this album more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Octahedron
Octahedron by The Mars Volta (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews