Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Amorphis, what did you expect?
In my opinion, this is the best metal album of 2009 so far. Amorphis have created another masterpiece full of beauty and amazing melodies. The whole album is highly enjoyable, catchy and very profound at the same time. Tomi Joutsen`s vocal performance is superb and fits the music and poetic lyrics perfectly: mostly focused on the clean territory, it is very melodic, deep...
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Fotis P.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Metal/Progressive
Again I liked certain tracks but found that the vocals were somewhat difficult to listen to.as they did not seem to be audible to me in what was being said.Some good guitar riffing but not I felt up to other Nordic bands such as Nightwish,Therion and Gazpacho who all seem to have an individuality that rises above the others in this field
Published 16 months ago by Prog Pensioner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Amorphis, what did you expect?, 18 Jun 2009
This review is from: Skyforger (Ltd) (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this is the best metal album of 2009 so far. Amorphis have created another masterpiece full of beauty and amazing melodies. The whole album is highly enjoyable, catchy and very profound at the same time. Tomi Joutsen`s vocal performance is superb and fits the music and poetic lyrics perfectly: mostly focused on the clean territory, it is very melodic, deep and emotional in every song. On the other hand, when he decides to growl he sounds very powerful. Of course nothing would matter if the music itself wasn't that good! Amorphis create really unique and wonderful music, distinguishing themselves from the rest. The album offers various moods; there are great guitar melodies, keyboards, progressive elements, folk elements, gothic overtones, heavy riffs and a solid rhythm section. Your collection will be much richer if you add Skyforger to it!

Note: there has been a small problem with the initial copies of the digipack version but their company seems to have sorted it by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal albums of 2009, 27 Sep 2010
By 
A. R. Berry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
Once in a while an album comes along that makes you wonder how your collection can ever have seemed complete without it. An album of such effortless brilliance that you are reminded just why you love music in the first place. An album that moves you in ways very few can; and which puts a smile on your face and a glow in your heart each time you play it.

I have followed Amorphis since the groundbreaking Elegy, a body of work that remains fresh 14 years later and which, at the time of its release, offered me the first taste of how metal could be fused successfully with other styles to create an entirely new sound. The wonderful, psychedelic-tinged Tuonela was a highlight for me in the years that followed, after which the ideas seemed to run dry. This once innovative band became somewhat bland, lacking the spark that had made them so distinctive in their earlier days.

A change of vocalist seemed to revitalise them, and a couple of decent albums (2006's Eclipse and 2007's Silent Waters) saw a move towards the quality of their earlier work, albeit without quite the same display of inspiration and creativity.

With Skyforger those missing elements have returned. The style is predominantly metal (of the melodic Finnish variety) but every shade of the complex Amorphis sound is allowed to shine. From soft piano, acoustic guitar and clean vocals to heavy riffing and (occasional) death growls, the album is beautiful and melancholic yet powerful and heavy. It captures Amorphis at their best, bringing together the most successful elements from their 20-year career and combining them into a varied and well-structured whole. The band shows a passion and a quality of songwriting that hasn't been evident since Tuonela, encompassing a wonderful array of ideas and styles with melodies that are fresh, memorable and captivating.

This is one of most inspired and expressive metal albums I have heard for some time. After a few years in which the quality of their releases was inconsistent, Amorphis have rediscovered their flair to create an album that outshines anything they have recorded for a decade. Skyforger is one the most impressive releases of 2009, and quite possibly the strongest of the band's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Martin Bestwick "rock fan" (sheffield,england,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyforger (MP3 Download)
im not good at detailed reviews like the guys above so i wont try but this has to be the best cd of 2010 so far,if thers is one better it will have to be truly outstanding.i would give it 6 stars if i could,any rock fans wanting some new music to listen too buy this album you will not be disappointed.BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Metal/Progressive, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
Again I liked certain tracks but found that the vocals were somewhat difficult to listen to.as they did not seem to be audible to me in what was being said.Some good guitar riffing but not I felt up to other Nordic bands such as Nightwish,Therion and Gazpacho who all seem to have an individuality that rises above the others in this field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic Beast, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
I am not going to do a detailed review as this is quite an old album now. I picked up on Amorphis while travelling in Finland. I always buy the "Soundi" magazine and they had a free CD, which had "Silver Bride" as track one. I couldnt believe what I was listening to! It sounded like a cross between Big Country, REM and Tull and was so catchy. The fact that the whole album is like that was just mindblowing. The songs are all punchy with double choruses on most to sing along too, some fantastic riffs and a lot of keyboards too. It is like listening to a bunch of 4 minute pop songs (In Finland this would count as popular, I believe the album was number one for a while, SIGH!) played by a Folk Metal band and I dont mean that in a bad way at all. The album is amazing, and so accessible that it should get a lot of people with diverse tastes into the band.

The guitar player Esa Holopainen, is a damn genius. the best guitarist in Finland and thats going some.

The album is stunning.

buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid!, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
As always with Amorphis you get a really strong release, sometimes they bleed into one another is the only critisism i have for their past few efforts, but this is a very well written and constrcuted record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
Such an amazing album, intersting lyrical content, catchy melodies ... it's an album to sing along with in the shower
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyforger (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyforger (Ltd)
Skyforger (Ltd) by Amorphis (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews