Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill(ed) me!
Two college losers attempt to get in a fraternity and win the girl, taking the chanllenge they break into the nearby labs to steal a corpse and unwittingly unleash alien parasites that create a zombie plague in town, now only they and a burned out cop (played to perfection by genre veteran Tom Atkins) can stop the creeps from destroying the world!
Fred dekker whose...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Mr. K. Arts

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Did. Not. Recieve. Item. The end.
Published 20 days ago by Balok


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill(ed) me!, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Two college losers attempt to get in a fraternity and win the girl, taking the chanllenge they break into the nearby labs to steal a corpse and unwittingly unleash alien parasites that create a zombie plague in town, now only they and a burned out cop (played to perfection by genre veteran Tom Atkins) can stop the creeps from destroying the world!
Fred dekker whose probably most famous for monster squad The Monster Squad [DVD] [1987] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] debued with this highly entertaining pastiche of 50's b movies and contemporary horror and is post modern before scream made it trendy (note: all the characters are named after famous horror directors). The characters are great, the dialouge while shakey at times is entertaining and the whole movie dashes along at such a quick pace its hard to get bored!
ow the disc, Blu ray enhances the directors cut print to such a degree you can see the grain on the print, the sound is phenomenal though and the whole disc is multi-region so will play on your ps3/player with no problems. Extras-wise there are about an hour of featuretes with a play all feature taking a nostalgic look back at the film, it's sad to see lots of those involved never went on to greater things including Fred dekker, who bemoans the fact he never made more films. Overall this is well worth a look as the film is a neglected gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the true horror/comedy cult classics of the 1980s, 15 July 2010
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Night of the Creeps is a must-see 1980s cult classic that almost seems to get better with age. With its unusually impressive blend of horror and comedy, this low-budget classic should serve as an inspiration to today's independent filmmakers. I've read that writer/director Fred Dekker wrote the screenplay in seven days, but it's as solid and witty a script as you're likely to find among films in the campy horror genre. The special effects are surprisingly good for the most part, and even the acting is solid all the way around. Dekker's love and appreciation for science fiction and horror is incorporated nicely into the dialogue, granting the film a special appeal to fans of those genres.

Way back in 1959, a pod carrying an alien experiment plummeted to the earth and - by infecting those exposed to it - caused the violent deaths of several young people before it was stopped. Things have been peaceful ever since - until a stupid fraternity prank by a young man desperate to impress a beautiful sorority girl. While Chris (Jason Lively) sort of draws the line at freeing human popsicles sealed up cryogenically for almost three decades, his gung ho buddy J.C. Steve Marshall) has no qualms about such an expulsion-deserving offense. They don't get far with the body, but they do more than enough to turn their bucolic college town into a veritable zombie killing ground. It's not long at all before zombies' heads start exploding across campus, releasing a myriad of alien worms eager to infect new hosts. As a few random murders escalate into the equivalent of a zombie invasion, only veteran Detective Landis (Wally Taylor) has any real insight into what is truly happening.

When they're not performing idiotic fraternity pledge pranks or running away ("screaming like banshees") from the undead, Chris - with plenty of help from J.C. - is trying to figure out how to separate Cynthia (Jill Whitlow) from her obnoxious boyfriend and (forgive the pun) worm his way into her life. I certainly can't blame the lad for that, as Cynthia is flat-out gorgeous. In fact, Jill Whitlow is a perfect example of why I and so many other fellows love the 1980s so much. It's just too bad that the only way for a normal guy to get such a babe is to take on a city full of monsters and somehow survive.

Night of the Creeps is a perfect candidate for multiple viewings. I must admit that Detective Landis' catch phrase and J.C.'s seemingly endless antics eventually got on my nerves, but there is plenty of memorable dialogue scattered throughout the entire film. The gore is satisfying enough to placate the slasher fan without scaring away those with a more delicate constitution, and the comedy and cultural references should appeal to just about everyone. Night of the Creeps is B-movie horror/comedy filmmaking at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's trash at its beautiful best, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Night of the Creeps is part of a long line of horror, comedy, trash, cheap effects, and even feel good humour that came out in the mid 80's.
Creeps delivers as many of these type of movies had the uncanny ability to do. The acting is poor at times and the movie takes some time to get going, but the second half of the film is so 80's trash over the top- were talking zombie cat here that it more than makes up for it. Repeated viewings actually do the movie justice, there is a healthy plod of gore, and if your a child of the 80's you will instantly get the references.
Even good old Dick Miller has a standout cameo but the guy that steals this movie is the one and only super cool
Tom Atkins. If oscars were given out for being in 80's trash movies then Atkins would deserve his one for Creeps.
He probably has the best one liners in movie history all wrapped up in 90 mins or so.

In fact the only negative I can think of is the awful DVD cover, try and find the original 80's cover it's way better. Also they shot two endings to the movie, I prefer the unused one with Atkins and motherships.

Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work of B movie genius, 26 July 2009
By 
David Wallace (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I won't repeat the story; already done well by previous reviewer. Suffice to say that this is a B movie with a lot going for it. Tom Atkins is never better and answers the phone in a way I wish I had the bottle to do.

Given the other trash that has been transferred to DVD, I cannot understand the delay in putting this minor classic out there, for a new generation of horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP 80'S CLASSIC..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is an absolute must for 80'S horror / sci-fi fans, a fantastic movie with a great story about a virus from outta space that reanimates the dead, it has everything you expect like good memorable dialogue, cheesy one liners, naked girls, lots of fantastic practical blood and gore, great cast and soundtrack too, this is a must have gem of a movie, one of the best products of the 80's!

Blu-ray import has a great picture quality.
Special features are plenty with commentary and deleted scenes and behind the scenes and more.
Region ABC free, 90mins, 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 3 Feb 2014
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This was a lot of fun, and definitely at the top end of 80s B-movie horror. Witty, self-knowing script (in a good way), some good effects (and bad effects), and some really decent setups/payoffs. It thrilled me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
excellent been after this film for ages remembered from when I was younger had it on video but broke delivery was quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best 80 movies i haver seen, 26 July 2013
By 
Rui Macedo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i only dislike its a shame the movie dont have portuguese subtitles but the rest is fine the image and the sound are impressive for a movie of 1986. Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s horror cult movie with added laughs, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
1986 was a good year for cult horrors and creepies; The Fly, Critters, Slaughter High. If you enjoyed movies such as Night of the Comet, Chopping Mall, Troll and any of the (now virtually unheard of) b-Movie actors of that time you will love Night of the Creeps. Be wary of the 'sequel' posted as Night of the Creeps 2 - Zombie Town. This movie has no affiliation with the original and is quite frankly rubbish - not in the good 80s B-Movie horror rubbish way. Just in the complete nonsense rubbish way. Hopefully those who are into their 70s/80s cult/B-Movie horror will understand the distinction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Ricardo Lucas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always loved this Classic and im glad to find it on blu ray, but im ot sure it will work on my DVD player.

Can you help me with regions?

Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night of the Creeps [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews