Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry Red track Listing
The Cherry Red re-release has a different track listing to that shown in the product listing. It should be:

Track List
1.Getting Nowhere Fast
2.Warm Girls
3.Politics
4.It's Fashion
5.Go For Gold
6.Pleasure
7.Too Big For Your Boots
8.I'm Beautiful Now
9.Waterbed Babies
10.Fun-City Teenagers
11.£600,000...
Published on 30 April 2009 by Warren Swaine

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First two tracks really good but the rest is very silly and cartoonish babble
Bought this on a whim when buying other other punk treasures I found back on Amazon.
Remember the Mo-Dettes? Well thought this was going to be of a similar order.
First two tracks are quite listenable but then the quality goes downhill drastically with a tinny voice, silly cartoonish musical arrangements and laughable lyrics that reminds me of Sesame...
Published 11 months ago by Phil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry Red track Listing, 30 April 2009
By 
Warren Swaine "Was" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
The Cherry Red re-release has a different track listing to that shown in the product listing. It should be:

Track List
1.Getting Nowhere Fast
2.Warm Girls
3.Politics
4.It's Fashion
5.Go For Gold
6.Pleasure
7.Too Big For Your Boots
8.I'm Beautiful Now
9.Waterbed Babies
10.Fun-City Teenagers
11.£600,000
12.Heaven
13.China Blue
14.Fast Boyfriends
15.She Flipped
16.Goodbye To That Jazz
17.This Train
18.Fast Boyfriends (Richard Skinner Session)
19.£600,000 (Richard Skinner Session)
20.I'm Beautiful Now (Richard Skinner Session)
21.Pleasure (Richard Skinner Session)
22.Boys At their Best (Demo)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk-Pop at its best, 29 Oct 1999
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
It's funny how the really great albums from the early Eighties seemed to have vanished into oblivion. This is one of the great punk-pop albums. Right up there with The Undertones and The Buzzcocks. If ever there was a course Three Minute Pop Songs 101 this would be a key text. A manic pop thrill indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten early 80s classic, 24 July 2001
By 
Andrew Corless "luggy" (Northern France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
Pleasure (included here as tracks 6-16) was one of my favourite ever vinyl albums when I was in my late teens. The CD arrived this morning and I've been through it four times since. It's still as good as ever, how many other albums can be called as fresh and vibrant 20 years on?
Judy Evans' crystal clear vocals soar over tunes that flip from Status Quo 12 bar to Siouxsie and the Banshees to Depeche Mode synthesiser. It's like Young Marble Giants on speed, it's like every school band you ever heard IF they had talent and a decent studio, it's like all that was best about a period when we were all free to do our own thing, it's like being 18 again. Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best New Wave album you never heard!, 7 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
This is one album (CD) you'll play for a long time and wonder in amazement why you never heard it before! I'm a melody freak and this collection has melodies oozing everywhere, but be forewarned, you've probably never heard melodies like this before! Judy's voice does indeed soar up and down and sideways, but never in an aggravating way. The melodies are, simply, too catchy to ignore but on the other hand, sometimes quite unusual! There is almost a Medieval sound to one of the songs, which will attest to the special unique-ness to this album. This is pure pop with a punk edge, but with melodies that most Punk never achieved. Buy it at once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm so lucky I found you.., 17 Jan 2007
By 
Candi Says (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
After a long time searching I managed to lay my hands on a copy of this CD without the large price tag attached. I am so happy I did, it is now one of my most treasured possessions.

As you can see I am writing this review years later from the others so much music has happened since then.

I remember John Peel playing Girls at our Best years ago and seeing them in the NME, Sounds, etc and liking what I heard and saw. Also my English teacher had their poster on the classroom wall after seeing them live and gave me a spare copy! But it was not until the Rough Trade Shops indie 01 CD (mentioning them only sadly, not including a track) and reading 'Rip it up' that I decided to finally hunt down a copy of this CD and it was way difficult! Which is an absolute tragedy as this must be heard!

This is post punk at its bouncy, jangliest with Judy's lovely girlish vocals. The songs are very poppy and Judy sings at full belt. They also zoom off in different angles which is difficult to imagine unless you hear it but you will get those melodies stuck in your head, I guarantee it.

If you are discovering or re-discovering post punk through any of the above CD and book or also the fine Rough Trade post punk CD, they are probably not suited to a more serious Wire/Magazine type listener but rather a more Family Fodder (Debbie Harry is one of my ultimate feel good tracks), some of the later indie like perhaps Primitives, or if you want to look to more recent stuff - any J-Pop, Helen Love, etc. This compilation from the great Vinyl Japan label features the album Pleasure plus the singles and the B-sides.

They are truly a great forgotten band which needs to be re-released and made more widely available to hear and while we're at it, how about re-releasing some Dolly Mixture and the Family Fodder CDs? There are so many girl singer bands out there, but not all of them can cut it like Judy. TRY and get a copy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First two tracks really good but the rest is very silly and cartoonish babble, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
Bought this on a whim when buying other other punk treasures I found back on Amazon.
Remember the Mo-Dettes? Well thought this was going to be of a similar order.
First two tracks are quite listenable but then the quality goes downhill drastically with a tinny voice, silly cartoonish musical arrangements and laughable lyrics that reminds me of Sesame Street.
So maybe the 5 star reviews are by 5 year olds, can't think of anything else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nearly as good as the gonzo salvage company!, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
Fantastic album! i worked with jez later on and he's a man of many talents (if you read this e-mail me from [...] they were leeds legends and i'm sure with the current vogue for all things disco-punk and electro that girl at our best revival will be something to look forward too. the new generation had better look over their shoulders...!
all best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
Great to hear this again - still holds up well even though it is very much of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pleasure Garden, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
Though the Indie charts were full of punk in the 80s there were always the odd ones out which would have been more suited to the pop charts.Such as Virginia Astley,the Frazier Chorus,Jane & Barton and this one-a Leeds based pop rock band who were once known as the Butterflies.
There was one album on the Happy Birthday label which made No 2 and 4 singles lifted off it with Go for Gold hitting No 4 between 1980 and 1981.Six years later they charted again with The Peel Sessions and that was it
Judy Evans the voice of GAOB was not far removed from Kate Bush and had the same knack of creating melodies which threw in chords where you least expected them.
Only just reissued on CD it comes with extra tracks and this time round some info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillo, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasure (Audio CD)
This is such an underated band! There are tons of songs on here which are brilliantly written stand out tracks, I'm surprised Girls At Our Best didn't receive more exposure in the 80's. Anywayyy, I love this band and if you're in to punchy pop/avante garde bands like The Slits, Siouxsie and The Banshees, Camera Obscura etc etc etc then you will love this band I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pleasure
Pleasure by Girls at Our Best! (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews