Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, action-packed and epic in every sense
I had been waiting for this film for a long while and managed to see it at one of the advanced screenings. It really is an incredible film. It's been a long while since a WW2 movie has moved me in the same way - I'm thinking The Pianist. I also read that the screenwriter died very recently at the age of just 28... which is incredible in itself given the depth and sheer...
Published on 14 May 2009 by The General of Content

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
The film itself gave me new insight into WW2 from the Norwegian side - a very interesting and engrossing film.

I only gave it three starts as it isn't "one if the greatest war movies of all time" publicists blurb not mine - see Battle of Britain Saving Private Ryan, Enemy at the Gates, Black Book etc.

Blue Ray wise I didn't see any difference - so...
Published on 31 July 2009 by R. Nicklin


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, action-packed and epic in every sense, 14 May 2009
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
I had been waiting for this film for a long while and managed to see it at one of the advanced screenings. It really is an incredible film. It's been a long while since a WW2 movie has moved me in the same way - I'm thinking The Pianist. I also read that the screenwriter died very recently at the age of just 28... which is incredible in itself given the depth and sheer scale of this film. A true epic in every sense of the word the film follows Max Manus, a Norwegian resistance figher first in the Winter War in Finland against the advancing Russian army and then in Norway itself where he wages war on the occupying Nazi forces with a group of resistance fighters called "The Oslo Gang". Shockingly brutal at times in terms of the violence this film does not shy away from the harsh realities of war and the incredible ordeal that occupied countries suffered at the hands of Nazi Germany. Packed with intense visceral action this is a film that will both keep you locked to the screen with excitement and have a profound emotional affect. In all honesty this is one of the most brilliant war movies I have seen for a long time. Breathtaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Strange is it not that even a film like this can result in a range of stars from 1 to 5?
I have opted to give it a 4 star as I felt that this was indeed a very good, well acted film. Awesome, perhaps not, but very watchable.
There really is no point in dwelling on whether the Norwegian's were in part or all against Nazi's; it is one of those historical arguments you can get embroiled in unnecessarily as to how much they 'resisted'.
The fact of the matter is that some did, and this film covers this in a very well paced way.
My only beef, hence 4 and not five, is more because being deaf I rely heavily on subtitles, and when the dialogue reverted to English, there was no subtitle, this I hope, will assist those of you who are hard of hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My country was stolen from me, Sir... and I want it back", 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
For some unfathomable reason, when this thrilling and moving movie was released on DVD in the USA and the UK, the distributors decided to change the title from the simple and effective Max Manus, and add the terrible line Man of War, making it sound like some gung-ho action movie, and nothing could be further from the truth.
Based on true events (and once you have watched the film, the word "heroic" takes on new meaning), the film tells the story of Max Manus, a Norwegian resistance fighter during World War 2 and the leader of the so called "Oslo gang", a group of dedicated patriots who decided to strike back at the occupying Nazi forces any way the could. Beginning with Max's experiences as a volunteer in the Finnish war of 1940 against the invading Soviets, the film then moves on to detail his exploits following the occupation of his beloved Norway by the Nazi's. Initially idealistic and something of a loose cannon, a brutal brush with the Gestapo see's Max flee to England, where he receives training in the arts of the resistance fighter and is parachuted back into Norway to organise the resistance, older, wiser and totally dedicated to the cause. Alongside Max are a group of like minded young men, all prepared to die for their cause, and it is their secret war that forms the heart of the film. Living on their nerves, aware that capture means death, this group of men carry out a series of spectacular and damaging operations against the Nazi regime, but as the casualties grow, Max struggles to come to terms with the loss of his friends and the sacrifices necessary to ensure victory.
The star of the film is without a doubt Aksel Hennie as Max, who breathes life into this apparently quiet man who decides to stand up and be counted. Hennie's Max is brave to the point of foolhardiness, and prepared to do whatever he must to get his country back, but feels crushed by the responsibility of his actions and slowly unravels as his friends die around him. But Hennie is ably supported by the likes of Christian Rubeck and Nicolai Cleve Broch as his two most trusted friends within the gang, and Ken Duken as Siegfried Fehmer, the Nazi officer tasked with capturing Max and his associates, and a truly great piece of acting it is as Duken gives Fehmer a truly seductive yet menacing charm.
Joachim Ronning and Espen Sandberg who directed the movie, and Thomas Nordseth-Tiller who wrote the screenplay, deserve every credit for giving the viewer a great piece of cinema. Never averse to showing the consequences of the gang's actions, from retributive executions by the Nazi's to the violent and bloody deaths of some of Max's closest friends, this is a film that is both strong and subtle but never showy. With a closing sequence that is both heart braking and uplifting at the same time and speaks volumes about the nature of war, this is an epic in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior War Movie - How Did It Not Get A Cinema Release?, 21 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Norwegian citizen Max Manus(Askel Hennie)frustrated by and haunted by his stint as a volunteer in the Finnish army battling the Russians in 1940 joins and eventually leads the Oslo Gang - a dedicated group of Norwegians trained to sabotage German military movements inside the Norwegian interior with particular emphasis on the german battleships anchored in Oslo harbour.
Tremendously tense sabotage sequences,added to a very exciting first half hour with Manus' desperate escape from Nazi intelligence being especially well handled are allied to good performances,excellent period detail and a refeshingly non-sappy romantic sub-plot that rather than derailing the film's momentum adds a well judged dose of believability and humanity amidst the terror and confusion of German occupation.
At times the efforts of the saboteurs can be a little hard to follow and more could have been made of the daily fear of capture as the film progressed with the clever Siegfried of German intelligence seemingly close but not enough becoming a contrivance too far.
However that does not detract from this excellent piece,based on the real life exploits of Max Manus and his crew,that conveys very well the psychological horrors of war and the lengths that ordinary people went to in their fight for freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Max Manus - Man of War, 27 Jan 2010
Max Manus is a movie which centers on developing a story, and the characters within it, rather than being fast paced or action packed. It is based on actual events and people who lived through them during WWII, and it is all the more emotionally involving for being a true story. Excellent acting and production standards certainly make this movie worth buying on Blu-ray - this high definition version adds to the impact. On the negative side, I do feel that perhaps the content/theme of this movie is slightly misrepresented in terms of the product cover: There are almost no action or battle sequences at all, and those that there are, are only Max's occasional very brief memory flashbacks. Finally, the English subtitles are occasionally blighted by typos and dodgy spelling; e.g. how did "diffucult" make it through to the final release version? Nonetheless, Max Manus is a good movie worth buying on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four for quality, five for value, 11 Nov 2009
By 
Stephen B. Peddie (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Man of War? No, just a very ballsy young Norwegian prepared to risk all to fight the invader. The inexperience and lack of training that represents war time circumstance manifests itself in apparent amateurishness and unnecessary casualties; between scenes of confused action are prolonged periods of relative or absolute inactivity, frustration and boredom. This is the reality of war, caught and very well portrayed by a movie that deserves a better title. This is not, as implied, an action movie; it is an excellent portrayal of an exceptional individual, his close compatriots and their small and dangerous part in a very brutal war. I'm not sure about the wines-and-dines by night, fights Germans by day lifestyle suggested, but life went on even under wartime occupation so perhaps I'm being too sniffy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling and very human story, 4 April 2010
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
This found itself onto my shelf of DVD's because of the tag line on the front. 'They stole his country. Now he wants it back!' It looked like it was set during the second world war which made me think it might not be entirely fiction. It did look like it would be a great action movie.

It turns out Max Manus is anything but fiction. Max was a Norwegian and a freedom fighter. Fighting for the Finnish against the Russians in 1940, he returned home when Germany invaded Norway. His mission to start a resistance movement. This film traces the period of time from the German occupation to the end of World War II. A time during which Max would become a legend in Norway for his daring and often successful missions against the Germans. The movie follows the lives of those around him and the incredible dangers they faced in fighting their cause.

If that does not sound much like an action movie then you are absolutely right. It did contain some contextual action but the main theme is of the human story. In the process it gives us a real sense of moment to moment suspense and the danger these people faced everyday, their constant loss. It also does a very good job of painting a human side to the German's without watering down their methods.

Production is to a high quality and extremely well acted. Interestingly for this English native the Norwegian actors all seemed very familiar. Although the language was Norwegian it was subtitled English. I hardly noticed after five minutes. If there is a criticism then it is in the makers desire to stay very true to the non-fiction source. They tried to include so many of the themes important in this compelling man's life, it sometimes did not flow cohesively. Sometimes jumping chunks of time between which many of the feats that went towards his legend have to be assumed by the viewer. I got the impression this might have originally been intended as a multi part TV series, or might have been chopped down to size for the movie format. Don't let that deter you. This is almost as compelling as the real man seems to have been.

Very highly recommended and a very good reminder of what it takes to fight wars, the nature of terrorism and of daily dangers we now cannot imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little film, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Brian Sheeran "Brian S" (Warrington, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
What a suprisingly good little film. It probably benefits from NOT having the hollywood special effects, as it makes them work harder on the screenplay. Based on a true story too. Enjoyable, and you soon get used to the subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific stuff!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Nhj Barnes "Bud" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I was also pleased to view it with subtitles rather than being overdubbed, which has been the ruin of many a good film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 31 July 2009
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself gave me new insight into WW2 from the Norwegian side - a very interesting and engrossing film.

I only gave it three starts as it isn't "one if the greatest war movies of all time" publicists blurb not mine - see Battle of Britain Saving Private Ryan, Enemy at the Gates, Black Book etc.

Blue Ray wise I didn't see any difference - so get it on DVD and save yourself a new bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD]
Max Manus - Man Of War [DVD] by Joachim Roenning (DVD - 2009)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews