Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 September 2009
This book is a reference guide to the human anatomy for artists.

The approach here is a part-by-part look at the different section of the body. Each area focused has illustrated muscles and bones with accompanying photo of a model by the side. We can clearly see where different layers of muscles are attached to the bones The photo reference is very useful and provides clarity than using illustrations alone.

The downside is the author isolates the parts too much. If the topic is on the arm, only the arm is shown with very little of the shoulder. Amazingly, there are no full body illustration showing the muscles. The only full body illustrations show the schematic form, e.g. muscle boundaries. So while every part is explained and illustrated well, it's still a bit difficult to get the whole picture.

Most of the examples are static. The body is not doing anything. Again, it's hard to see how the body really works when place in different positions like walking, sitting or twisting. Well, this is a reference book, for bodies in different positions, it's better to get a figure drawing book that focuses on poses and gesture drawing.

Also, a great bulk of the examples are for male bodies. It would have been perfect if more female bodies were included for comparison.

The accompanying text is comprehensive in explaining the structure and how the parts work.

Ultimately, this is a very useful reference guide for any artists who wish to look up any part of the body. It's recommended for beginner to advanced artists.

4.5 out of 5 stars.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
I've used this book to death! It is with out a doubt the best human anatomy book i've ever used as both a 2D and 3D artist. It covers every single muscle in the body in great detail, showing how they all join to the skeleton, how they move, and look from different angles, and it does this from the smallest muscles on the face all the way down to the feet. It also clearly shows skeletal anatomy, dominate veins (the ones we can usually see on the surface), how fat works and where it grows on different genders, and so on. The ONLY thing you won't find in this book is internal organ references.

For animals i strongly recommend the "Animal Anatomy for Artists" book by the same author, Eliot Goldfinger.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
This is a book which one could recommend to any student of human anatomy, artist or scientist. I say this as an amateur artist and also because my daughter has purloined it, she being an undergraduate student in human anatomy. In order to make a convincing representation of a human being in action it is imperative to know how muscles, bones, limbs, neck, face, head and other parts of the body look when under stress, when relaxed, when at rest, playing, labouring or dancing. We intrinsically see this every day of our waking lives and yet few can register it well enough to reproduce it. In order to abstract it is useful to follow the old masters and meticulously copy the human form in all its guises, because the body's repertoire is almost infinite. Through movement, age, posture and mood -all can be captured to the well trained eye. I am not presumptuous enough to claim that skill and realise that this book cannot be left on the shelf but must be studied in order to gain benefit. My daughter is impressed with the dissection drawings showing the internal workings including groups of muscles, bone layout and interconnecting tissue giving clarity and an exacting logical representative understanding to the subject. I applaud the author for this fine book which must be the exemplar of its kind.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
This book got such a good review on line that I thought it would augment my trusty Anatomy for Artists by Sarah Simblet, but I really don't recommend this book it if you are hoping to use it to help with accuracy in your figure drawings. It is very old fashioned and more like a medical text book. There are pictures on every part of the body, but they are very small and formal. The artist cannot glean very much at all from these images I doubt the book it will teach me very much, partly because of the tiny images as I've explained, but also because the inaccessibility of the information means I'm not inclined to pick it up. The most instructive photograph is the one on the front, though there is a very good "hand" section at the back of the book. Though at 2 pages, it cannot make up for the a whole book's worth of shortcomings. I didn't find this a satisfying purchase and will look for something else to complement the Simblet book, which is great for figure drawing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Great book and quite fast delivery. But the book cover was a bit broken when it arrived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
I was looking for a complete human anatomy reference for my 3d models and this book goes really in deep of details explaining where muscles forms and interact, showing pictures and drawings. It's a MUST have for an artist.

by Alessandro

3d artist @ Prime Focus London
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
I'm an artist and this is just what I needed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
It's really good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)