Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faith is a gift I have yet to receive.
Angels and Demons is directed by Ron Howard and adapted to screenplay by David Koepp and Akiva Goldsman from the Dan Brown novel of the same name. It stars Tom Hanks, Ewan McGregor, Ayelet Zurer, Stellan Skarsgard, Pierfrancesco Favino, Nikolaj Lie Kaas and Armin Mueller-Stahl. Music is scored by Hans Zimmer and cinematography by Salvatore Totino.

Symbologist...
Published 18 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly plodding sequel
Considering how enjoyable the critically derided Da Vinci Code turned out to be if you didn't take it seriously, it's surprising how weak the slightly better reviewed follow-up turned out. The kind of film that manages to look at once expensive and cheap, it's a lot less effective than the first film - the casting is much poorer, the script considerably weaker (especially...
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having been to Rome this brings back great memories, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. A. R. J. King (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels and Demons (Extended Cut) [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
When the orginial Da Vinci code came out and all the hype I gave it a by ball and only when I seen it on Sky I really enjoyed the film.

I was on a business trip two years ago and was luckly enough to be taken round the sights by a very knowledge guide who pointed out the great works and art in Rome and expalined them in depth so when I seen this film come out I was sure I would see it.

I waitied again for the comfort of my home cinema and watched the film and was every bit as good in the blue ray as I expected by the sight and snipets of information brought back all the wonderful expereinces of Rome.

Watch the film, do a bit of reading on the artists watch it again and go to Rome the film and quality is fantansic but good and see it close up.

The only part which starts to get far fetched is the helicopter and parachute bit, bit too James Bond?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Have You Come To Make Me A Martyr?", 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angels and Demons (Extended Cut) [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
There's probably millions of physicists, theologians and hugely academic types out there who can't wait to poo poo "Angels & Demons" - the sequel to Dan Brown's ludicrously successful book and movie - "The Da Vinci Code" - I'm not going to be one of them.

While you wouldn't call it a "Bourne-like" masterpiece in terms of non-stop plot and thrills, A&D gets damn close - and almost all of the time. Sequel or stand alone - it's a brilliantly executed movie - and far, far better than its predecessor ever was, entertaining the weary pants off of you with real style, skill and panache.

To start with - "Angels & Demons" has the magic triple whammy - a really great cast who can bring gravitas to any part they play, a fantastically well-adapted screenplay from great source material (AKIVA GOLDSMAN and DAVID KOEPP who are both Oscar winners and nominees) and the best entertainment Director in the movie business today - RON HOWARD. I mean the guy just delivers time after time after time - "Frost/Nixon", "Cinderella Man" and "Apollo 13" are among his superb former credits.

It goes like this (and every word of the following is Gospel)... There's a plot to bring down the Catholic Church and replace it with an order based on science rather than faith, which may or may not have something to do with the ancient and mysterious cult of THE ILLUMINATI. Despite being purged centuries back by scared zealots in the Catholic Church, these are powerful people still in high places who have remained undetected down through the ages by the modern world - patiently waiting for their time of revenge. And an experiment in Switzerland has given them that chance.

TOM HANKS is back as the permanently po-faced Professor Langdon summoned by a devout priest (EWAN McGREGOR) to the holy city of the Vatican in Rome to protect the Catholic Church at a time of Papal re-election. A slick assassin who is prepared to carry out grizzly acts of torture (played chillingly by NIKOLAJ LIE KAAS) is killing off high-ranking Catholic cardinals in a countdown to an apocalyptical 'light' that will consume the throne of Christ's church on Earth. And wouldn't you know it, but poor old butter-brains Langdon has only 4 hours to work it all out and stop the end of...well the world frankly... Luckily he is ably aided by a particle-analyst in the shape of the leggy AYELET ZURER (it's a scientific fact that all lab scientists look like this woman - I swear). And on it goes....

It's all utter knob of course, but the historical linking of actual statues, churches and symbols all over the city make you believe every cleverly preposterous word of it. Throw in the brilliance of actors like ARMIN MUELLER-STALH as a Cardinal who may become the next Fisherman and STELLAN SKARSGARD as the head of the Vatican Police who trusts no-one including his employers - and you have enough diversions, red herrings and word-like genius to make the men who make up the British Government's balance of payments forecasts positively blush with envy. It's brilliant stuff - it really is - and every scene is filled with it.

The locations and sets are all ace too - the catacombs under the streets, the reproduced airtight Vatican Archives and the ornate rooms in sumptuous buildings - all of it helps the stunning look the movie has - and the BLU RAY picture (no pun intended) is immaculate throughout. The extras are extensive and add to the experience nicely (an impressive amount of effort was involved).

So there you have it. Whether or not you consider all organised religion to be a corrupting force or the very bedrock on which civilized society is based is not going to get talked about too much in "Angels & Demons" - it's far too busy trying to entertain you for all that stuff 'n nonsense... But you are more likely than you would think to get up out of your comfy chair, brush the crisps and curry off your faded Metallica teeshirt and say, "...that was damn good!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable nonsense, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
while this is a better film than the davinci code, this is still no classic. it's very faithful to the book,and the cast particularly tom hanks and ewan mc.gregor are very good and it is well made and enjoyable as long as you don't take any of it seriously. while angels and demons was the first of the robert langdon books, the davinci code was filmed first. you don't have to have read any of the books, just accept this for what it is. a dumb, trashy thriller. ron howard has certainly done a lot better than this, as the excellent and very classy frost/nixon proved. no doubt we'll get to see a film version of the lost symbol before long too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbiased, 17 May 2009
By 
If "The Da Vinci Code" was considered an unforgivable bore by many (not me) then at least it had the great Sir Ian Mckellen to inject a bit of fun into the proceedings, remembering Mckellen as well as Paul Bethany's brutal monk and the contribution of Alfred Molina, always a most welcome presence, the most derided and second most commercially successful film of 2006 actually had a few things going for it despite the many nay-Sayers. In stark contrast Ron Howard's latest crack at Dan Brown's material is quite dull, visually it's absolutely gorgeous with Roman landmarks illuminating Robert Langdon's latest scavenger hunt, this time in a desperate race against time to stop a vial of anti-matter wiping out the Vatican city. This particular vial was stolen by the Illuminati, an organisation seeking retribution for the savage persecution of great scientists who were brutally slain by the Vatican in order to suppress findings that were deemed potentially damaging to the Catholic Church. In addition to this ticking time bomb four cardinals, one of which is in line to replace the recently deceased pope, are kidnapped by the Illuminati who plan to execute each one on the hour from 8.00-11.00pm, branding each cardinal with an Illuminati symbol while carrying out the killings in almost John Doe like style in relation to the four natural elements wind, earth, fire and water, and to round it all off with a bang the vial of anti matter will go off at midnight taking Vatican city and a chunk of Rome with it.

Professor Robert Langdon, currently enjoying harmonious relationship with the Catholic Church after his discoveries surrounding Jesus Christ, is recruited to aid the Vatican in the pursuit of the four missing cardinals and the bomb threatening the city. Replacing Audrey Tautou as Hanks sidekick is a scientist played by Ayelet Zurer. She was a member of the research team responsible for the harvesting of the anti-matter. Despite her beauty this is no remarkable chemistry between her and Langdon and her role being a perfunctory exercise in exposition though she is required to deal with the bomb should they find it. Ewan McGregor plays the Camerlengo, who was adopted by the pope as a boy after bombings in Northern Ireland either left him an orphan or he was orphaned by his parents anyway, I'm not sure which though any characters back story is of little relevance here in a movie that very much lives in the now with 24 style time updates reminding us of the impending bomb threat. Which to be honest is all "Angels and Demons" really is, a race against time with Tom Hanks doing his Indiana Jones routine minus the hat, whip, pistol and sense of adventure, piecing together clues invariably scattered all about Rome and while his does do a good job of leading us though the city (a friend watching with me enjoyed spotting places he himself had visited) it does little in the way of getting pulses going which is what this type of film seems set out to do.

Advertised as a faster paced thrill ride through the Vatican this feels rather like a brisk stroll down the streets of a city that undoubtedly is beautiful to look at but unfortunately is occupied by characters and plot devices that only barely manage to come together well enough to feel any way plausible, let alone heart stopping. The mystery itself is fairly arbitrary, with sinister actors like Armin Mueller-Stahl and Stellan Skarsgard thrown in the mix (and promptly wasted) creating an Agatha Christie sense whodunit where everyone bar Langdon is a suspect in pulling the strings behind the attack, which seeing as "Angels and Demons" was written and set before "The Da Vinci Code", the movie changes this, is reasonably predictable in execution. While "Angels and Demons" is well directed and has good actors at its disposal it's ultimately too un-involving for me to seriously recommend, if you have read the book or liked the first film (join the six of us) then you're going to want too see it regardless, but if you're just looking for something enjoyable to pass two and a quarter hours maybe give this one a miss or rent it when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish in comparision to the book, 17 May 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Angels & Demons' is the prequel to The Da Vinci Code, written by Dan Brown. Tom Hanks returns to the role of Harvard University symbologist Robert Langdon and the story begins when he is called to the Vatican City to try and uncover the mysteries of the underground secret organisation called the Illuminati to find a highly dangerous substance known as anti-matter which is even more powerful than a nuclear bomb which they have planted somewhere in the city. Also four cardinals who are to be considered for the position as the new pope are missing.

I read the book of this a few years back and remember thoroughly enjoying it - even more than I enjoyed The Da Vinci Code, I believe - so I've been looking forward to seeing the movie version since it was announced last year. Well I saw it today and I must say it really should have just been kept in the literacy form as this was a pretty poor adaptation. This was for a few different reasons - it lacked some of the fast paced excitement and feel of urgency that The Da Vinci Code movie had; for viewers who have little or no interest in religion may find that it does go into a little too much depth on the matter quite frequently and does drag in some of the scenes where theories are being put forward and things are being explained; the Anti-matter element (although it did add suspense) was absolutely ridiculous; Ewan McGregor was so miscast it made his performance seem terrible - why they didn't have an actual Italian actor to play Camerlengo is stupid; and it was quite repetitive and missed out a lot of the plot from the book which made it so interesting to read.

This had the potential to be a classic thriller but because of the reasons I have stated above, it really fails at being anything but average and forgettable. I regret to say I won't be buying this when it's released on DVD later this year and am most likely not going to watch it again. If a movie version of the upcoming novel "The Lost Symbol" ever makes it to the screen, I hope Ron Howard does a much better job next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready to face your demons for all your sins!, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Tom Hanks is back as Robert Langon who is an expert symbologist. The Pope is dead and four of his Cardinals have been kidnapped by the Illuminati. Ewan McGregor plays a strange Camerlengo but is he a friend or foe. If you ejoyed The Da Vinci Code then you will also enjoy Angels And Demons. Tom Hanks seems more at home in his role this time and the story is faster paced with more action. Who is the most sinful the Illuminati or the church it's self? Angels And Demons tells us that no humen being is perfect or flawless because, after all many wars have been over different peoples religions and believes. Director Ron Howard has giving us a great film which should get mankind to look in the mirror and be a better person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A terrible story made all the worse by wooden acting, 29 Aug 2009
I've not read the book, but I'm guessing that the director had a tough job before he even started filming - the story of the Illuminati essentially trying to sabotage the Vatican to avenge mistreatment running back hundreds of years would, on the face of things, go completely against their rationalist and scientific mantra. Even more surprising is how these Illuminati, these rational 'Men of Science' would chose to plan to execute the four Cardinals at precise times in churches across Rome in the most primitive, long-winded and archaic means possible. Adhering to this sort of "I'm going to kill you, but in the most elaborate and protracted way" is fine for something light-hearted like Sean Connery as James Bond 007 in Goldfinger, but the trouble with Dan Brown is, he actually wants us to take him a little bit seriously. Did he not think that the Illuminati might be a bit more ad hoc, a bit more adaptable and progressive in their murdering techniques? Did he really think this methodical traditionalism makes adheres to their characterisation? Its symbolism by numbers.

Given this, Ron Howard was clearly on a sticky wicket just from that alone. But then we've got the casting of Hanks and McGregor, both of who look seem almost unable to contain their boredom and disinterest in the whole production. It really just looks like a case of everyone just turning up in order to collect their pay cheques.

Terrible story, terrible acting. This film just didn't need to be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long, Painful & Confusing, 9 Aug 2009
By 
HJ Bird "Hannah" (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Went to see this film at the cinema, & I can honestly say I'm not planning to buy on this DVD or ever see it again. Why, I have never the read the book but one friend who I went with to the cinema says that it deviates from the book but I'm sure you can expect that with films. Also I generaly found it very confusing, long & found myself wishing for it to be over. Couldn't keep up with it. Save your money & buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars String of ridiculous clues, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Fp Flack "Frediography" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film feels like it was written by a five year old. It seems to be a series of bitesize chunks that loosely connect to one another giving the feeling that you are involved in a wild goose chase.
If you are easily gripped and don't feel like you need to think at all to enjoy a film, then the small stories involved in this may keep you captivated, and the stupid twists involved that seem like they were written by the same writer as Next (Another ridiculously stupid and pointless film).
Don't waste your time on this long, drawn out, simpleton film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE!, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Y. Batson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cant believe I wasted my money on this film. As a HUGE fan of Dan Brown I was so excited to see this film, and I was SO disappointed. It is so rushed and misses out many of the important details that you can read in the book. Also parts of the plot line are actually changed and as a result makes the film so much worse. If I could give this film 0 Stars then I would. Don't waste your time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels and Demons (Extended Cut) [Blu-ray] [2009]
6.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews