Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch it on a plane
13 hr flight from Shanghai to Heathrow, I thought I'd choose Bruno from the menu of films to watch on my personal screen. Trouble is when it started there was plenty of Willies and "bottom action" and I was looking sideways at the elderly gentleman on my right to make sure he wasn't looking at my screen. It's not smomething you'd want to watch with your parents or any...
Published on 10 Nov. 2009 by R. Lovegrove

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe too heavy going for a fun movie.
I bought this movie after watching BORAT, I thought it would be a funny film and something to just kick back and enjoy, however I found that it was a little too much of a mild porn movie. The humour was there but it really was a borderline movie.perhaps if more had been left to the imagination it would have been great, but the naked body bits just killed it.
Published on 20 Dec. 2012 by Mr. D. Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch it on a plane, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
R. Lovegrove "hello_girl" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
13 hr flight from Shanghai to Heathrow, I thought I'd choose Bruno from the menu of films to watch on my personal screen. Trouble is when it started there was plenty of Willies and "bottom action" and I was looking sideways at the elderly gentleman on my right to make sure he wasn't looking at my screen. It's not smomething you'd want to watch with your parents or any elderly person.

However, it's hilarious. I tried so hard not to laugh out loud because I didn't want the old man to divert his attention to my screen. In the end I tried so hard not to laugh that I started making snorting noises and tears wre coming down my face. It is VERY funny and yes, in parts he does go a bit far with the "sausage jockey" antics. The bit where he asks the mother of an aspiring baby actor whether she would be able to reduce the baby's weight from 30kg to 20kg for the shoot. She agreed and then he asked whether she would be prepared for the baby to have lipo-suction if she had not achieved this weight loss "If that's what it takes, yes" She said. Unebelievable and that's why it's worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely totally cringeworthy as in " did he really say that " . But as a result hilarious. Not quite sure where he'll go after this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift I bought for someone and as far as I know the dvd works perfectly. I would say it's very crude and not for everyone though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch the film then again with the Commentary, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. G. T. Redshaw "wolfblass" (Borehamwood) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
I was told that this was over the top and although funny in places it was too gross.
With such a recommendation I had to see what was so bad/good about this.
First viewing I was surprised at what he could get passed the censors. The views expressed by the American public were outrageous.
Then I watched it with the commentary and it was even better, the automatic and unconscious homophonic reactions from the public is frighteningly real.
So many stand-out moments including the black baby talk show, the cage fight, the baby model interviews etc.
Some set pieces went too far, more rude and less funny than they should could have been, but hey the majority was fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as 'Borat' - BUT..., 27 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
This film has been out on DVD for a while now, so most of what's to say about it has already been said, but even so, I thought I'd share my comments.

I've had this DVD since it was first released, but didn't get around to watching it until last night, having been hesitant after hearing mixed reviews. But with nothing better to do last night, I stuck it on...

First off, I'll agree with the many that the film is nowhere near as good as the truly excellent 'Borat' before it. Of course, with 'Borat' we'd already seen just how far Baron Cohen was prepared to go and what to expect, but even so, if 'Bruno' had come before 'Borat', I still think that 'Borat' would be the far better of the two.

But that's not to say 'Bruno' is no good. As with the Beatles' lesser songs still being good songs, lesser Sacha Baron Cohen is still good Cohen.

One of my main problems was that I found it quite hard to actually warm to Bruno the character. For all of Borat's "eccentricities", he is for the most part a lovable character, whereas Bruno, I didn't totally care for.

There are some truly great moments, though for me - even though they clearly tried to be even more "extreme" - didn't quite match the giddying heights on 'Bruno'. At points, it almost felt as if they were trying too hard. And while there are some excellent moments of spontaneity with unwitting 'victims', much of 'Bruno' feels to be too staged for my liking. Somehow I was just expecting more from the whole thing.

Well, that's the bad out of the way, but there is good - as I say, some really good moments that will have you laughing out loud. I also like the overall structure of the story, and how it develops and wraps up at the end.
Some of the things they dared do are breathtaking - none more so than the whole terrorist segment (without giving too much away).

The DVD extras include alternative / extended / deleted scenes, some of which are better than others, and a commentary track, which I haven't listened to yet.

This film is certainly not for you are easily shocked. If you haven't seen 'Borat', I'd definitely recommend to buy that DVD first. But if you liked 'Borat' and want more, 'Bruno', while far from perfect, at least delivers some decent laughs. For all I've said against it, I still enjoyed it enough to give it a reasonable 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely vile (and absolutely brilliant!), 9 Dec. 2011
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
I like South Park. Some people don't. The reason I mention this is because people dismiss South Park as simple low-brow toilet humour. However, actually, it normally has a bit more to it than that, i.e. message (just wrapped up in toilet humour). And, in my opinion, this is what Bruno is.

It's vulgar, it's offensive and it's cringeworthingly bad. Therefore, by rights, everyone should hate it. Yes, it is all that, but what's it saying underneath? Basically, it shows the human reaction to situations the everyday person isn't used to - in this case an overtly gay man.

Sacha Baron Cohen pushes the boundaries to see what people will stand for. And the results make interesting viewing. Yes, some bits are scripted - if it wasn't, the `film' would be little more than a clip show. There's a loose narrative strung along about Bruno wanting to be the biggest star on the planet, but, personally, I just go along to see how the U.S. Army reacts when a blatantly gay man starts talking back at them. Worth the price of the cinema ticket alone.

Enjoy - if you dare (then watch Borat - it's pretty similar).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at me, look at my glasses!, 17 Mar. 2013
Its rude its crude but its really, really funny, its not for the faint hearted but its a must see if you like this kind of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe too heavy going for a fun movie., 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. D. Ryan "bigboss" (Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie after watching BORAT, I thought it would be a funny film and something to just kick back and enjoy, however I found that it was a little too much of a mild porn movie. The humour was there but it really was a borderline movie.perhaps if more had been left to the imagination it would have been great, but the naked body bits just killed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Warped Ride., 14 Nov. 2009
By 
Bruno is a disturbing but very funny movie, in your face and has a lot of eye-watering laughs. Sacha Baron Cohen plays the lead role, trying to become famous around the world and tries many things to get noticed though they fall flat or don't work out. It can be offensive to people who are easily outraged of what he gets up to and it's not for the weak hearted either, some of the jokes or humour won't appeal to everyone. But if you love this sort of comdey and have a strong stomach, this is a joy. It's well worth checking out for a hour and twenty minutes, Cohen's Bruno is a funny character and has inspired me to check out Borat to see what he gets up to in that movie. So if you did like his preivous movie before or just want to check out a gross out comdey, Bruno is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Borat without the Charm, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Bruno [DVD] (DVD)
The Bruno hype juggernaut is the most impressive thing about this film. Fantastic marketing job!

Bruno though is nowhere near as charming as Borat so even though it's the same old schtick the film doesn't work as well.

Toby Young wrote an excellent review in the Spectator pointing out that some of the targets of Bruno were not well chosen. Taking the mick out of a bunch of homophobic rednecks (in a wrestling scene)- fair enough, but in what way is a (black) studio audience who boo Bruno and his friends having sex in a jacuzzi where a (black) child is present a good target for satire?

There were some funny bits in the film - Sacha Baron Cohen is a brilliant comic (his acting out of oral sex for the gay conversion priest was particularly expressive). However, his comic format - the same for Ali G, Borat and now Bruno has worn itself out, hasn't it? It would be good to see him try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bruno [DVD]
Bruno [DVD] by Sacha Baron Cohen (DVD - 2009)
£1.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews