Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors edition
as the title states is a collector edition game
having age of empires 1 and 2 plus both expansion packs.
Very good game and plays with no problems on win 7 64 bit version.
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by Stavrakas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires Collector's edition
Having played AOE2 for years was interested to get this edition with the Ancient Civilisations extras. Bit disappointing as they were obviously devised before AOE2 and were therefore not nearly as sophisticated. It was good to play but a bit frustrating as many features were not available, the number of units is very restricted (50), as are opportunities for research and...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Historical Novel Fan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors edition, 7 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
as the title states is a collector edition game
having age of empires 1 and 2 plus both expansion packs.
Very good game and plays with no problems on win 7 64 bit version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back..., 2 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC)
Absolutely amazing to get both games & expansion packs included on one DVD... I was worried about compatibility with Windows Vista & 7 and although there is occasional problem with the colour scheme once the game is running (the grass sometimes has yellow dots, the sea sometimes has red patches/dots, and the graphics look a little less detailed than on an XP machine), it doesn't affect the menus or the gameplay in any way. I have enjoyed replaying all the campaigns and the multiplayer over LAN works as solidly as ever. Overall a great buy for the price and it has once again kept me entertained for many hours :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun, 11 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Overall, Age of empires is a really good game. AoE 2 is the second in the sequel, and grouping both of these games together in a collectors edition is a brilliant idea.

The games have all the original features of AoE, and you can easily spend countless nights playing out single player battles or campaigns. The multiplayer is good as well - playing humans offers a more challenging and unpredictable game.

The only problem with this game(reason why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5) is that there seem to be some serious graphics problems with the terrain and minimap, etc. The music also does not seem to work. The game was originally designed for older systems like windows xp when it was published ages ago, but still it should work with windows 7/vista no problem. I have managed to fix the graphics issue, but can't get the music to play.

Despite this, still great fun to play, brilliant game and very easy to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful package!, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Have always enjoyed this game, since it first came out, and having lost my original disc during several house moves, thought that I would invest in this.
So pleased that I have! Marvellous value, as there are actually loads more episodes than I originally owned!
It's great to get back into it again. The music and sound effects are ingrained in my mind now, and sadly, I do hum the soundtrack when out and about, which is slightly sadder than humming one's ringtone, I suppose.
Always loathed History at school, but this is a great way to enjoy it, with all the attributes of each different race. Just love it!
There aren't enough hours in the day to play Age of Empires and lead an ordinary life!
In the words of Tony Hill - "Passing for Human, except I don't always succeed."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but concerned, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
I am the type of game player who likes to play the old type of game as they prove to me more fun and interesting then today's game, you got C&C4 coming out no doubt more graphics galore and probably even more shortened game play experience but if you go back to the days when tiberiun sun and AOE was king there is no comparison, no overly hyped GUI and sprites, just a simple game with no fuss and you could play as long as you like and the difficulty rating is what you make it out to be. the good old days will remain within this collectors edition for the best of AOE had to offer.

the games themselves are based on different timelines when wooden weapons, metal weapons and shields were common place, from 5000 BC to 1600 AD in all four games.

what i am concerned with is the disk itself and to be honest when it starts up these strange noises come out of the drive with a steady stream of vibrations on load up, i am afraid to push the disk into read mode too much incase the disk shatters in my dvd drive it's just how much im concerned. it's specific to this disk only as none of the others have shown this before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires Collector's edition, 8 Feb 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Having played AOE2 for years was interested to get this edition with the Ancient Civilisations extras. Bit disappointing as they were obviously devised before AOE2 and were therefore not nearly as sophisticated. It was good to play but a bit frustrating as many features were not available, the number of units is very restricted (50), as are opportunities for research and range of weapons and there is less choice when it comes to scenarios. There is also no technology tree. If you're a fan of II and III I think you will find the two additional "expansions" very primitive. Had no problem installing on Windows 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars age of empires:collectors edition, 19 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Bought this after playing Age of Empires a long time ago.
Enjoyed replaying aoe1 but really enjoyed playing aoe2 which I found very challenging.
This is more of a stragegy game than out and out fighting the trick being when to attack early or build strong defences first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legendary games, nice price., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
The games are fantastic and I could praise them all day, but considering this is such an old game it was more about this specific edition. It's good, contains all the games on one dvd.

There are a few problems, but these are mostly because of the games: you may (more than likely) have colour issues with these games on Windows 7. There are some ways to fix this, and google is your friend, generally, but these only applied to Age of Empires II in my case. The other one is the music, unfortunately it does not play in the background with Age of Empires II (AoE1 seems to work fine), because of the way it used to play the music streaming from the disc being outdated.

To fix this and the colour issues in one step, I suggest everyone downloads the Forgotten Empires fan expansion to Age of Empires II: The Conquerors. It will both improve the games resolution and fix the Windows 7 colour problems. You can also use a playlist function in the Forgotten Empires, which allows you to make a .m3u playlist and that will stream the music during play! I highly recommend doing this, you can find the latest installer at:[...]
So for unfortunately not fixing the colour/music issues for me, I'll give this edition a 4/5, because it does include a compilation soundtrack with 20 of the tracks from the games (not all of them), which can help when you make your playlist, and is a pretty nice extra.

Glad I finally got another copy of these games! I never actually owned Age of Empires I, but I lost my Age of Kings/Conquerors discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving old game memories., 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
Had Age of Empires when it first came out, and had recently rediscovered it. Unfortunately the disc exploded in the drive, luckily there are these reissues and now I've got Age of Empires again, plus Rise to Rome expansion and Age of Empires 2 plus expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent old PC games, amazing value, 6 Jan 2013
By 
John Read (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires -Collectors Edition (DVD-ROM)
I played this for hundreds of hours in the late nineties when Age of Empires 1 came out. I also played AoE2 lots as well. Both are very good games and even now after all this time both are enjoyable to play. Works fine on Windows 7 64 bit. Very good value to have AoE1 & 2 and their expansions for so little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires -Collectors Edition
Age of Empires -Collectors Edition by Ubisoft (Windows XP)
£4.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews