Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex Drive leaves other coming-of-age comedies eating its dust
Sex Drive has been compared to 'Super-Bad' and that's a bit of a disservice if you ask me, as I didn't think 'Super-Bad' was very good. It was OK, but this film is excellent. It's really funny, and where as 'Super Bad' dragged on a bit, you didn't want Sex Drive to end.

The writing was sharp, the story was original (In the events that happen on the journey...
Published on 18 Aug. 2010 by The Truth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not what it says on the tin!
when i was told about this product i was told it was absolutley hilarious, and i did not think so. bits where funny but not half as much as you expect from the case, adverts and word of mouth. its worth a watch but i would recommend ypu spend your last tenner on it because its not that awesome.
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by Miss V. C. Larkin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex Drive leaves other coming-of-age comedies eating its dust, 18 Aug. 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sex Drive has been compared to 'Super-Bad' and that's a bit of a disservice if you ask me, as I didn't think 'Super-Bad' was very good. It was OK, but this film is excellent. It's really funny, and where as 'Super Bad' dragged on a bit, you didn't want Sex Drive to end.

The writing was sharp, the story was original (In the events that happen on the journey rather than the idea of a 'road trip') and the whole film was done in a very cool way - even the credits looked good and a short piece warning you not to watch the extended version before you watch the original was a masterpiece in itself too. The film also featured some amazing characters, characters able to rival 'American Pies' Stiffler (although of course it did have it's own version of The Stiffmeister - the main characters' brother), and it also had a very funny cameo from Seth Green, who put on a great performance as the most sarcastic Amish man you've ever met.

The story is fairly straight foward: our hero is a Virgin. He needs to pop his cherry and so steels his brothers prize possession (his Ford GTO) while he's away for the weekend, and takes it on a road trip with 2 of his pals to go a meet a hottie he's been talking to on-line. The story as I said is very straight forward and nothing original, but what I found with this film was the script, the humour, the acting, the predicaments they all wind up in, and the jokes, were all a lot sharper and fresher than similar movies - you got the impression a lot of time had been spent crafting this film to get the story and script right before they started shooting.

If there's one bad point - it had a very low boob count (hey, this review has to cater for the teenage market as well), but the ruder, cruder, nuder version promises to address that issue. I haven't got round to watching that yet, but I have watched the original twice - once on my own and once with a mate who enjoyed it equally as much.

Sex Drive is a cut above other American-teen-coming-of-age comedies and it'll be staying in my Blu Ray pile, and being pulled out to watch again and again, for a very long time. I'd give it 9 out of 10... I'd maybe even give it 10 out of 10, but feel full marks should be reserved for more 'serious' films. But hang on - this is a serious film. It's seriously funny, so lets compromise and give it a 9.5

UPDATE:
Hi there boob-lovers. Good News!!! Having just watched the Ruder, Cruder, Nuder extended edition of this film, I can safely say that the low boob count is addressed. And not very subtly either. Still - who want's subtlety if you want boobs. I think the Blu Ray is right, watch the original version first DO NOT WATCH THE EXTENDED CUT FIRST. The original theatrical version is definitely the best version - proving once again that the team behind this film got everything right. However, that said, once you've seen the original a couple of time, the extended cut does offer a new experience for you when you watch it again... boob-filled one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest drive since the last one, 8 May 2009
By 
Coles Law (Beyond Thunderdome) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Never heard of this before, but caught it on a transatlantic flight and cracked up all the way through it, much to the dismay of the stewardesses and the bloke behind me.

It's basically a rehash of the old road trip movie, American Pie crossed with Road Trip to be fair, and although a lot of it is gags that I'm sure have been seen before, they're spit-balled at you so frequently and with such little remorse for plagiarism that the ones that don't stick to you, trip you up as you're trying to get away.

In-a-nutshell, young virgin meets girl online, borrows brothers car to go to see her, joined by his lothario mate and girl buddy that he fancies, they get caught up in all sorts of mayhem along the way, a'la Road Trip.
During their ride they come across all manner of bizarre characters, brash brothers, hot women, nutcases, Amish etc, a'la American Pie.
Seth Green sticks a cameo in here and is hilarious, the funniest Amish since Randy Quaid in Kingpin, meanwhile most of the one liners goes to his bully brother who reminds me of Bill Paxton as the equally bully-like brother in Weird Science from the 80's.
It's one of those no brainers that has upped the ante from the last of it's genre from the year before, which I'm sure will be trumped this time next year by it's sequel, but until then, get it for a night in with your mates and beer and popcorn whilst seeing who can recall the most put downs in a friendly `quote-off'
You'd get five points for this Drive...this version has extras galore so may be worth the extra 4quid if you like that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like American Pie & Superbad, you'll love this!, 8 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Best Comedy since Superbad. Its in the same ball park as American Pie with a twist. James Maresden and Clark Duke are brilliant. Seth Green's presence, although not a lead role, confirms the film as a classic in the making! The DVD will not disappoint either by the looks of it...double disc with loads of unseen stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!!, 8 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review will focus on the blu-ray "Sex Drive: Full Throttle Edition" and not on the film as you can find numerous film reviews elsewhere.

This blu ray edition of the movie Sex Drive is top notch besides the unskippable trailers at the start before the menu. This blu-ray is region free as i was able to play it on my region A ps3.

Be advised when you watch this movie, watch the rated edition first, then the unrated edition if u want to see the deleted scenes and unnecessary nudity.

The picture quality is excellent (definitely blu ray quality). I can't really critique the sound as i don't have a good sound setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Properly made me laugh!, 16 April 2010
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I caught this film last night on one of the movie channels, I'd never heard of it before but thought I would give it a quick half hour to see if it was any good.

Well I was laughing out loud within about 10 minutes, and I kept on laughing right to the end!
It does have some seriously funny scenes - which I won't spoil for you by writing them here!

Yes it's been done before - there's nothing new here, but it is funny and if you do like childish humour then this is comedy for you.

But don't think it's trying to convey any serious message or trying to be different, just switch your brain off and enjoy the ride!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "That doughnut ain't foolin' around!", 28 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Every once in a while, you get a so-so looking film that, somehow, turns out to be one of the best things you've seen all year. Before long, friends and co-workers are borrowing it; quotes fly across the staff room. Granted, it's the usual sex-comedy fare: too-nice-for-his-own good guy tries to break his duck, lady-killer mate and 'gal-pal' tag along, wackiness ensues. So far, so Animal House.

But it's the characters that give the film heart, and none more so than Ian and Felicia. The film handles their relationship with tender care, and just as well - without them to supply the emotional core, the film would have been as awful and hollow as Superbad. By the time you hear Vega4's 'Life is Beautiful' playing near the end, you feel like punching the air. It's been a long time since any film made me care more about its characters' love lives. Sex Drive (based on the novel All the Way) isn't a 'message film'. But you can't help but notice the way the film hangs on the difference between love and lust, and which one wins out. (Am I the only bloke who found Felicia more attractive than Ms. Tastee?)

Perhaps there'll always be people happy to rant and rave ("Such filth...broken Britain...!' etc. etc.) about films like this. You can only shake your head at what they're missing out on. This is a true under-rated gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Gem, 27 April 2015
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Sex Drive is one of the funnier teen sex-comedies that I've seen. The jokes are fresh, and don't rely entirely on gross-out humour. I thought all the actors and actresses did a great job, with Clark Duke & seth green being especially funny.

The title is pretty much the plot. An awkward virgin goes on a road-trip with his womaniser best friend and his best female friend (who he has a crush on), in order to meet and have sex with a girl he's been chatting with on the internet. Lessons are learned, hearts are changed, hilarity ensues...it's all be seen before, but it's still hilarious.you should definitely check this one out. You're guaranteed to laugh. A lot.9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O.K comedy road trip film, 11 July 2011
By 
Sci-Fi-Dan (Norfolk , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the better films of this genre of late (though american pie films are still better), but if you like these sort of films you`ll like this probably as this film has it`s comical moments with the doughnut, and the stiffler like character is quite good but you`ll never beat the orignal aka seann william scott.
The film overall is a good watch although yet another comedy road trip, and doesn`t quite hit the funny bone hence 4 stars, but unlike others this film has it`s better moments of comedy along the way which keeps the story interesting and the characters are well cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the open-minded and fans of a well constructed comedy with the lovely Amanda Crew!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was a fan of the film which went on release - unfortunately, it didn't get the wide distribution in Germany where I saw it first, which it deserved. The DVD version is just as funny as the uncut version, but there is more nudity. This is randomly displayed without changing the original story and doesn't involve the characters/actors personally. Some of the actors' spontaneous remarks are left in which is amusing. I can recommend the DVD, but as the directors say at the introduction, the original should be seen first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comedy, 7 May 2009
By 
Mr. T. Evans "Tombo The Great" (Worthing, near brighton, in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My goodness, this is so so much better then 'My Best Friend's Girl'. I didn't think i could get over the sheer horror of 'My Best Friend's Girl', and thought i might be put of teen comedies for life. Until i saw this gem.
A brilliant script, funny characters, jokes, appropriate acting and light hearted directing make a superb comedy to watch with your girlfriend/boyfriend.
I enjoyed it, and hope you will too...

5 out of 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Drive [DVD] [2008]
Sex Drive [DVD] [2008] by Sean Anders (DVD - 2009)
£2.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews