Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but much better than the negative hype.
The first thing to say about T-4 is that, for good or bad, it breaks the straightforward Terminator mould in which a target is hunted by a Terminator and protected by a guardian from beginning to end. Varied elements of this remain but that absolute pattern which remained unchanged from T-1 to T-3 is gone, and that might disappoint a lot of fans. I found the change...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Mr. Blu

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excuse for another sequel...
I wanted to like this film and there are aspects of it which I did like, such as the action sequences and various mechanical additions to the Terminator armoury. All look great, and the effects are generally up to usual Hollywood standard. The problem here, is that this looks more like a Mad Max movie, with Terminator elements. Terminator 3 failed to hit the mark, due...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by J. Field


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A loyal presentation of Terminator lore, 6 Jan 2010
By 
C. Kocu "Blow Dog" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anything starring Christian Bale is A-ok in my books, even before I've seen it. American Psycho is one of my all time favourite movies and I cannot help but gravitate towards all his works.

T:S is awesome. It's the post-apocalyptic, doom-mongering, sci-fi, chase movie of the year. McG has done a fantastic job of injecting the `contemporary' terminator models with the same level of malevolence and fear that we remembered from the original Terminator movie. Bale rocks as Connor, the young Kyle Reece is goddamn awesome and somehow has exactly the same voice tone/dialect that Michael Bhein had so many years ago.

It's a clever action flick, combining all elements of Terminator lore into a non-stop hardcore metal to metal mash-em-up that had me wooing and cooing at each and every adrenaline filled scene. The SFX is unquestionably amongst the best I've ever seen, including Transformers 2.

There's also one scene that practically made me poop and wee my pants - it's so utterly cool but to disclose it now would class as a massive movie spoiler, so please, go and see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator Salvation, 24 May 2011
By 
Nuno Miguel Da Graca (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read some reviews slating this movie but I guess you cant please everyone all of the time. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I think it definitely adds to the franchise. The special effects are spectacular and the cast is pretty convincing in their respective rolls. It's a far more serious movie than the previous ones in the franchise so don't expect any witty one liners or funny scenes. It's a pretty dark, bleak look at the future world but that's to be expected, after all, it's post apocalyptic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, i was a little dubious at first ..., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
great film , i was a little dubious at first about this film being that it is in the same series of films as the first 3 but without Arnold playing the main role , i thought it would fail but im happy to say that it's just as good as the former 3 , the terminators are just as nasty and in some cases worse than the earlier films and Christian Bale is great as John Connor , if you like Terminator films and you have'nt seen this one than you need too ,it's a great addition to the series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terminator Salvation!, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is without doubt up there with the best of the Terminator films and relates to the part of the story most fans have been waiting for 'Judgment Day' and the battle between robots and men, centering around John Connor, in this case Christian Bale.

As the leader of the resistance Connor is fighting a guerilla war against the terminators who have killed most of the population, captured others and are busy working on the destruction of humanity.

Into the mix comes Sam Worthington a man with his own battles to fight and struggling to discover his identity after losing his long term memory and joining the resistance.

The film has some excellent special effects, the story is good and so is the acting. Connor could have been made more 'human' but he gets away with it. Theres even a brief performance by a familiar Terminator! Well worth watching and watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator salvation, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Was dubious about a forth one, Did love the original 1 & 2 but not impressed with 3, so was unsure how they would pan out a forth. Very pleased with the results, ok so digitally enhanced arnie but thats ok, the story itself sells it. This is based on the future and edward furlong no longer a boy and c bale is the man that is now john conner. Def Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable action flick, but APPALLING editing, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is standard fare. Good action, reasonable acting. Would be fine except for one thing...

I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH AN APPALLINGLY EDITED FILM.

I guess it's something you never even notice. But boy you notice the editing in this film. My cat could have done a better job. I don't usually bother with 'fan edits' but this film is so bad I can't wait until we get some different versions that are properly edited by 'amateurs'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good movie without schwarznegger, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Arun (Rhyl, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I thought it was very good, there could have been a bit more fighting with the robots and new robots, maybe make it a bit longer, but overall a good Terminator 4 although it is getting a bit like the Resident Evil movies just keeps going, but at least RE has Milla Jojovich in all the sequels. Arguably drifts away from Schwarznegger style Terminator, pretty much the whole point of the first two/three movies, so basically see this as a totally separate movie, and with that in mind it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ......" win or lose, this war ends tonight! "......, 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Terminator: Salvation (otherwise known as Terminator 4) is the next chapter in the saga and revolves around a major holocaust on humanity inflicted by Sky-net. John Connor (played by Christian Bale) leads a human army against the machines, in order to stop them from eliminating the small pockets of human resistance.

Christian Bale is not convincing as John Connor and this is a real shame, but Sam Worthington excels in his moody performance as Marcus Right. The underlying issues e.g. human value and struggle can only help to increase its appeal, and these issues are inherently there and touched on throughout. However, the film should come with a health warning as it is highly stylised and the action can be dizzying due to the constant panning. It is unrealistic in parts and even though Arnold Schwarzenegger is not in the movie per say, there is an interesting surprise in store!

This is an alternative approach to the normal Terminator movies and a simpler storyline has been adopted. Character development is not a major area of concern for McG, but as far as the action goes; there is always something going on. Many viewers will have expected something bigger and grander but Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines has already made us accustomed to mediocrity. Its not worthy of being mentioned with the first two movies but then again, compared to Terminator 3 it is a vast improvement.

McG directs with style over substance and Terminator Salvation is not a film that takes itself too seriously. However McG does deserves credit for creating a truly apocalyptic atmosphere and for the ever present testosterone charged action. As an action film it is as good as any other that has been released in this day and age, but made slighter better or rather slightly more interesting by the fact that its part of a jigsaw piece from a major Hollywood franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why dont people like this film???, 29 Dec 2009
By 
V. Vlasyuk (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this new Terminator. I just dont understand why people did not like this film? Its got a great storyline, fantastic action, great actors who must have thought the script was good and the director has done a superb job on carrying on the Terminator franchise and explaining things further. Being such a massive fun of the first film I felt like Terminator Salvation was going back to its roots to project the horror and the terrific action from the first two films (I wont mention the third). Hope there will be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would rather watch the Salvation Army, 11 Jun 2009
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I could watch the original Terminator film many times and never grow tired of it, because at the time - 25 years ago - and well beyond that it was refreshingly new in concept, the special effects were fantastic and it offered a great mixture of drama, horror and science fiction in the one package. That Arnie couldn't act didn't matter; he was perfect as the relentlessly committed cyborg. A retrospective nod too for Michael Biehn as Kyle Reese, he who not only travelled back in time from 2029 to stop the terminator but happened to father a child too - the one who would become the enigmatic John Connor, nemesis of terminator-makers Skynet and general saviour of the future of mankind. It was silly but it worked.

In SALVATION, which takes place in post-apocalyptic 2018, no time travel takes place and Christian Bale plays a slightly more youthful John Connor whose mission is to find Kyle Reese and send him back in time to become Connor's father. Hmm. I could just about grab the idea, that this is kind of a prequel to the later year when Reese was actually sent back, but the notion that Connor's failure to find Reese wouldn't leave my consciousness; after all, if he didn't find him, then surely Connor wouldn't exist, so although it hasn't happened yet, it must do! Perhaps that's my logical mind working too hard to deconstruct the fantasy, but it does seem even more absurd than ever. On the other hand it does add weight to those who hold the belief that there is no such thing as a past and a future, that all times are in parallel with each other, that the future is just as much history as what has gone before.

But I digress. Before tracking Reese down, Connor comes across the human-cyborg hybrid Marcus, who at times looks vaguely like the love-child of Arnie and - well, another cyborg - and who offers Connor the way into Skynet where Reese can be found. Connor must decide whether Marcus has been sent from the future, or rescued from the past. As Skynet prepares its final onslaught, Connor and Marcus embark on an odyssey that takes them into the heart of Skynet's operations, where they uncover the terrible secret behind the possible annihilation of mankind. Faithful to Reese's prophecy in T1, the humans created machines which have evolved in such a way that they plan to destroy their makers.

This is awful, a very poor and sorry distant relative to the original with which it will inevitably be compared. Except there is no comparison - at least in T1 there was humanity in abundance, with everyone except the cyborg being vulnerable and with lives that we can relate to. As the franchise has developed (for want of a better word), that vital element of humanity has diminished and in this, the fourth offering, the machines have pretty much taken over completely. As a result it's difficult to care for anybody or anything, and for me that's a necessary emotion in film-making, that you care if somebody dies or not, or gets hurt or not. The overall impression is that not only will the machines have taken over the world in the future, but they've taken over Hollywood today. Christian Bale doesn't generate any charisma worthy of note, he just seems grumpy from start to finish and as with so many of his other films (such as Dark Knight, 3:10 to Yuma) he's given top billing but he's upstaged by someone else. If anything, he's best known for his tirade captured on Youtube in which he loses his temper with one of the camera crew. In the film, the cameras perform better than Bale.

The fundamental flaw is that we are made to believe that humans are good and machines are bad, but of course it was the humans who designed the machines in the first place so any evil created was of the human's own making. Again, that's logic obstructing fantasy but as with the brain-twisting philosophies of time travel I found it difficult to ignore. The film is also like a manufactured product in that it is devoid of heart, blood and soul. All it does is make a great deal of noise, making it perhaps the noisiest film ever made. Maybe it will appeal to a younger audience now that it no longer carries an R/18 rating, but for now all I can conclude is that those who enjoy it will be twelve years old and have no experience or even knowledge of the immeasurably superior original. Apparently this is the first of a second trilogy, but in my considered judgement this series should be terminated here and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminator Salvation [DVD] [2009]
2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews