Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A diamond.........from Croydon ? Surely they mean Chicago ?
If you like proper blues based rock and roll, then this is the real stuff. Clapton on fire, the whole band obviously enjoying every minute of it, the audience in heaven - and the Croydon compere right out of his depth.
I have owned this for 34 years - and it sounds just as good every time I play it. Its also guaranteed to drive any teenager out of the room with...
Published on 15 Feb. 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As The Title Would Have You Believe
Perhaps a little ironically, there is a gap in Clapton's recent "Complete Clapton" album; a gap which covers the period at which he was playing on Delaney and Bonnie's "On Tour With Eric Clapton". Clapton had toured with Delaney and Bonnie with his band Blind Faith, but finding himself at a loose end after they split up, he opted to join them again to keep...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Iain R. Wear


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A diamond.........from Croydon ? Surely they mean Chicago ?, 15 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
If you like proper blues based rock and roll, then this is the real stuff. Clapton on fire, the whole band obviously enjoying every minute of it, the audience in heaven - and the Croydon compere right out of his depth.
I have owned this for 34 years - and it sounds just as good every time I play it. Its also guaranteed to drive any teenager out of the room with embarrassment at watching the elderly enjoying themselves......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As The Title Would Have You Believe, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps a little ironically, there is a gap in Clapton's recent "Complete Clapton" album; a gap which covers the period at which he was playing on Delaney and Bonnie's "On Tour With Eric Clapton". Clapton had toured with Delaney and Bonnie with his band Blind Faith, but finding himself at a loose end after they split up, he opted to join them again to keep his hand in. He must have enjoyed the experience, as he later took some of the band he played with here and recorded with them as Derek and the Dominos; a band to whom the original version of the Clapton classic "Layla" was credited.

The title of the album was an obvious attempt by Delaney and Bonnie to cash in on the fame of their new found friend, as even by as early as 1970 Eric Clapton was becoming an internationally known guitarist. By comparison, Delaney and Bonnie had already been dropped by two record labels. Whilst they were getting known in the music business, having come to the attention of both Eric Clapton and George Harrison, sales success had not followed. Add Clapton's name, however, and that success was to follow, giving Delaney and Bonnie their first Top 30 album. The legacy was not to be long lasting, however, as Delaney and Bonnie had gone their separate ways three years after the album was released and Clapton is still going strong nearly thirty years later.

Musically, there isn't really anything wrong with the album, but that seems to be its downfall. There are some really good songs here, but they lose their edge by being so technically perfect. Rock 'n' roll was about having fun and soul and blues was about feeling what you were playing and I never really get that from this band; they seem to be playing the songs, rather than performing them.

As a fan of the Southern Blues and soul styles that are prevalent here, I did enjoy the album, but never really shook the feeling that it could have been a lot better, strangely enough, by being a lot worse. If you like Southern Blues, you'd be far better off picking up an album by the likes of Lynyrd Skynyrd, who do it an awful lot better and if you're an Eric Clapton fan, his own work from around this time is either available on his greatest hits collection, or try looking out for Derek and the Dominos "Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs", which has many of the same performers as this album, but with material more suited to their talents.

There are a couple of further downsides to this rather lacklustre album. Partly due to the age of the album and partly due to the fact that it was recorded live, the sound quality isn't the best. Admittedly, by music system isn't the best, but the album sounds a bit tinny and fairly quite in comparison to more modern releases and there are some parts where the mix doesn't seem quite right; the guitars are noticeably quiet on the first track and the bass often seems to be a little overpowering.

There may be some wonderful musicians on show here, but they just don't seem to give their all and the end result is less than the sum of its parts would suggest; it's technically perfect, but it's not a great album.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric gets away from it all!!!!!!, 18 Aug. 2005
Want to get away from the frenetic "Eric is God" entrapment????? Then join Delaney & Bonnies backing band, which is what Clapton did in this Southern Rock/Soul good time rocking band. This really has stood the test of time really well and considering the time it was recorded (1971 I think) its really unindulgent.Delaney Bramlett was an old friend of Duanne Allman so I think thats how they wee aquainted through Derek & the Dominoes. Great to listen to in the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Jewel, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Elad Eizenstein (netanya, israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Clapton at his best here being part of this great performance with the group that's going to record his best record as derek and and the dominos. later they will also record George Harrison's "All Things Must Pass", both masterpieces! this album is great, has good songs, beatiful harmonies and the band sounds great together.
Highly Recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 27 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually didn't know that much about Bonnie and Delaney, and bought this on spec. Its live, which always adds something for me, and a fine session of rockalong stuff. Just the thing to have blasting away and annoying the teenagers when you're tooling around in your convertible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw a video of Delaney and Bonnie on YouTube. Looked for an album saw this.
Its a really cool collection of songs at a nice price.
Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this cd to replace my original cassette tape of this RAH concert which I have had since way back then, A great cd although the tracks are in a different order than the tape Some of todays acts should take a lesson from this session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey Eric... waddya do with my band dude!, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eric Clapton blagged the core of this band (Whitlock, Radle, Gordon) for Layla and who could blame him?
This is still a fantastic live rock n roll album after all those years.
I've been listening to this off and on for 40 odd years and occasionally it still sneaks up and wows me.
Unlike his later, contrived and trite bollocks, the guitar solo on 'I Don't Want To Discuss It' (to name but one) is a work of extraordinary power and precision - probably brought on by the fact that he was up against some stiff competition on stage (George Harrison, Dave Mason et al).
You ain't a Clapton fan until you've done your air guitar to this one.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars piece of history!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a recording of D & B friends wish it could be done with modern recording methods That said it captures the spirit of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clapton masterclass, 17 Jun. 2012
This album has had very mixed reviews and I'm someone who bought it on the strength of Eric Clapton's involvement, rather than for Delaney & Bonnie. Although in my collection for many years, there are only a couple of tracks I play much (3 & 4). Proceedings start promisingly enough with "Things Get Better", then take a dip with a Robert Johnson tribute before picking up with "Only You Know And I Know", which has real pace and serves as a warm-up for EC's tour-de-force, "I Don't Want To Discuss It". Here he delivers a masterclass in how to build tension and excitement using (relatively) simple licks. It's an atypical solo for Eric and is absolutely brilliant - think 'Chuck Berry on speed' and you won't be far off! You can really sense (and also hear at the end) the band's appreciation of his playing. So ended the old LP side 1 and for me, that would have been enough, apart from "Coming Home" on the old side 2. If, unlike me, you have managed to master all that MP3 malarky, I'd definitely recommend downloading (perhaps even shed-loading) "I Don't Want To Discuss It". You'll be in for a real treat! I've given this album 5 stars for that one track, the solo is so superb - an overlooked live classic that could almost rank alongside Cream's classic live version of "Crossroads" for its jaw dropping impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Tour With Eric Clapton [12" VINYL]
On Tour With Eric Clapton [12" VINYL] by Eric Clapton (Vinyl - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews