Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dan the unsung genius comes to light!
before bying this record, id never even heard of daniel johnston, i bought it purely through reading about this compilation that was being put together by some of my favorite groups such as eels, sparklehorse and the starlight mints, to highlight the career of a forgotten songwriter.
the covers cd is pretty good with some good takes of daniels songs, however the real...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by Mr. M. A. Estevens

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered For A Reason
Ok. If lo-fi uber-quirky music is your bag, then you will probably love the disc of originals here. If, however, you like your music to actually be musical, then steer clear of the originals disc. It is the musical equivalent of going into a modern art exhibition and looking at a bunch of stick figures that some bloke's three year old kid drew. You look and you think...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by T. Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dan the unsung genius comes to light!, 16 Oct 2004
By 
before bying this record, id never even heard of daniel johnston, i bought it purely through reading about this compilation that was being put together by some of my favorite groups such as eels, sparklehorse and the starlight mints, to highlight the career of a forgotten songwriter.
the covers cd is pretty good with some good takes of daniels songs, however the real gem here is the cd of his originals.. all i can say is pure class in lo-fi, the songs are full of honesty, comedy, tragedy and life, all weaved into daniels sureal imaginative world. favorites for me are dont let the sun go down on your grevience, walking the cow and story of an artist....
if your looking for some inspiration and originality, dont pass this one buy , for me its in a class of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Procedes from this album go to buy Daniel a house, 1 Feb 2005
By 
D. Brockis "dave6566" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A couple of weeks ago I knew nothing about Daniel Johnston, but fortunately I caught a track from the Discovered Covered album on the radio. Seems I've been missing over 20 years worth of great song writing.
Daniel Johnston is still around (despite the "late" in the title) and making music and art. His style is a mixture of country, blues, rock and brutal honesty. Many of the original songs were recorded at home on a cheap cassette player. I've heard better sound quality from tracks made in the 1930's, but that's part of the joy of this album. It's the song that's important. They are by turn beautiful, ugly and disturbing: Daniel hasn't always been well and this comes through in his work.
You also get an disc of cover version by some famous people. I'll probably get round to listening to that eventually.
I've read that if this album sells enough, Daniel will get to buy his own house for the first time in his life. Think of that as you press the Add To Shoping Basket button. Go on, do yourself and Daniel a favour - buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 18 Mar 2012
A great CD I thought that the cover versions might be better, but the pure emotion and honesty from Daniel was much better, service and delivery was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good covers, excellent original material, 14 Sep 2009
By 
R. Skov "2015" (DK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The covers are mostly of a high quality, occasionally superseding the originals, which are however mostly in a league of their own. The collection of songs is a great introduction to the man. And a great idea to include both covers and originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 19 Nov 2013
I bought this for my boyfriends birthday and was delighted that it came promptly and my boyfriend loved it!! I've even had a sneaky listen and I liked it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cover CD is great too showing how good his songs are by could ..., 23 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. AJ Harrison "Bundi School" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An alternative legend. Couldn't sing and couldn't play guitar but lyrics and songs that coax the angels from heaven. The cover CD is great too showing how good his songs are by could we say 'accomplished' musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered For A Reason, 7 Jan 2007
By 
T. Watson "tobyjwatson" (Saltburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok. If lo-fi uber-quirky music is your bag, then you will probably love the disc of originals here. If, however, you like your music to actually be musical, then steer clear of the originals disc. It is the musical equivalent of going into a modern art exhibition and looking at a bunch of stick figures that some bloke's three year old kid drew. You look and you think "They put THAT crap on the wall? Am I missing something here?" And so you try and work out what the hell the redeeming feature of this "art" is.

Daniel's lyrics can be amusing, clever and touching. Daniel's delivery swings from terrible to abysmal. It hurt my ears at times.

HOWEVER!! The covers are a wholly different kettle of fish. Probably why the covering artists have been discovered and your man Daniel is languishing in obscurity-ville USA. I heard Beck's cover of True Love Will Find You In The End and hunted the disc down on the back of that. It is a great little track, as are several other of the covered songs (Gordon Gano, The Eels and The Rabbit to name a few).

So if you are looking for a couple of rarities from a few of your fave artists, then this is a cool little disc. If you are looking to "discover" a cutting edge artist, do so at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews