Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warmth & energy on a CD
This CD captures Masekela's live performance brilliantly. It has the intimacy of his gigs at Ronnie Scotts in recent years.
The opening Abangoma sets the pace with harmonious vocals and horns being driven by drums that just make you want to move. Stimela is a perfect moving climax, sung with real emotion that could only work on a live recording when he has an...
Published on 16 Sept. 2002 by D. Coulcher

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hope - Hugh Masekela
This CD album arrived at the same time as the other CD order ie Donny Hathaway-Collection, it looks "new" as the usual plastic wrapping is still there, however, after I remove the wrapping, I realised the CD case was broken, the CD was not held in the usual position. Luckily the CD was not scratched and the performance was not affected. I have to find a CD case...
Published 20 months ago by Mr A Woo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warmth & energy on a CD, 16 Sept. 2002
By 
D. Coulcher (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
This CD captures Masekela's live performance brilliantly. It has the intimacy of his gigs at Ronnie Scotts in recent years.
The opening Abangoma sets the pace with harmonious vocals and horns being driven by drums that just make you want to move. Stimela is a perfect moving climax, sung with real emotion that could only work on a live recording when he has an audience to tell the tale to.
A gem of a CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope Hugh Masekela, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
This is my first recording of Hugh masekela and it certainly won't be my last I first heard it at a friends on vynal I bought the cd on the strength of it.
The quality although not just as good but then it wouldn't be it was very good and a very pleasurable listen so i most certainly will be buying more.Shipping was reasonably ptompt and well protected.
Philips 522
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw droppingly good., 8 Jun. 2011
By 
N. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
This CD is a gem PLUS.

The version of Stimela on this CD is THE MUST HAVE version.

Everybody who hears it for the first time reaches for pen and paper to write down the name and details where to buy. Clearly his finest work and one of the best recorded songs I have EVER heard.

Choo-Choooooo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff!, 30 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
This is Hugh at his best. It is wonderful laid back jazz, but so accessible. It feels like such natural improvisation. Frankly I love all of his CDs, but this is possibly the one to own if you could only have one, especially as the recording of the classic track Stimela is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is Hope for SACD, 17 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Hope (Hybr) (Audio CD)
I purchased this SACD after seeing Hugh live at the Usher Hall. The one thing about Hugh is after 71 years he knows how to entertain. This performance is a gem. The recording is clear as could be on my top end system and there is a live sense to this recording. If I close my eyes I am there at the concert again.

I can highly recommend Hope to anybody who likes good music. Just turn it up for Stimela ( Coal Train) WOOT Woo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all about STIMELA!, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
N. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope (Hybr) (Audio CD)
This track heard on an audiophile system is a must have. That track which lasts for 10 mins blew me away. Stimela is more than a song, its an expereince. This live version is the one to have. On the best of CDs it is just good, here it is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 20 April 2014
By 
Mr. I. Ringstead "Happy Chappy" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope (Hybr) (Audio CD)
Heard this album at a hi-fi show and had to get it.Superb recording and a great performance from Hugh and his band members. The last track in particular the coal train is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. G Brown "STRUTH" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
Very good CD this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hope - Hugh Masekela, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope (Audio CD)
This CD album arrived at the same time as the other CD order ie Donny Hathaway-Collection, it looks "new" as the usual plastic wrapping is still there, however, after I remove the wrapping, I realised the CD case was broken, the CD was not held in the usual position. Luckily the CD was not scratched and the performance was not affected. I have to find a CD case replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope
Hope by Hugh Masekela
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews