Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds to the Original
Having seen the original many years ago, I'll admit that I got this for the original film and not for the extras. However, the new footage of the week after the decisive 2nd test is fascinating and really adds to the first film. The criticism of the forwards in particular from Jim Telfer is scathing and very interesting to see them rise to that in the 3rd test, even...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Dr. Benjamin Marsh

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition
Living with Lions Anniversary Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009]

Absolutely cracking entertainment, very, very funny and very, very interesting. The only problem is I can't really see how this is a collector's edition. The DVD is as basic as you can get, no extras, not even subtitles!

Having said that, I'm glad that I've got Living with Lions but I...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Niall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds to the Original, 20 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Having seen the original many years ago, I'll admit that I got this for the original film and not for the extras. However, the new footage of the week after the decisive 2nd test is fascinating and really adds to the first film. The criticism of the forwards in particular from Jim Telfer is scathing and very interesting to see them rise to that in the 3rd test, even though they lost.
The players meeting is also worth seeing just for the aura of the players really struggling to get motivated for the third test.
The other real bonus is the extras of Mcgeechans training sessions on attack especially.
Definately worth getting, even now the euphoria of the 2009 tour is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry V meets Platoon with odd shaped balls, 15 May 2013
By 
T L Waldron (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is amongst the best non-fiction films I've ever seen. Even if you aren't the biggest Rugby fan then there is still lots (enough for 5 stars) here for you.

Rugby is a tough, physical and frankly dangerous game. At this level, and especially in South Africa, it as close to simulated war as modern sport gets. Much of this documentary takes you straight to the moments before the "battle" begins in a pure, visceral way that really is something special. I think the lack of a standard documentary voice-over and the willingness to linger on faces of the players and staff seem to connect you to the emotions and characters of the individuals in a very direct way.

Highlights of the on-field action actually are not the most memorable parts of this film, even for the Rugby fan, though some elements like Dawson's dummy or Bentley's try are truly stunning.

For me the highs are:

Jim Telfer's Everest speech giving Shakespeare's "Once more..." a run for its money,
Ian MacGeechan's tense body language before the matches showing precisely how much it means to him and yet how helpless he feels in those moments, and
Irish prop Keith Wood telling a very young-looking English Scrum-Half Matt Dawson "let them kick me not you," in a moment that sums up a awful lot of what the Lions is about.

But perhaps the most memorable/affecting bits are the tough-to-watch lows:

Will Greenwood's Mum yelling "William, William. What have you done?" as her unconscious son is carried off the pitch apparently close to death.
Team doctor James "Robbo" Robson treating Cauliflower ears
The sheer, crushing anguish in Doddie Wier's face, and his desperate attempt to hide it, as Robbo tells him his knee has been wrecked in on field foul-play by Mpumalanga Province before the first Test has been played.

As a parent whose young sons play Rugby, some of this is really, really tough to watch. Though a sight of Graham Rowntree's bloodied ears has at least won the argument in favour of a scrum helmet!

Buy it. Watch it. Watch the extras. Watch it again . Though if your sons or daughters want to carry on playing rugby don't let their mother see the Mrs Greenwood bit.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with the Lions, 7 July 2009
By 
Andrew Caine "A Caine" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very good fly on the wall documentary. It shows the highs and lows of the British lions Squad Tour of South Africa in 1997, from the initial squad sessions to the the final Test. Has some gritty hard talking sessions, from both the players and the management. The lighter moments are provided by the Playercams of Messers Weir, Wainwright and Bently.

A excellent package showing the Lions on Tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition, 4 July 2009
By 
Niall (San Sebastian, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Living with Lions Anniversary Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009]

Absolutely cracking entertainment, very, very funny and very, very interesting. The only problem is I can't really see how this is a collector's edition. The DVD is as basic as you can get, no extras, not even subtitles!

Having said that, I'm glad that I've got Living with Lions but I would say you'd be as well off with the non-collector's edition DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top behind the scenes sport dvd, 1 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
i strongly recommend this dvd ..it shows the highs and lows ( mostly highs ) of an international touring side...................i nearly cried at a couple of scenes with the emotion being shown both by the management and players

i really enjoyed this and for the price this is top entertainment . i cannot see that you will be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with Lions- The best tour, 7 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as I had the video when it first came out and no longer possess a video player, I had to have this documentary on DVD as I'd watched a few clips on Youtube which whetted my appetite.
If you've never watched a sport documentary before and you have the chance to own only one in your life, this is the one to get. The rollercoaster ride of emotions from absolute hilarity to complete despair drags the viewer along so fast you don't really feel like it's almost three hours for the first DVD until you look at a clock. With the edition of the second DVD you get both editions, which were sepeprate on video, in one box. .

Absolutely amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, high quality fly-on-the-wall documentary, 10 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I initially saw this on a certain 'Classic Sports' channel split into several parts and I was convinced that I'd missed an episode so abrupt was the ending after the 2nd test. After a quick search found that was how the original documentary was released - very odd. This package though includes two DVD's - the first almost 3 hours long running from the pre-tour team building sessions in the UK up to the end of the 2nd test, and the second DVD covering the final week of the tour adding an additional 90 minutes plus some extras of training sessions.

The fly-on-the-wall footage takes in team meetings, social events, pre-match team talks & speeches plus dressing room scenes before, during & after the matches. Its gripping & insightful stuff - capturing the passions, emotions, despair & humour of the tour. There's minimal match footage so if you're looking for match highlights then this isn't for you - although on the upside this means there's little opportunity for the Sky Sports commentators to get annoying.

The only (minor) criticisms I have are that the second 'Final Week' DVD feels stretched out - 90 mins of footage covering one week versus 200 minutes documenting the preceding seven, and that the medical team are featured just that bit too heavily.

However its still miles better than the 2009 tour fly-on-the-wall version, and as mentioned in other reviews could well be a candidate for best sports documentary ever made - hence highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD ever made, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As the title suggests, I want to marry this DVD and have lots of DVD babies with it. We'd then grow old together until one of us dies and the other then mopes about waiting for Godot... Seriously, the best tour video ever made in my humble opinion. Was bought as a replacement for my old VHS copy and sets the standard that all future Lions tour DVD's will be measured by. Superb stuff from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes the Judge..., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
What can I say, an amazing documentary into the 1997 Lions Tour. I first saw this on VHS when I bought it for my dad back some 15 years ago and as a female rugby fan, I found it laugh aloud hysterical. There were some massive characters on that tour; Keith Wood, Bentos, Buzz, Dodie to name but a few, and seeing them come together to form The Lions was brilliant. You can follow them right from training in the UK with team building madness, in the dressing room (with Ieuan Evans always throwing up before a match) to the sheer panic of Greenwood's tackle and the doctors thinking he's died on the field. An excellent dvd.

Oasis' Wonderwall has always made me think of The Lions 1997 in SA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply incredible, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
THE sporting docufilm of all time, it will never be beaten. An incredible film from start to finish. Every rugby fan, regardless of nationallity has to see this. Every moment is captured, Doddy Weir having his leg almost broken, Scotty Gibbs destroying anyone in his path, Johnno having his face stitched back together, John Bently becoming a legend...and Telfer's speech...the hairs still stand up just thinking about it.

Whether you are a rugby fan or not, anyone who watches this will enjoy it and see what a truely special tour it really was.

"This is your Everest boys..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living With Lions The Complete Story Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009]
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews