Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre little device!
This is a great fun piece of kit with an original user interface (even compared to the original Stylophone!).

The retro styling looks great to my eyes and it seems reasonably solid. The metal keypad does seem to scratch fairly easily though. The sounds are great and lo-fi and it's great to be able to layer them with the recording loop. Unfortunately, you can...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by G. Foad

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but so fragile
The Stylophone Beatbox is a very funny instrument, I liked it very much. The loop function isn't very good, because tempo tends to slow down when you overwrite many instuments, but if you play without this function it's good. Unfortunately, after a few days it stopped to work. At first the volume was very low, then it doesn't sounded at all. I have treated it very well,...
Published on 25 May 2010 by samu64


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but so fragile, 25 May 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
The Stylophone Beatbox is a very funny instrument, I liked it very much. The loop function isn't very good, because tempo tends to slow down when you overwrite many instuments, but if you play without this function it's good. Unfortunately, after a few days it stopped to work. At first the volume was very low, then it doesn't sounded at all. I have treated it very well, replaced battery, but probably is a circuit problem (the led is still working, the batteries are new).
I will purchase another soon cause I like it, I hope the next will be better.
I'm a musician and I want to use it live, sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre little device!, 29 Dec 2009
By 
G. Foad - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
This is a great fun piece of kit with an original user interface (even compared to the original Stylophone!).

The retro styling looks great to my eyes and it seems reasonably solid. The metal keypad does seem to scratch fairly easily though. The sounds are great and lo-fi and it's great to be able to layer them with the recording loop. Unfortunately, you can only change your loop by turning the unit off and on again. Also, there is a bit of a background whine constantly audible, but it's quiet enough not to be noticed most of the time.

Those minor niggles aside, it's just so much fun to play and really does sound great, even through the little speaker built into it. Plus it doesn't cost a lot of cash!

My attempts to play Rapper's Delight on it like Brett Domino (check him doing this on Youtube) went down well with my family this Christmas, even though my Dad thought I was playing Another One Bites The Dust. My playing or his ears?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty crap really, 28 May 2010
By 
Timothy J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
Best part is the look & the stylus interface. OK it's cheap , but the samples are ill chosen - only a few are really versatile enough to sit in a mix. The looper is a nice idea but is easily overwhelmed & then slows down.!

At least mine hasn't broken yet.

Put it thru some effects and it can offer the odd percussion note.

I suppose for the price one cannot expect miracles but it does make you wonder why Dubreq seem intent on killing their brand with inferior products. A new product from them is rumoured to be in the pipeline. I sincerely hope it is better than this miserable effort & the repro S1 which wasn't a patch on the original analogue Stylophone. Rolf must be spinning in his..., oh wait a minute..no he's not dead yet...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylophone Beatbox, 5 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
The Stylophone Beatbox is great fun. Plug it to your computer and use freeware like Audacity (or pro music programmes) to record and modify the sounds. Or use it as backup band when you play your three chords on the guitar and imagine that you're a big star....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing toy, 6 Sep 2010
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
As a collector of drum machines and elecronica etc I was looking forward to this. However, it is a big disappointment. There are plenty of sounds with one full octave of bass Stylophone (difficult to play as the circular keyboard makes it hard to work out where your notes are), one bank of human beatbox noises (a waste of samples in my opinion) and a bank of mixed electronic percussion (the only one I use). I could forgive the quantised sounds if the machine was easy to use. Howver, with only one stylus it is very difficult to play a continuous rhythm so the loop function seems to be the solution - loop your hi hats and then play the kick and snare live over the top. Easy. Unfortunately the loop function has not been properly thought out as you cannot tell where the loop starts and ends and so there is always a delay in the loop, rendering it useless. Assuming you get lucky and manage to make a seamless loop, as soon as you play over the loop the timing goes awol because of a lack of processing power. What it needs is a metronome click and a fixed one or two bar loop length. If they make a next generation product then they should improve the loop function and get rid of the MP3 input function to keep costs down.

In the end, this did turn out to be a child's toy. A shame as with a bit more thought and better chips this could have been a great busker's instrument. However, in its defence, it was very cheap when I bought it so I have no grounds for complaints for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 31 Dec 2011
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
I bought this as a christmas present for my nephew, for which my sister will probably never forgive me :)

It is very basic with quite a tinny sound, but that is part of its charm much as it was with the original Stylophone. The circular pad can be used in three modes. Two with hip-hop/beatbox-type noises and the third with musical notes.

You probably could play tunes with it in the third mode, but really it is for settingup a rhythm. You can record the noises you make and play them back.

I got it because I know the nephew has access to various proper musicl instruments and enjoys jamming with his dad and this will give them an extra element to play with. Early days yet, but they both seem to be enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beat box - good fun - but.., 2 Jan 2010
By 
A. Craig (Stonehaven, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
Good fun for the price.
3 types of sounds but a lot of them naff.
Could be done with beater drum sounds.
Limited processor so multiple sounds in loop slows the
loop and renders loop useless - but works well for smaller
loops with a few sounds.

Hooks in to our mixing desk and therefore can sound good
to play along with.

Given the price this is a worthwhile toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars speedy delivery, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
was a gift fory niece it's what she wanted and she loves it. She already had the other stylophone and uses this all the time. the delivery was quick considering we ordered so close to Christmas but arrived within 2 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
I have bought this as an early Christmas present for son in law.
But I am sure he will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A flimsy toy, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine (Toy)
Delivered in record time.It failed even more quickly, although no child had touched it. It stopped working after 5 minutes. I am awaiting return instructions from Amazon/Normans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stylophone Beatbox Portable Electronic Beats Machine
19.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews