Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christy Moore
Steve Wright (Radio 2) has recently been playing the title track from this album on his afternoon show, and going simply on the strength of that one song, I deemed that this is an album worth investigating. I was not disappointed. Christy Moore can always be guaranteed to deliver, and this collection of original songs and covers, though not necessarily his best, is up...
Published on 2 May 2009 by Michael Nicholl

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best!!!
I don' t agree with other enthusiastic reviews- This album is boring, full of filler songs and with a very weak cover of "Shine on your crazy diamond". Moore is a great singer but not blindly trustable, before buing this average Cd is better trying his very best: "Voyage".
The sound is 4 stars, better than the tons of garbage sold on the market.
Published on 31 Mar 2012 by Lucazest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christy Moore, 2 May 2009
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
Steve Wright (Radio 2) has recently been playing the title track from this album on his afternoon show, and going simply on the strength of that one song, I deemed that this is an album worth investigating. I was not disappointed. Christy Moore can always be guaranteed to deliver, and this collection of original songs and covers, though not necessarily his best, is up there with his finest. Some of the songs, ie John O Dreams, Riding The High Stool and Rory Is Gone, have appeared on previous albums. Of these three, it is Rory Is Gone which really impresses, due in no small part to the superb guitar work of Declan Sinnott. (The original recording on Graffiti Tounge came across as weak, but not so here). One cover that I was keen to hear was Shine On You Crazy Diamond, one of my favourite Pink Floyd tracks. On first hearing I was a little unsure as to whether Christy had got it right, but as the song moved along, I realised that he had succeded where Pink Floyd had failed, by bringing to the fore the message and meaning behind the song. Without David Gilmore's brilliant guitar work acting as a distraction, I really picked up on the words. This is not an album to listen to whilst driving (I tried that and it doesn't work) but one to put on in a quiet room, lie back and relax with the volume up and let the atmosphere of the recording wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master at work, 20 April 2009
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
This album re-confirms Christy Moore as one of Ireland's musical treasures. This recording has mangaed to capture the artist up close and personal. At times it transports the listener to a small room alone with the artist singing in their ear. The choice of songs ranging from Irish writers Wally Page to american Hank Wendell, across to Liverpudlian Ian Prowse and England's Pink Floyd are varied but all brought alive by Moore's voice and the excellent musicanship of Declan Sinnott, as well as bass and discret drums. This is certainly the best recording of Christy's voice so far, there are albums with better songs yes, but not with the same level of recording. This is not to say this is not a good album, it is a very good album. The title track " Listen" stands out alongside
"Shine on crazy diamond" as classics. Moore's own "Ruby Walsh" screams for you to listen to the lyrics to really grasp the humour of the song. Declan Sinnott's cover of "I will" is surely a pre-curser to either a solo or a "Small Talk Talking" ( his group" ) album.
This is an album that will be listened to again and again for some time to come. But to fully appreciate the music of Christy Moore, a ticket to one of his gigs is a must. There these songs will come alive a way that no level of recording will ever capture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to Christy, 18 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
This is the first Christy Moore CD I have bought but it won't be the last. I saw a You tube video of John O'Dreams and found this song was to be on his forthcoming CD called Listen. I ordered the CD from Amazon before it was released and it arrived on the release day. The main impression I received was of the beautiful melodies eg Listen, Does this train stop on merseyside, China Waltz, Barrowland, Gortatagort. Even the protest songs like Duffy's Cut and The Disappeared have strong tunes. Fun songs like Ballad of Ruby Walsh and Riding the High Stool are humorous with a point to make. Rory is Gone, a tribute to Rory Gallagher is a weak link but is compensated for with Pink Floyd's Shine on you crazy diamond.
The old Billy Fury song, I Will is performed by Declan Sinnott, Christy Moore's excellent guitar player. John O'Dreams, of course is beautifully done.
One weak track more than compensated for by some excellent songs. My first Christy Moore, I'm looking forward already to his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen - to a man at the top of his game!, 13 May 2009
By 
Westcourt (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
In a world where songwriters get all the kudos, 'interpretors' can easily be overlooked or underrated. Christy Moore can write songs, make no mistake about it, but there are very few artistes that can take another's song and make it their own in the way he can.

This is a gorgeous album: well produced, full of great songs and featuring some stunning performances.

The usual Christy mix is here: a lolloping humourous number (Ballad of Ruby Walsh); a few songs of quiet indignation (Does This Train Stop on Merseyside?, Duffy's Cut and The Disapperared); and some sublime melodies and singing (Listen, China Waltz, Barrowland, John O Dreams).

Much of the focus on this release has been around the inclusion of Pink Floyd's Shine On You Crazy Diamond, which is understandble and a shame. Understandable because it is not an obvious choice and because Christy adds so much Moore to the original. A shame because despite being so sublime it isn't the highlight of the album; it fits seamlessly in with the rest of the tracks.

As with recent live performances Declan Sinnot gets to sing a song (I Will) and the album closes with a brilliant live version of Rory Is Gone, featuring some great guitar work from Sinnot.

If you have enjoyed the last few Christy Moore albums, don't hesitate: buy this. If you are a newcomer, give it a try. Sit back and listen to an album that will soothe your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it buy it buy it.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 8 April 2009
By 
C. S. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
This is the long awaited album for which Christy's universe of fans have been yearning .Some of the songs have been previewed in concerts and as always come over exceptionally well."Merseyside" is an amazing song and last year in Liverpool the author was present when Christy sang it.Christy writes on his web site that it's important to select and perform exceptional songs by other writers. He also puts himself down as a songwriter which is so unfair. Buy this album. Enjoy it aand if you are a new convert then delve into past works buy some and enjoy what we have been going on about for years.Christy Moore is special . He caresses every song he writes, discovers and sings, he respects his fans (we are his friends), is a well rooted person and makes our world a better place.Make your world a better place in which to live;do your own life a favour and buy this album.You won't regret it.
Colin R Wales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just lovely, 22 July 2009
By 
LD "magic granny" (Northumberland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
I love Christy Moore's voice. This disc is no exception to his consistently high quality material. I enjoyed all the tracks and even recommended it to my daughter. If you like Irish folk music then this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars voice of treacle, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Williams "jolie" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
Christy has been going for years - but was new to me - he has a voice of treacle - sweet - deep and soothing! He could read the phone book to me and I would be captivated. This CD is amazing all the way through - so soothing and calming but with meaningful lyrics. I love it and have bought more of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shine On You Crazy Old Diamond, 22 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
How can an old Irish folk singer do justice to a Pink Floyd classic?

By doing it his way, that's how, because he's a great interpreter of songs who can reveal fresh meaning from the very familiar.

There is more to this CD than one unexpected cover version - the very excellent title track for one thing - but if you are in need of a good example of the genius of Christy Moore with which to convince the uninitiated, then it would be a great track to pick. In terms of conveying deep human emotion, no one is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christy Moore Listen, 14 July 2009
By 
J. KEMP "krazykat" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
Really good album, heard it and had to have my own copy.....
Wonderful rendition of Crazy Diamond, made me 'LISTEN 'to the the words properly for the first time. well worth having in your collection. ^..^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never disappoints, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. J. D. Fletcher (Solihull U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Listen (Audio CD)
Christy Moore is a superb live performer and this captures the breadth of his talents. Just fails to get 5 stars!Currently touring the U.K. Saw him last night at Birmingham Symphony Hall.Catch him if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Listen
Listen by Christy Moore
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews