Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite T. Rex Album, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
This album to me represents the last great T. Rex album. This was Marc Bolan's attempt at breaking big in America after having conquered the UK charts. It ranks as my favorite T. Rex album, (actually, my favorite album of all time) with some of Marc's most melodic songs.
After the phenomenal success of "Electric Warrior" and "The Slider," Marc's record company expected big things. What Marc gave them was "Tanx;" an album very different from its predecessors. Unfortunately, the critics and many of the fans didn't like the direction Marc took and the album was deemed a disappointment.

Why is this my favorite album of all time? When I first came upon this album several years ago, after all the bad critical press it got, I was expecting the worst. My thought was, Heck, I loved Electric Warrior and The Slider, how bad could this be? I put the needle down on the turntable and was captivated for the next 40 minutes or so.

"Oh, my darling there are many ways..." The album opens with the guitar boogie and spacey lyrics of "Tenement Lady," a combination of two songs. You'll note on disc 2, it's listed as "Tenement Lady/Darling". Two songs fused together into one great one. Lots of great production work on this one.

"Your mama said, clean out your head, boy..." Next is "Rapids," with lots of guitar slide overdubs. Again, lots of spacey lyrics in a Bolan boogie mind poem.

"I'm just lookin' for a change in my luck.." "Mister Mister" is great light acoustic song with a great sing-a-long at the end. Excellent orchestration by Tony Visconti.

"This is a song that I wrote when I was young..." "Broken Hearted Blues" is, to me, one of the most beautiful songs Marc Bolan ever wrote. Beautiful lyrics, beautiful orchestration, Marc in perfect voice... poetry set to music. Possibly the best song Marc ever put on an album. The only complaint I have it that it was too short.

The rest of the album just flows beautifully. From start to finish, I never skip a song. Plus you get the added bonus of the Marc's singles from '73: "Children of the Revolution," "Jitterbug Love," "Sunken Rags," "Solid Gold Easy Action," "20th Century Boy," and the beautiful "Free Angel".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A box of delights, 9 Aug 2005
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
"Tanx" was Bolan's follow-up to smash hit "The Slider", and has always lived in that album's shadow. Whereas "The Slider" had a very definite individual style, "Tanx" is often described as a 'mixed-bag' of different 'half-baked' musical ideas. I disagree, and instead think of "Tanx"'s variety as its strength - like a chocolate box of different centres.
Firstly it opens with the magical false-start of "Tenement Lady", and ends with the magnificent glam-blues epic of "Left Hand Luke and the Beggar Boys". In-between are short, bite-sized bursts of musical delight: the achingly beautiful "Broken-Hearted Blues"; the simple, catchy "Street and Babe Shadow"; the lovely "Electric Slim and the Factory Hen" (love those titles). And if there are any songs you don't like they're so short that another good one will be along soon.
The extra tracks on this album include the two iconic T.Rex singles, "20th Century Boy" and "Children of the Revolution", making this a truly experimental glam album utterly indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Bolan's TANX, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
This album to me represents the last great T. Rex album. This was Marc Bolan's attempt at breaking big in America after having conquered the UK charts. It ranks as my favorite T. Rex album, (actually, my favorite album of all time) with some of Marc's most melodic songs.
After the phenomenal success of "Electric Warrior" and "The Slider," Marc's record company expected big things. What Marc gave them was "Tanx;" an album very different from its predecessors. Unfortunately, the critics and many of the fans didn't like the direction Marc took and the album was deemed a disappointment.
Why is this my favorite album of all time? When I first came upon this album several years ago, after all the bad critical press it got, I was expecting the worst. My thought was, Heck, I loved Electric Warrior and The Slider, how bad could this be? I put the needle down on the turntable and was captivated for the next 40 minutes or so.
"Oh, my darling there are many ways..." The album opens with the guitar boogie and spacey lyrics of "Tenement Lady," a combination of two songs. You'll note on disc 2, it's listed as "Tenement Lady/Darling". Two songs fused together into one great one. Lots of great production work on this one.
"Your mama said, clean out your head, boy..." Next is "Rapids," with lots of guitar slide overdubs. Again, lots of spacey lyrics in a Bolan boogie mind poem.
"I'm just lookin' for a change in my luck.." "Mister Mister" is great light acoustic song with a great sing-a-long at the end. Excellent orchestration by Tony Visconti.
"This is a song that I wrote when I was young..." "Broken Hearted Blues" is, to me, one of the most beautiful songs Marc Bolan ever wrote. Beautiful lyrics, beautiful orchestration, Marc in perfect voice... poetry set to music. Possibly the best song Marc ever put on an album. The only complaint I have it that it was too short.
The rest of the album just flows beautifully. From start to finish, I never skip a song. Plus you get the added bonus of the Marc's singles from '73: "Children of the Revolution," "Jitterbug Love," "Sunken Rags," "Solid Gold Easy Action," "20th Century Boy," and the beautiful "Free Angel".
Disc 2 is made up of alternate takes. It gives you some insight into the workings of the songs a they developed from the rough mix stage to T. Rex classics. These outtakes were once sold separately as "Left Hand Luke: The Alternate Tanx". Here you get the whole package in one.
If you've fallen under the spell of Bolan's words and music, but don't have this album yet, get it now. This album to me is one of the best by the band, and as stated before, one of my favorites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc rocks on, 3 Oct 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
To me this record always seems to be the one that signalled the end of one phase of T.Rex before a new (& less commercially succesful but none the less,equally creative,if under appreciated) phase was ushered in.
This album has some notable high points - "Broken Hearted Blues","Born To Boogie","Rapids" & "Life Is Strange" are my personal favourites on an album, that for me,is sprinkled with what sounds, at times, like a more sombre Bolan than had been evident on the previous two or three albums - maybe that's just me though !!
This is a superb record & a must for all Bolan fans. I have heard some people refer to this as the last of the "great" T.Rex albums. Is it ? Depends on your point of view - to me, all of Marc's work is worth listening to & can be enjoyed & admired, for differing reasons - this album is no different.A fantastic album by a British pop genius (For the love of all that's holy,surely its time Marc got a Brit Award !!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Album, 4 Dec 2000
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
Marc Bolan and Producer, Tony Visconti... These guys made some great music. "Tanx" is my favorite T. Rex album and ranks as one of my all time favorite albums.
After the commercial success of "The Slider", the pressure was on to create something better - something that sounded even bigger. Marc was trying to "Americanize" his sound and was looking at breaking big in the American market. He had worked his magic with three albums in the UK - this was a critical album for him.
Unfortunately, the album fell far short of his expectations and missed charting above #105 on the Billboard charts. This is too bad - The US missed out on one of the most diverse, eclectic albums T. Rex ever put out.
The album starts out strong with the driving "Tenement Lady" which Visconti beautifully melted into a second song, "Darling". A great mix. The rest of the album is pure magic - the crowning piece being "Broken Hearted Blues". A beautiful piece of poetry set to music - a wonderful acoustic guitar backed with a chamber orchestra - it sends shivers!
To me, a die hard T. Rex fan - this is Marc Bolan at his absolute best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tanxs for the memory, 19 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
From the opening of Tenament Lady to the closing bars of Left hand Luke ,Marc takes us on a rock and roll journey.On Country Honey Bolan grooves as much as ever,He blows us away on Shock Rock.Marc is smooth in his groove on The Street and Babe Shadow.The extended play acts as a bonus and includes 20th Centrury boy a Bolan classic and the much slated Solid Gold Easy Action.The bonus disc sees the master at work in a series of out-takes and works in progress.This is not for the faint hearted but, 4 the Children of the Revolution.Listen if u dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan's Best, 18 Aug 2006
By 
A. Keill-Griffin (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tanx (+Bonus) (Audio CD)
This is Marc Bolan, T.Rex and Tony Visconti at their tightest. The band's and producer's zenith as a partnership before it diversified into the 'popera' of Zinc Alloy. Everything about this album - the guitars, sweeping orchestrations, Bolan's voice, production and not forgetting Bill Legend's massively underrated drums - reeks of the uniqueness of the era, the people and the music.

Ironically, it wasn't one of the most successful T.Rex albums at the time - Bolan's press-bating and cheeky 'arrogance' got in the way of this album being taken as seriously as it deserved to be. The critics clearly meant less to him than he did to them!

'Tanx' has always been my favourite T.Rex album from the minute it was bought for my 11th birthday to the present. Every listening feels as fresh, if not fresher, than the first as the clarity of the musicianship and production have come to the fore and become timeless. Why did Bolan listen to EMI when they recommended he come up with something other than 'Electric Slim and the Factory Hen' as the follow up to 'Solid Gold, Easy Action'? It was a whole new direction, away from the pounding pop that preceded it and that replaced it in the form of the classic, but I think misguided, '20th Century Boy'.

The album, amazingly (Bolan's confidence knocked by EMI? Where were the Sex Pistols when they were really needed?!) produced no singles although the sax-led 'Street and Babe Shadow' would have been a good contender as would 'Mad Donna' ('I'm gonna change Madonna...', no need chuck she does it often enough herself!). And who could fail to be moved by the minor chords and whistful lyrics of 'Highway Knees'?

This album is an absolute must. If you're going to buy a T.Rex album, get this one! Thirty-four years have done it no harm at all as many of the production values and soundscapes have become sought after by many bands since then (check Suede, Goldfrapp, The Divine Comedy, the godawful Oasis, more recent Bowie amongst others).

This is Visconti's masterpiece as producer, as well as Bolan and the band's as musicians. I don't think he reached the same perfection anywhere else either before or since (and I do keep checking him out).

This could turn into quite an essay of adoration/adulation but I think these 'Tanx' need to be turned on you... Enjoy!

Tanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 11 Oct 2002
By 
T. Clark (Sunny Southend) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
I must have read at least twenty reviews of this album before I decided to buy it. I had Electric Warrior and Slider which both enjoy a pretty unanimous reputation as classics. Tanx on the other hand tended to be seen as the album where Marc ran out of ideas and good songs, his over-indulgence in the rock and roll lifestyle getting the better of him. All I can say is don't worry about any of that, just buy it. By the time Tenement Lady and Rapids have gone by you'll be glad you did, and you're only five minutes in. Shock Rock is c**p but the rest is just fine and Broken Hearted Blues is beautiful. The alternate bonus disc isn't as good as the alternate Slider but does have another fantastic Tenement Lady without all the glam rock extras, and Broken Hearted Blues without the sax overdubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 'Tanx' yet., 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
This 2002 Edsel edition of 'Tanx' is the best I've ever heard. The sound quality is amazing, the packaging gorgeous and it's packed to the rafters with bonus material.

Following 'Electric Warrior' and 'The Slider' was never going to be easy, and when the album was originally released in March 1973, T.Rex were struggling to keep people interested. Various groups like Slade, The Sweet and Wizzard were chipping away at their fanbase, and young girls who'd once hung posters of Marc on their bedroom walls were now replacing them with David Cassidy and Donny Osmond.

Bolan always tried to give good value with his records. Many singles featured 3 songs, for example, and he decided upon the policy of keep any previous hits from 'Tanx's tracklist. A noble idea, many fans would be thrilled to get 13 brand new songs. The other side of the coin, of course, is that some potential buyers may have been put off buying an LP without any recognizable hits... Personally, I think the album would have benefitted from the inclusion of the likes of 'Children Of The Revolution', 'Solid Gold Easy Action' and '20th Century Boy'. The latter surely being his last truly great single. Luckily, all these songs are included on this 2 CD edition.

That said, 'Tanx' does stand up without the singles. There really isn't a bad track on it and although it didn't disgrace itself on the charts, I think it deserved better than it got. Still, diehard fans will adore this edition, with the provocative sleeve artwork fully intact, all the lyrics and an intelligent article on the making of the album.

If you're new to T.Rex, get 'Electric Warrior', 'The Slider' and 'Tanx' first, then scoot back a few years and try his more accoustic early stuff, before returning to get his final 'Dandy In The Underworld' album. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars last of the great t.rex albums, 27 Feb 2009
By 
S. Suligowski "jules" (heysham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tanx (Audio CD)
This is the last great T.rex album of its genre, released at a time when the bands popularity had just started to wane slightly. Nevertheless it is still a great album with a more fuller sound and some classic tracks, the opening track tenement lady starts off at full pace and glides into a more subtle haunting middle and end. The album includes born to boogie a great little bopper and the street and babe shadow a repetitive but catchy track which includes a great saxophone accompaniment.
This is not the same sort of album in feel and sound as electric warrior or the slider but makes great listening for any bolan fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tanx
Tanx by T. Rex
Buy MP3 Album£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews