Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original recordings - from Silva Screen!, 23 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
I almost missed this CD - having seen it was released by Silva Screen, I had initially dismissed it as yet another tedious collection of re-issued tracks by the City Of Prague Philharmonic and the usual crowd.

However, it isn't! This disc is stuffed with original recordings from Barry Gray and his orchestra, some previously unreleased.

Full marks to Silva Screen - this is a brilliant disc, and proof that they can still produce superb CDs that stand head and shoulders above all the endless cover versions and re-recordings.

More like this please - how about giving the same treatment to other TV composers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just FAB-ulous!, 5 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
Without a doubt this has to be the most complete and best of all the CDs that have been released over the years featuring the music of Barry Gray and his Orchestra. There are 40 tracks (including previously unreleased & rare material) from Four Feather Falls, Supercar, Fireball XL5 (including the original 1963 45 release of Fireball sung by Don Spencer - the first time I've seen this on a CD), Stingray, Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet, Joe 90, The Secret Service, UFO and Space:1999. So if you are a Gerry Anderson fan like myself you will be in seventh heaven listening to this superb CD. Even if you are not a fan still buy it - I can thoroughly recommend this. Thanks to Silva Screen Music - you've made my day! It's just FAB-ulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry Gray FAB, 7 July 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher J. Harwood (Torquay, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection of wait for it.......ORIGINAL TV RECORDINGS....not ur usual rubbish. Superb, love it....so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barry Gray's Legendary Music, 6 Sep 2009
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand By for Action! - The Music of Barry Gray (MP3 Download)
Even if you don't know the name Barry Gray, you'll almost certainly know some of his work - he's the man responsible for the 'Thunderbirds' march, and indeed, the soundtracks to the majority of the futuristic TV shows produced by Gerry Anderson in the 1960s and 70s. 'Stand By For Action! - The Music of Barry Gray' is probably the best overview of Gray's Anderson-related material so far, featuring a handful of tracks from every series from black and white western 'Four Feather Falls' right through to the first season of big-budget live action series 'Space:1999'. Better still, the tracks are original recordings, many previously unreleased.

It goes without saying that all the iconic themes are on here - the bombastic and fast paced 'Stingray', the majestic 'Thunderbirds' march, the 'Captain Scarlet' theme (with original vocals, as heard on TV), jazzy up-tempo 'UFO' and disco-influenced 'Space:1999' amongst others. There are also various songs as heard in the shows - such as the charming 'I Wish I Was A Spaceman' from Fireball XL5, and the memorable 'Aqua Marina', heard over the closing titles of 'Stingray'. Then there are more obscure gems - the Mike Sammes Singers performing the theme from 'The Secret Service', the short-lived are rarely-seen final Supermarionation series, 'International Concerto' from 'Joe 90', 'The Perils of Penelope' (aka 'Thunderbirds' stock French theme), and the catchy instrumental 'White As Snow' from the 'Captain Scarlet' episode of the same name.

If I have any complaint about this release, it's that it could easily have accommodated a second disc without feeling overstretched in the slightest. Plus, by sticking doggedly to the versions as heard on the original television soundtracks, we miss out on some of the extended commercial versions of tracks such as 'Stingray'. But these are minor quibbles, really, as it's fantastic to see something like this released, with some more obscure material included. It's also an excellent sampler for some of the other series-specific Barry Gray soundtrack CDs released by Silva Screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underated composer, 28 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
As a child growing up in the halcyon days of the 1960s, the programmes of Gerry Anderson were an important part of my early life.
One element of these programmes, for me at least, was the music of Barry Gray. His work added another dimention to the programmes.
It's a sad fact that most people will only know his theme from "Thunderbirds".
On this excellent CD you have, for the first time, an almost complete retrospective of his work.
From the somewhat twee "Four Feather Falls" to the sweeping majesty of "Space: 1999". A must have collection for the soundtrack collector.
I can only hope that Silva Screen can release a second or even third volume of this vastly underated composers work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always Hip!, 23 July 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
This CD contains eighty minutes of themes and incidental music written by Barry Gray for Gerry Anderson's TV series of the 1960s and 70s. The CD is accompanied by a generous and colourful set of sleevenotes comprising fourteen pages about the series and the music, but not enough about Gray himself and how he came to write for Anderson.

I was born in 1965, so for me this CD was purchased for the music from `Thunderbirds' and thereafter. But Gray's musical style is clearly evident right near the beginning in his work for `Supercar' (1961), where riffs from the title song would appear later in music written for `Thunderbirds'. Similarly, a four-note sequence in the music for `Stingray' often appeared in `Space 1999'. But Gray was no mere musical regurgitator, as he clearly continued to come up with some great themes in differing styles and arrangements that suited the period when each series was first conceived: in this way, he was always hip!

Although many of the earlier tracks are in mono, remastering has done wonders for the sound quality. I was disappointed to find that the `Thunderbirds' set on this CD does not include the theme used when the boys get into their ships, but at least I have a thrillingly-arranged version recorded by Geoff Love and his orchestra on his `Star Wars & Other Space Themes'. (And I consider that Geoff Love's arrangement of the `UFO' theme is actually better than the original.)

For the second series of `Space 1999', the producers brought in Barry Wadsworth to provide a new theme. That music too is very good, but somehow - as with much else of that second series - the changes made meant that something was missing. Barry Gray was thus the auditory `face' of Anderson's programmes, and was just as much a genius as many of the rest of the technical team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small niggles - otherwise a great collection, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
just a couple of niggles - The Thunderbird theme, despite having the effects on the early part - Thunderbird 1 launch and the thunder under the vocal 'Thunderbirds Are Go!', is missing the explosions under/over the drum rolls at the piece
Also the Stingray theme, despite having "Stand By For Action!" as a separate track, then omits the rest of the vocal parts i.e. "We are about to launch Stingray !", and the classic "Anything can happen in the next half hour !"
Also, the Captain Scarlet theme should have had the voice over, as 30 seconds of footsteps don't mean much unless you remember the introduction
Other than those a great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
At last these theme tunes have been released all these years after the tv series were shown. The compilation is probably aimed at people who watched the programmed when they were first transmitted but who still can vividly remember the music.
The sound quality is good considering the age of the recordings although the selection of incidental music from the programmes is probably not the most obvious choice. I particularly liked the track desperate intruder from the thunderbirds section. You can almost visualize what is happening by listening to the track. The main title themes are the best though and sound great ! I never knew the supercar theme was sung by the mike sammes singers!!
All in all a brilliant nostalgic release with an informative booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tunes from a master, 30 April 2012
By 
Clowne (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By For Action (Audio CD)
Barry Gray doesn't get the recognition he deserves.

His title tunes for classic programmes such as Joe 90, Thunderbirds, Stingray, Captain Scarlet, UFO and the earlier Space 1999 series all set the tone for what was to follow.

It's all about the music though. When present, the lyrical content wasn't great, but as a child that's not important.

This album also includes some of the background themes from within the episodes and if you like a bit of 60's electronic organ check out the incidental music for UFO.

Also includes some earlier programs that most listeners might not know, but since there are 40 tracks on this CD and by track 6 we get to Fireball XL5 they don't take up too much space.

Although when I say '40 tracks' that includes the 3 second track "Stand by for action!" which just says that and should in my opinion be part of the Stingray theme (38 seconds) where it would normally be heard when watching that program.

Most tracks are on the short side and it would have been nice to hear some longer versions, but even so this is a great album that brings back childhood memories of exiting TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB compilation., 20 Jan 2012
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By for Action! - The Music of Barry Gray (MP3 Download)
A fantastic compilation of themes and incidental music from all the Anderson classic series of the 60's (and early '70s).. everything from Four Feather Falls (even I am too young to remember that one) via Supercar, Fireball, Stingray, Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet, Joe 90 etc etc. I love this CD , it takes me back to being a kid again and its great to have these ORIGINAL versions in such excellent quality. All together now; "I wish I was a spacemen, the fastest guy alive"........ :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews