Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2010
Read this years ago but still remember it being one of those unputdownable biogs that takes over your life. The author has since passed away but did an accompanying documentary film about King whilst writing the book. It was only shown in the states & I've tried all over but never come across it(I think it was called "Unauthorised").
Jack Newfield dissects King like a surgeon, exposing the true unscupulous individual. If you like boxing, scandal, legal wranglings & an author with a great sense of humour then look no further.
If you can find a copy don't hesitate!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
I really enjoyed this book. Don King has lived an incredible life and whilst he is devious, dishonest and, at times, downright evil, you somehow feel a kind of gruding respect for the man at how he manages to get a way with it time and again. Even if you are not a keen follower of boxing, you are likely to enjoy this. Many sport biographies are a bit boring, this is not an accusation that can be levelled at this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
A very interesting, insightful & well researched book.
Truly shocking to see the crimes that King has managed to get away with, & how easily he has managed to fleece the boxer's he was supposed to represent, none more so than Tyson.
It's time boxing got its house in order to protect the health, welfare & financial security of its participants - however I won't hold my breath!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Excellent book detailing the immorality of Don King and how corrupt boxing can be. How he has never gone to prison for the fraud he has committed is beyond me, a truly odious individual. A very good read if you like boxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Genuinely a great read, I found myself drawn to this book like no other boxing book I have read. If you have ever been baffled by mismatches and non matches this will open the door of enlightenment into why certain fights were not made or made too late. Newfield goes into great depth over the financial gains made through various colourful figures throughout the boxing world. While he manages to keep the portrayal of most of the central figures within the book light hearted and gives them some credibility and even accredites some of the figures as jovial pariah type villains, he manages to keep the underlying tone throughout the book the same level of crude lawlessness carried out by the puppet masters.

I am a sucker for boxing books though, so my views aren't totally objective although, I can appreciate the level of detail, research and love for the sport that went into this book. Newfield remains objective throughout and raises some excellent points about the regulatory bodies although some of his views regarding treatment of fighters, although are justifiable are a tad bit unrealistic.

I suppose as a true fans we all have some level of unrealistic hopes for the sport in order for boxing to gain notariaty although nowadays this seems less to do with corruption in the sport and more to do with a lack of talent amongst the fighters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
one of the best boxing books ever.i have read hundreds of books on boxing.this one gives an insight into the dark world of don king.a most for all boxing fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
This book would have got five stars were it not for the awkward layout of the kindle edition, and the many typos that are in it. It is still an excellent book for any boxing fan to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
Great expose of the dark underbelly of boxing. No doubting Don King is a well dodgy dude. I felt for the fighters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
A very gritty account of Don King the promoter, the man and from the book, definitely a feared enemy. Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
the story of a heartless money grabbing bastard, very good though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)