Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
75
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2003
If you want my opinion in short, "Buy this CD, you won't regret it!"
Last month i saw 'Chicago' on stage and ever since then i have been eagerly waiting for the new film to come out. I left the theatre with the songs in my head and the film was no different. These infectious songs are so catchy and once you've heard them, you won't be able to stop yourself bursting into song.
'All that Jazz' and 'When you're good to Mama' are personal favourites but really there is not a bad song on this enchanting CD.
When 'Moulin Rouge' came out, everyone raved about the new musical. 'Chicago' beats that, and everything before it. Its fast, witty and powerful.
Catherine Zeta-Jones really shines, with an amazingly strong voice, she really makes you feel the lyrics that she is singing.
This is a flawless CD. Buy It! Now!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2003
Despite my pre-conceived views of movie adaptations of stage shows being second rate, I was most surprised when I got to see Chicago, but what made the film so good was this stunning sound track!
The entire CD is packed with the movies favourite sounds (plus a few extra) and all the performers, who you'd normally expect to be reviewing for acting roles, give a superb vocal performance, each with their own distinct tone, adding a bit more 'edge' to the recording.
My favourite track has to be 4 - Cell Block Tango. Not only has it unforgettable lyrics, but the musical score together with the surprisingly good vocal talents of the actresses, doubles its appeal.
If you've never seen any version of Chicago (stage or screen), you'll hear this soundtrack as a little abstract, but if you've been lucky enough to experience Chicago, you'll definitely be much more appreciative of the tracks in every sense, and will seem much more of a must-buy sound track.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
I decided to buy the soundtrack before watching the movie, and it was well wort it. All the songs are good in their own right, but there are some that really stand out to be amazing. All That Jazz is so unbelievably raw and sultry, and Catherine Zeta-Jones' voice is a real surprise! When you're good to Mama is another good one, and Queen Latifah's voice is very soulful. But the highlight of the soundtrack, and also the movie was definately the Cell Block Tango, and Gaby Roslin and Michael Greco also agreed. Each of the murderesses tell their tale in incredible ways, and the whole song is fantastic!!
I'll finish by saying stand up. Go to the nearest music shop. Buy this soundtrack. I'll sit here waiting. Go. Now.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
I have got the DVDs to this film and have been looking for the sound track for some time, Katherine Zeta Jones and Renee Zellweger were excellent in their parts as was Richard Gere, who as is normal for top stars who cannot sing talked his way through it, it did not ruin it as he is such an excellent actor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Love listening and singing along to this soundtrack. Some of the vocals are a bit questionable (Richard Gere for example) but that somehow makes it all the more enjoyable. Great for any fans of the film as well as the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
i have both the stage version and this the film version of Chicago, the stage version is longer but i am still very pleased with this version, there are some tracks at the end not on the stage version, i love the songs and am very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
If you were anything like my friend and I when we went to watch this at the cinema... you would have wanted to get up out of your seat and start dancing round like mad people! Well this album allows you to do just that... without the embarrassment!
When you start playing the album, from the first track it gives you all the sensations of watching the film instantly! You are whisked away to a seedy jazz nightclub with full on trumpets and piano's banging out the overture.. then "the" song... All that Jazz! Zeta-Jones stunned you visually in the movie.. but now you get to hear just how good she is! It's sexy, racey and just brilliant!
One of the best tracks on the album and in the film is Cell Block Tango! A song about 6 merry widows on death row who systematically recall their murderous exploits... all in the name of love! Pop... Six... Squish... Ah-ah... Cicero... Lipschitz! It was a show stopper in the movie and still grabs your attention even without the visual aspect. Truly excellent!
Mr Cellophane is brilliant... a partial tear-jerker, slightly melancholy... but ultimately beautiful! Razzle Dazzle is also excellent, with Richard Gere strutting his stuff! Still can't get over his tap dancing!!! Zellwegger is also great in Funny Honey! She starts off sultry and innocent, then you can really hear the anger in her voice start to well up as the loving husband turns on her! Queen Latifah is so Soulful and her rendition of When Your Good To Mama is outof this world! An amazing talent! A far cry from her days as a female rap artist!
The film was unbelievably brilliant from start to finish, and so is this soundtrack! No real disappointments! Dancers and choreographers... get this album... it's excellent for stage routines etc and you can have loads of fun prancing around to it!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
If you love show tunes or the theatre what's not to like about this album, ok so some of the lead vocalists aren't known first and foremost for their singing talent but there are a lot of soundtracks out there like that. It captures the spirit brilliantly in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First off, a confession: I have never seen the stage version of Chicago, nor had I ever heard any of the songs until I saw the recent film adaptation. That said, the film blew me away! I loved it so much I went straight out after leaving the cinema to buy the soundtrack, and the CD hasn't left my player yet!
All three leads perform admirably, and there isn't one letting the side down. Catherine Zeta-Jones has a lovely strong voice and Richard Gere's is surprisingly good. And Renee Zellweger! Who knew she could sing?! My favourite songs are the Cell Block Tango, When You're Good To Mama, We Both Reached For The Gun and Roxie, but there really isn't a weak link on this CD! The extra tracks by Anastacia and Queen Latifah/Lil' Kim/Macy Gray are unnecessary and to be perfectly honest the worst songs on the soundtrack!
Buy this!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2003
This is the fantastic score for the film version of the musical Chicago. Even if this is somewhat shorter than the stage version (some numbers had to stay out for cinematic purposes), even the most die-hard fans of the Kander/Ebb score won’t be disappointed: the arrangements are wonderful, the songs gain a new stamina and the vocals are outstanding: Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renée Zellweger do a great job as Velma Kelly and Roxie Hart, singing with great power and sexiness. Besides the songs that come from the musical comedy, two spectacular pieces by Danny Elfman and a r&b version of the Cell Block Tango by Queen Latifah, Lil ' Kim and the Macy Gray add value to this record.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)