Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Amazing!
If you want my opinion in short, "Buy this CD, you won't regret it!"
Last month i saw 'Chicago' on stage and ever since then i have been eagerly waiting for the new film to come out. I left the theatre with the songs in my head and the film was no different. These infectious songs are so catchy and once you've heard them, you won't be able to stop yourself bursting...
Published on 12 Jan 2003 by satan_stole_my_teddy_bear_uk

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars chicago soundtrack
never arrived, disappointing as it was to be a birthday present 4 my sister. just tried 2 give no stars but wasn't allowed 2 continue!
Published on 7 May 2009 by reeners c


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Amazing!, 12 Jan 2003
If you want my opinion in short, "Buy this CD, you won't regret it!"
Last month i saw 'Chicago' on stage and ever since then i have been eagerly waiting for the new film to come out. I left the theatre with the songs in my head and the film was no different. These infectious songs are so catchy and once you've heard them, you won't be able to stop yourself bursting into song.
'All that Jazz' and 'When you're good to Mama' are personal favourites but really there is not a bad song on this enchanting CD.
When 'Moulin Rouge' came out, everyone raved about the new musical. 'Chicago' beats that, and everything before it. Its fast, witty and powerful.
Catherine Zeta-Jones really shines, with an amazingly strong voice, she really makes you feel the lyrics that she is singing.
This is a flawless CD. Buy It! Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!, 21 Feb 2003
Despite my pre-conceived views of movie adaptations of stage shows being second rate, I was most surprised when I got to see Chicago, but what made the film so good was this stunning sound track!
The entire CD is packed with the movies favourite sounds (plus a few extra) and all the performers, who you'd normally expect to be reviewing for acting roles, give a superb vocal performance, each with their own distinct tone, adding a bit more 'edge' to the recording.
My favourite track has to be 4 - Cell Block Tango. Not only has it unforgettable lyrics, but the musical score together with the surprisingly good vocal talents of the actresses, doubles its appeal.
If you've never seen any version of Chicago (stage or screen), you'll hear this soundtrack as a little abstract, but if you've been lucky enough to experience Chicago, you'll definitely be much more appreciative of the tracks in every sense, and will seem much more of a must-buy sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 20 Jan 2003
I decided to buy the soundtrack before watching the movie, and it was well wort it. All the songs are good in their own right, but there are some that really stand out to be amazing. All That Jazz is so unbelievably raw and sultry, and Catherine Zeta-Jones' voice is a real surprise! When you're good to Mama is another good one, and Queen Latifah's voice is very soulful. But the highlight of the soundtrack, and also the movie was definately the Cell Block Tango, and Gaby Roslin and Michael Greco also agreed. Each of the murderesses tell their tale in incredible ways, and the whole song is fantastic!!
I'll finish by saying stand up. Go to the nearest music shop. Buy this soundtrack. I'll sit here waiting. Go. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance-tastic soundtrack!, 9 Feb 2006
I was given the soundtrack as part of a dance routine. I had not watched the film, but the tunes that stood out the most were "Cell Block Tango" with its catchy chorus, and "Overture/And All That Jazz", with the soulful singing from Catherine Zeta Jones. It compelled me to rent the film, and I was not disappointed - I ended up buying my own copy!Only low point in the soundtrack is possibly track 15, as it is a bit down compared to the rest of the fantastic, catchy, upbeat tunes (or downbeat tunes with "Mister. Cellophane" which had me nearly in tears the first time I heard it!) If you loved the film, or enjoy dancing, maybe for routines, then this is a soundtrack to add to your collection…I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high kicking, finger clickingly excellent soundtrack!, 1 May 2003
If you were anything like my friend and I when we went to watch this at the cinema... you would have wanted to get up out of your seat and start dancing round like mad people! Well this album allows you to do just that... without the embarrassment!
When you start playing the album, from the first track it gives you all the sensations of watching the film instantly! You are whisked away to a seedy jazz nightclub with full on trumpets and piano's banging out the overture.. then "the" song... All that Jazz! Zeta-Jones stunned you visually in the movie.. but now you get to hear just how good she is! It's sexy, racey and just brilliant!
One of the best tracks on the album and in the film is Cell Block Tango! A song about 6 merry widows on death row who systematically recall their murderous exploits... all in the name of love! Pop... Six... Squish... Ah-ah... Cicero... Lipschitz! It was a show stopper in the movie and still grabs your attention even without the visual aspect. Truly excellent!
Mr Cellophane is brilliant... a partial tear-jerker, slightly melancholy... but ultimately beautiful! Razzle Dazzle is also excellent, with Richard Gere strutting his stuff! Still can't get over his tap dancing!!! Zellwegger is also great in Funny Honey! She starts off sultry and innocent, then you can really hear the anger in her voice start to well up as the loving husband turns on her! Queen Latifah is so Soulful and her rendition of When Your Good To Mama is outof this world! An amazing talent! A far cry from her days as a female rap artist!
The film was unbelievably brilliant from start to finish, and so is this soundtrack! No real disappointments! Dancers and choreographers... get this album... it's excellent for stage routines etc and you can have loads of fun prancing around to it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This just razzles and dazzles, 17 Jun 2003
By A Customer
If you loved the film, you will love this cd. It is packed with all the songs and listening to the soundtrack allows you to relive the story all over again!All the voices sound great on this cd and if you are a fan of musicals, you will know what i mean when i say that you end up singing and dancing your way throught the cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Jazz!, 25 Feb 2003
This is the fantastic score for the film version of the musical Chicago. Even if this is somewhat shorter than the stage version (some numbers had to stay out for cinematic purposes), even the most die-hard fans of the Kander/Ebb score won’t be disappointed: the arrangements are wonderful, the songs gain a new stamina and the vocals are outstanding: Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renée Zellweger do a great job as Velma Kelly and Roxie Hart, singing with great power and sexiness. Besides the songs that come from the musical comedy, two spectacular pieces by Danny Elfman and a r&b version of the Cell Block Tango by Queen Latifah, Lil ' Kim and the Macy Gray add value to this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent singalong, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has all the hits from the musical and is great for singing along in the car, great for any fan of the hit show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this music feel like I have travelled across to the USA to hear these beautiful lady's perform !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicago - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture
Chicago - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture by Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews