Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 6 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
After a couple of listens to this album I was hooked! Bluegrass and bluesy, this album will rate amongst one of the best up and coming sounds of 2008. Chris Stapleton's voice is far from traditional yet it is addictive and the musicianship is first class. Driving banjo by Richard Bailey and the cool fiddling of Tammy Rodgers coupled with her harmonies make for a startling debut album. The songs writing keeps to the bluegrass roots of murder ballards, lost loves and the like. "Sticks that made thunder" recounts bloodshed of the civil war, is a remarkable track. Would recommend thoroughly and just can't wait for the next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars starts well and gets better, 4 Feb 2009
By 
P. D. Morgan (Wales , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
brilliant album grabs you with thr first track and has you in a armlock by the last,i love this album and I am not quite sure why? every time I play it the song sound different and fresh, like songs from you youth that were really important to you at the time, but you can never rember who they were by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 6 Jun 2010
By 
A. Jones "I love to Boogie" (SW Shropshire.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
This is great bang up to date.Not quite Blues and not quite BlueGrass Album.An absolutely lovely feel to this Record.BUY IT WHILE YOU STILL CAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Al Jones
South West Shropshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steeldrivers, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
what an unreal group of musicians. This album, their debut album, is a privilege to listen to. The songwriting on this album is exceptional, the majority of the songs written or co-written by the lead singer Chris Stapleton. And what a voice he has! Not your traditional bluegrass singer, his voice is more soulful than bluegrass but it fits the music so right, like bluegrass was always meant to sound like this. Anybody likes country music will love the Steeldriver's. They sound so modern but they dont take anything away from their traditional country roots. "Heaven Sent" is one of my fav songs and this is one of my favourite albums and one of my favourite bands. Give them a go, you'll love them.

Highlights for me:
Midnight Train to Memphis
If You Cant Be Good, Be Gone
If it hadnt been for Love
Sticks That Made Thunder
To Be With you Again
Heaven Sent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
This is my first purchase of a Steeldrivers album & wont be my last, from start to finish this album delivers, fantastic vocals, beautifully crafted music, heartfelt lyrics, it's a definite winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute pleasure to my senses, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
This album is superb! Buy it listen to it and you will totally hooked. I heard of this band thru listening to Adele... Thanks Adele, am Now a big fan of Steeldrivers too, your recommendation was inspired by a great sound. L O V E I T!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best new thing for years, 16 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
Picked up on this band when I tuned into Telluride on-line (KFOG). The sounds knocked me back. Chris Stapleton's voice is magnificent - as good as any in Bluegrass - and the harmonies are stunning. As others have said, the playing both individually and as an ensemble leaves nothing to be desired. I love this music. You don't have to work hard to enjoy it and it gives so much pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steeldrivers, 5 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
The only bluegrass album I own, bought purely on the basis of browsing Amazon and listening to music with previews available. This is something special, and bears a lot of listening ; Chris Stapleton's voice alone easily makes it worth the price of the CD ; however the instruments are simply outstanding. I hear more in this album every time I play it.It is also a very good quality recording. You won't regret buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Graham Morgan (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
Easily the best bluegrass album I own. Nothing to say really, just buy it and be blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Steeldrivers (Audio CD)
If you like Blue Grass this album is a must as the band are first class musicians and the songs are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Steeldrivers
The Steeldrivers by The Steeldrivers
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews