Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful
REVIEW OF SPECIAL SHOWING OF THE FILM TUESDAY 21st APRIL HATFIELD GALLERIA

When many people see the title of this DVD they could expect 2 hours of non stop head banging to Iron Maiden, and in that respect may be disappointed. There are numerous snippets from their 2008 world tour in venues as diverse as Mumbai and San Jose, but overall the film provides an...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Four Violets

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flight 666
I love Iron Maiden. When I heard they were filming a behind the scenes film, I loved the idea. After buying it for £20 from HMV, i'm kinda disappointed. The live footage is incredible, there's no other word for it, but the behind the scenes footage is so lacking. The film is about 70% live music (which is all on CD2). The behind the scenes footage is by no means bad, just...
Published on 29 May 2009 by Richard Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 27 April 2009
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flight 666: The Film [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
REVIEW OF SPECIAL SHOWING OF THE FILM TUESDAY 21st APRIL HATFIELD GALLERIA

When many people see the title of this DVD they could expect 2 hours of non stop head banging to Iron Maiden, and in that respect may be disappointed. There are numerous snippets from their 2008 world tour in venues as diverse as Mumbai and San Jose, but overall the film provides an insight into the workings of a unique piece of rock history.

In Bruce Dickinson Iron Maiden have a leader who is not only a musician, world class fencer, radio presenter, but a fully qualified commercial airline pilot, and it is his flying prowess which laid the basis for the tour. Several documentaries have been filmed about rock tours and generally comprise endless shots of black flight cases with fleets of Edwin Shirley trucks (other trucking companies are readily available) criss-crossing motorways in the UK and Europe.

It was decided that by modifying a Boeing 757 jet the group, management, and road crew together with staging, lights, and sound equipment could fly around the world perform a show, then take off the following day to the next venue. Perhaps this all sounds tedious but from the first sight of their beautifully sign written plane at Stansted, to the final chord struck in Toronto Canada the film keeps your attention without flagging.

There was a very human element to this documentary and what came across to me is the great family atmosphere the whole touring party created between themselves. The production director deciding he was retiring "again", the comment from the roadies that they can party as hard as anyone but at 7am or before if necessary they will all be ready to work without fail, the friendly banter with the air stewards never getting malicious.

In some ways the film is also a travelogue with stunning shots of cities, and the chaos from when their plane touched down until they were safely inside their hotel. The sickness the group encountered in India, perfect organisation of the shows in Melbourne and Sydney contrasting with the disturbing scenes in Bolivia showing fans camped out on the road for 10 days to see their heroes perform only to have their basic possessions stolen by the police.

There is plenty of stage footage to please die hard fans and interviews with band members who I felt gave a well balanced view of life on the road. Many of their entourage have been with the group since the early days of transit vans and motorway service stations so comfort levels have certainly increased. Perhaps the most revealing statement regarding media/fan pressure was the comment that once in the sanctuary of their hotel complete privacy should be given ... you would not think it from the hundreds of fans storming the reception area in Santiago.

There is a very fine line between success and failure in the music business so to remain in the top flight for nearly 30 years is a remarkable achievement. Iron Maiden still attract fans worldwide from ages 7 to 70 and I feel this DVD will appeal to anyone whos interest goes beyond buying their latest CD and attending the odd concert.

(Review by "Frank")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinema Film Review Only, 26 April 2009
By 
Mr Paul Savory (Wrexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flight 666: The Film [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
For those who could not get to the cinemas to see this excellent "Rockumentary" filmed from Mumbai to Toronto on the Somewhere Back In Time tour this review concerns only the film (running at 117 minutes)and not the concert disc.
The film was brilliant. Mostly behind the scenes with the road crew and band. Yes, yes it was "This Is Spinal Tap(esque)" but so flippin what. Maiden were shown to work hard, play hard & chillout quietly. The film was superbly edited and nicely laid out chronologically. The groups humour shone through. Harry (Bruce's ex-father-in-law) always told me the old cliche was true of them, "You couldn't meet a nicer bunch of lads". And that's going back about 23 years. It is mainly the subtle humour which carries this film. as all of the live songs are extracts except for Hallowed Be The Name. Hence the inclusion of the concert disc in this package. (According to the dvd cover it is the full concert filmed in 16 different countries).
I will not spoil this film but relaying what happens but it was interesting to listen to the cinema audience I was in (that will be lost when viewing this at home)react to different cultures around the world. Not meaning to be racist, it is just something that a British rock fan base is not used to and that is to see 000's of Indians going hell for leather & singing along to metal. And the Japanese are just wonderfully mental (always have been since Deep Purple & Queen etc in the early 70s). A large chunk of the movie is given to the fans who express their love, devotion & admiration of this cute little beast called Iron Maiden.
OK I have seen the film and will probably watch it once or twice more over the next few years, but no doubt the concert disc will be played a whole lot more.
Thanx for reading this review...
...and of course... UP THE IRONS !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning blu-Ray documentary., 27 May 2009
By 
Mr. P. Stubbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The widescreen picture quality on this Blu-ray film is very impressive , when you see the hundreds of glowing mobile phones in the crowds in pin sharp detail, you will see what I mean!
This documentary follows rock legends Iron Maiden around the world as they break new ground being the first band to traverse the globe in a converted 747 ( Ed Force One ).
It's great to see backstage footage of this quiet ,friendly reserved band, who treat their fans with great respect, it also features great live footage from this tour.
The film also shows the bands commitment to putting on a great show no matter what, there is a scene where they catch a stomach bug in India , and have buckets at the side of the stage of their next show ( "for both ends"!), but still go on with the concert which shows their determination.
I have one very minor gripe with this film , and that is it spends a lot of time on the fans around the world, rather than the band but that is my only complaint.
This Blu-Ray has an entire 16 song concert from the tour as an extra. Each song filmed in a different ciity. The picture and sound quality and the bands perfomance is excellent.
If you like well made music documentaries, and especially if you're a Maiden fan, I highly recommend this Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 3 Aug 2009
I got this DVD last week, and watched it with my fiancé, who happens to be (or at least he thinks) the number-one iron maiden's fan.
Not only is this an excellent glimpse into the lives of Iron Maiden on the road, it's also an entertaining travelogue, that offers a look at rock and roll through the lens of several "non-European" cultures. It's simply amazing to see the crowds of people thronging in the airports in Mumbai, Costa Rica, MAINLY - IN BRAZIL, and other countries. It is clear from watching this film that Iron Maiden are far from being some heavy metal relic from the 80s, trying to relive their glory days. Far from it. This is a band who is still attracting hundreds of thousands of people all over the world.

Musically, these guys don't show any signs of their age. Actually, they appear to be playing quite better now. The concert footage throughout the film shows a band at the top of their form. Bruce Dickinson wails as powerfully as he ever has, even in the mountains of Bogota, where the air is a bit thinner than he is used to. Nicko McBrain mercilessly flogs his drum kit, even when he almost breaks his wrist while playing a round of golf on one of his days off. The triple guitar attack of Adrian Smith, Janick Gers and Dave Murray is nothing short of awe inspiring: these guys trade solos back and forth, like some sort of intricate sporting event. And let us not forget the inimitable Steve Harris, who manages to play a great show in Australia, while still feeling the stomach-turning effects of a bug caught in India a few days before. I must also say, it's nothing short of inspirational to watch the reaction of the crowd in the concert scenes. The most emotional moment comes toward the end of the film, when a Latin American fan who has caught one of Nicko's drum sticks at the end of the show breaks down in tears, crosses himself and lifts his hands heavenward, absolutely enraptured by his concert experience. Beautiful...

Meanwhile, the film shows us much entertaining and often hilarious behind-the-scenes footage of the band recovering from concerts, hanging out on Ed Force One (the plane which Bruce Dickinson pilots around the globe, carrying all the band, crew and equipment), meeting and greeting fans all over the world, and sometimes kicking back and relaxing. The interviews interspersed throughout the film manage to give a paint a fascinating picture of a group who has been doing this for a little while, and one comes away with the impression that these guys are devoted to their fans and the music, while maintaining quite a bit of humility and respect for each other.

If you are at all a fan of Iron Maiden, you need to see Flight 666; if you are a fan of rock music, you need to see Flight 666. Hang it all, if you're a person who enjoys seeing a bunch of people who are passionate about what they do, encountering people of all kinds of cultures, you need to see Flight 666! Go ahead, once you've read this review, go to Amazon or FYE or wherever you like to shop online, and get yourself a copy of this DVD! You will not be disappointed, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In one word - Incredible, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Henrique Graca (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is really a must buy for any metal fan and especially any Iron Maiden fan.
I myself only know about 20 Iron Maiden songs and have yet to witness them live but after watching this documentary I can say for certain they have become part of my favorite bands and I now intend to see them act llive as soon as possible
The documentary itself features some of the songs the band played in this "Back to the Past" tour, one they consider, quoting Bruce himself "... a gift for our younger fans". The songs you can find here are only 16 and not the only ones in the setlist. They also not show every city they went to in the tour, rather picking some of the best moments, one song per city.
You will also be able to watch the band in their somewhat private moments when goofing around, relaxing from the tiresome shows while doing some outdoor activities and also their impression on the tour itself, the fans, the band and witness some of the cultural diversity of the different audiences the band played to and some of the fan madness present here and there (a guy in chile crying after being able to get a drum stick and an Iron Maiden brazillian priest come to mind).
The picture quality is very good and substantially better than the DVD version, as can be said for the DTS 5.1 sound. Unfortunately I was unable to experience the full sound potetntial the bluray had to offer because I do not own a 5.1 linear PCM sound decoder but the normal DTS 5.1 was already very good, immersing you in the immensity of the concerts with the powerful crowd cheers.
Also, as a side note I would definitely agree with Bruce when he says shows in Latin countries have a whole new level of energy and devotion to the bands. You can really see the difference.
Finally, something which was a cool touch to me was having people from other renowned bands such as Lars Ulrich from Metallica and Tom Morello from Rage Against The Machine coming to one of the shows and commenting on it.
All in all a great buy for the price and one I would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accoustically brilliant, 2 Sep 2010
the footage was high quality and varied in content. superb idea to share the venue between the countries, 1 track in costa rica, another in malaysia etc.get to see how different fans react. on the blu-ray the music on a 5.1 set-up really blows you away,you could pick out specialist solo's in the middle of the general in-your-face raw music.
it was like getting to know the band, on board the plane, their quiet time, and the way each prepares for a concert and what they are like on stage.
the wife is a bon jovi fan but even she is asking for tickets next tour.

superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Irons" Rule the World !, 27 May 2009
Awesome Docu ! from beginning to end. Portrays just what it's like to be on Tour with the World's Biggest Metal Band doing the Greatest Show on Earth. In two words - BUY THIS !! A PIECE OF MAIDEN HISTORY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden 'eaven, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Graham Turner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been waiting to watch this film for months but haven't got around to it - so I was well chuffed to get it for my birthday, especially on blu-ray.

What can I say, the movie is great fun and the live footage is awesome - but if you've ever seen Maiden live yourself, then you know what it's all about. Give yourself a treat, buy it, stick your tv through the surround sound, crack open a beer and enjoy.Iron Maiden - Flight 666 [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at their best, 29 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality, Quality......Quality. You have to see it to belive it.

A fine example of a top British Metal Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Maiden, 27 May 2010
By 
shopper1347 (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flight 666: The Film [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I actually got to see the movie on the one day it showed in cinemas around the world. It was awesome! And now I can watch it again on DVD. The quality is good enough as expected and the 2nd disc containing live songs is a big bonus. If you didn't like the rockumentary then at least get it for the live concert DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight 666: The Film [DVD] [2009]
Flight 666: The Film [DVD] [2009] by Iron Maiden (DVD - 2009)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews