Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva la Revolucion!
Firstly, this movie, like most `historical' or `biographical' movies, puts entertainment first and fact second; it is full of misrepresentations and re-imaginings and can be best enjoyed if you do not approach it expecting a 107 minute history lesson. What it is is a fictionalised, romanticised tale of Salvador Dali and Federico Lorca's turbulent relationship throughout...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Ni

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love and ashes
For most of his life, Salvador Dali denied that he had ever been lovers with the tragic poet Federico García Lorca -- until the end of his life.

So, writer Philippa Goslett and director Paul Morrison explore what may have been in "Little Ashes," in which two young men become close friends, more-than-friends, only to have their relationship splinter...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confused and feels unfinished, 23 July 2009
By 
Ren (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really wanted to like this film, it sounded interesting, and I was curious to see what the lead actor, Robert Pattinson could do outside of the Twilight franchise.

The acting seemed reasonable, given what the had to work with, and the romance between Salvador Dali (Robert Pattinson) and Federico Garcia Lorca (Javier Beltran) was tastefully done, but unfortunately they are really the only good things I can say about it.

The film was confusing to say the least, other than remembering some of the names, I knew nothing about the characters portrayed in Little Ashes, but watching the film it jumps from event to event with little explanation and you feel that the watcher needs to have a reasonable knowledge of the characters to have any idea what is going on. There are also several scenes that just feel completely implausible, such as Dali arriving at the school looking every ounce the shy outcast (there's no question Pattinson plays traumatised outcast very well) and then a few scenes later cuts his hair and changes his cloths immediately becoming an outspoken rebel.

Another issue I had was the lack of subtitles, as the cast all spoke with very heavy accents and often mumbled, it was quite hard to make out the dialogue at times, making it even harder to figure out what was supposed to be going on.

The "romance" between the two leads was tastefully handled, but just didn't work. There was very little romantic about it, the "meaningful looks" between the two tended to lean more towards crazed and depraved stalker than any kind of romantic overtones.

Rather than, what I can assume was the desired effect, I just found the whole film incredibly uncomfortable, extremely confusing, and at times rather creepy, along with the general feeling that more of the original screenplay ended up on the cutting room floor than made it into the film. I did feel that there was a very interesting story in there somewhere just crying to be let out, but with the heavy-handed editing it just didn't stand a chance.

Generally I'd say this is one to avoid, even if you happen to be a fan of anyone in the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like Rob, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought the film as it is starring Rob, and it is an okay film. Mostly because of Rob ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little Ashes, 8 Nov 2009
By 
J. H. Chandler (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Boring, boring, boring. Poor actor portraying Salvador Dali. The other actors were actually pretty good but the drawn out story line was boring. Very disappointing, didn't actually watch it the whole way through,Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] as there is more to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One man and his wig, 20 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ha ha ha ha ha, I watched this two days ago and I'm STILL laughing at the memory of Robert Pattinson's wig/moustache/general acting skills and Spanish 'accent'. Crikey, what an embarrassing mess of a film. Insulting, too, to the memory of legendary film director Luis Bunuel, reduced by Philippa Goslett's script to an arrogant bully. Homophobic or otherwise (at a time when people often were) - Bunuel had more talent in his left butt cheek than 'Little Ashes' director Paul Morrison could even begin to dream of. (He's happy, I notice, to borrow the eyeball slice from Bunuel and Dali's 'Un chien andalou' to spice up his own dreary offerings.)

Where to begin? I was bored from the second this started. Why make it in English with mainly Spanish actors? It's one of my pet hates - make it in Spanish, for God's sake, if you want authenticity, or just admit that you don't and let everyone speak clear English. The dialogue borders on the unintelligible (with no subtitle option) - although, to be fair to the Spanish actors, the worst offender is Robert blooming Pattinson, who delivers his lines like an A-level student who hasn't revised, in a garbled sort of non-accent with twiddly bits.

As for the much-vaunted homoeroticism... 'Little Ashes' is marginally less erotic than a cheese and onion crisp. You do very nearly see RP's manhood, so if that's your bag then live it up - but the love scenes between his Dali and Javier Beltran's Lorca are quite astonishingly lifeless, and as for the shining moment when Pattinson goes solo down the five digit disco... let's just say, if you managed not to wee yourself laughing, I think you're missing a funny bone somewhere.

`Little Ashes' makes `Twilight' look like Citizen Kane... and makes Robert Pattinson look like a cretin. I'd just wait for `New Moon' if I were you. Or, even better, go watch a Bunuel film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dali, Lorca and Bunuel would be horrified!, 20 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
When I first heard about this film, it was only a month before its release on DVD, so I thankfully didn't have long to wait. Not knowing about the film beforehand - due to the poor title not giving anything away - I was very much looking forward to seeing this. It concentrates on the early meeting of three of Spain's must intuitive geniuses and I think they would be truly horrified if they saw this recreation of their being; the film in its entirety is a huge disappointment.

Dali and Lorca's close friendship is featured prominently, with Bunuel almost a glorified extra; the result is utter romantic rubbish, turning what could have been a corker of a movie, into a poor excuse to show two men in love. The emphasis here is clearly placed on Lorca as many examples of his so-called poetry are recited, but very few of Dali's works are recreated, so this again highlights the romantic intentions of its creator.

If you love romantic films, by all means, watch this but if want to learn anything about Dali, Lorca or Bunuel simply buy a book about them as there is absolutely nothing to be learnt here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little ashes, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
i am a big robert pattinson fan and found that though he looked very sexy and played quite a great charactor, the film after 30 minutes became un watchable too complicated to keep along. thinking it just my age and not my decade kind of stuff my mum also a big robert pattinson fan too tried with my father whom very much in to history and has no favorite actors, both them found the same results then me.

not my kind of film sadly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little Ashes, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Paulette A. Sabol (Loveland, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I had to return this DVD because it could not be played/viewed in my region. I was surprised that Amazon would send me a region 2 movie knowing I lived in region 1. It was a waste of my time and my money. Sincerely, Paulette Sabol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Ashes [DVD] [2008]
Little Ashes [DVD] [2008] by Paul Morrison (DVD - 2009)
5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews