Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to put you in the mood!
An absolute must for any Nolans' fan, this greatest hits collection features the original recordings of the girls' finest moments from their years with Epic Records. As such, this album is infinitely preferable to the rather cheap-sounding re-recordings on other labels which have been released more recently, and which, generally, are not as good as I expected. All eight...
Published on 8 Dec. 2002 by bachelorboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Nolans
Like these girls singing, and purchased it after the death of Bernie, but must say thought it was of poor quality
Published 20 months ago by ethelyn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to put you in the mood!, 8 Dec. 2002
By 
bachelorboy (Bournemouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of the Nolans (Audio CD)
An absolute must for any Nolans' fan, this greatest hits collection features the original recordings of the girls' finest moments from their years with Epic Records. As such, this album is infinitely preferable to the rather cheap-sounding re-recordings on other labels which have been released more recently, and which, generally, are not as good as I expected. All eight of the girls' UK Top 40 hits are here, including the well-crafted pop of 'Attention To Me' and 'Gotta Pull Myself Together' and (of course!) their infectious signature tune, 'I'm In The Mood For Dancing'. Other highlights are the uptempo 'Sexy Music' and the romantic ballads 'God Knows', 'Spirit Body & Soul' and their cover of Diana Ross' 'Touch Me In The Morning', proof it it were ever needed that the Nolans excelled at harmonies. All in all, an excellent album...my only criticism (and it's a minor one)are the omissions; a shame that 'Get Ready', 'Out Of Love With Love' and 'Don't Stoke The Fire' were not included but maybe Epic will see fit to release a further compilation in the future! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The OFFICIAL Best Of.., 23 Aug. 2003
By 
F. Williamson "Witchy fee" (Kirkcaldy, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of the Nolans (Audio CD)
There are so many Nolans compilations around, and most of them are re-recordings of their classics, and many have very poor production, that it was a relief when Sony released this one...this is probably as near to an Official Best Of that you'll get. All the tracks are the original recordings, and the booklet contains a great 'history' of the band, and great pictures. As well as all their hits, there is much more, including a lot of tracks from 'Portrait' which have never been released on CD before.
A must for any collection..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Pop, 13 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Best of the Nolans (Audio CD)
A must for all us POPHEDZ.
The Nolans were the second best exponents of British family music. (The best were THE DOOLEYS, but they bo not have a cd to review, so I'll have to do The Nolans instead --- come on sony, get that one sorted).
This cd is crammed with brilliant pop tracks from the pens of Findon, Myers, Puzey, Ulvaeus, Anderson, Blue, Smith, Graham, Gold and Deane. These guys (esp Findon) were behind some of the greatest pop hits of the late 70s / early 80s.
This cd focusses on the Blackpool / Irish sisters in their chart heyday. Sadly when their line-up was rocked by regular change, with sisters leaving, joining, re-joining etc. (It seemed that whenever a sister left the group, there was always another waiting in the wings to take her place :-) )
All the hits are here, from SPIRIT BODY AND SOUL, the ageless classic, I'm in the mood for dancing (1979), through to the latter hits DRAGONFLY and CRASHING DOWN, (when the hits did crash down in 1982).
The girls had been on the scene for quite a few years before these hits and are all working in entertainment all these years later, but you know that they will never be forgotten, because every saturday DJs will be playing I'm in the mood for dancing to hords of girls dancing round their handbags, under the plastic palm trees in discos up and down the length and breadth of Britain.
The Nolans were a superb act, go out and buy this definative "hit era" disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best of the nolans, 20 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of the Nolans (Audio CD)
I'm 14 and love The Nolans. I was brought this album by my parents for my birthday and haven't stop listening to it since. I love all the songs especially Attention to me, and The Nolans version of 'Thank You for the Music' is great. Although I wasn't around when The Nolans were I love them, and every second and every minute of this album is fantastic and if I was you I'd buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive hits collection, 1 Mar. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of the Nolans (Audio CD)
Originally billed as the Nolan Sisters, this Irish group first made an impact on the British public via television. Their first album, 20 giant hits, was a collection of covers of UK pop hits. After that, their albums were a mix of covers and original material, which yielded eight UK hits. While that covers album was an easy listening collection, their subsequent music was lightweight, danceable pop music.
Their first hit, Spirit body and soul, only made the thirties but their remaining hits all made the top twenty. I'm in the mood for dancing, their second single, was a top three hit while Gotta pull myself together and Attention to me also made the top ten. Don't make waves, Who's gonna rock you, Chemistry and Don't love me too hard complete their UK chart history.
This is the definitive collection of Nolans music, containing all their hits as well as many other great tracks. Another compilation, Super hits, contains ten of these tracks including the eight hits, so if you only want the hits and nothing else, you can save yourself some money by buying that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Nolans (Audio CD)
When I bought this it was before I heard the sad news that Berny was ill again, she and the rest of the siisters where greatly under rated. Not sure if the sisters will perform agagin now, but happy memories, RIP Berny and thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Nolans, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Nolans (Audio CD)
Like these girls singing, and purchased it after the death of Bernie, but must say thought it was of poor quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nolans rule still after all these years!, 9 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Nolans (Audio CD)
I love this cd. I only have one critiscm though, i cant really tell if the tracks have been remastered or not. Sounds like the album has been put 2gether by amateurs as the tracks alternate between high and low output. Its's really frustrating, bcause with each track i have to adjust the volume. Would have been a fantastic compilation if it were done properly - by professionals! That's the only gripe i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Nolans (Audio CD)
great songs great music and ive always loved the nolans and if you like the nolans you will like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cd album containing most of the UK chart hit ..., 19 Feb. 2015
By 
Stephen M. J. Passant (Baldock,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Nolans (Audio CD)
An excellent cd album containing most of the UK chart hit singles but not all by the Irish sisters is "Best Of" by The Nolans.They also represented Ireland in the qualifying rounds of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1979 with "Harry My Honolulu Lover"(Not on the "Best Of" CD Album) but Cathal Dunne "Happy Man" was chosen instead for the finals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Nolans
The Best Of The Nolans by The Nolan Sisters (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews