Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, disturbing, powerful film!
I have waited years for this film to be released on DVD. It is definitely in my all time top 5. It's very heavy-going in parts but I could not take my eyes away from the screen. This is based on a true story and everyone should see this film. For some, seeing this film will be an eye-opener about the experience of the native Australian people... I can equate it to...
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by Kizzy Caz

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars preachy
This film could have done with editing and been 30minutes shorter. Nice cinematography. Acting was uninspiring. Keneally's preaching gets on ones nerves.The whites are all nasties and the blacks all abused and homeless and living on charity .I'm sure that was true but character development is more important for a film to grip you.
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by Harry Dean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, disturbing, powerful film!, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have waited years for this film to be released on DVD. It is definitely in my all time top 5. It's very heavy-going in parts but I could not take my eyes away from the screen. This is based on a true story and everyone should see this film. For some, seeing this film will be an eye-opener about the experience of the native Australian people... I can equate it to when 'Roots' was first shown in the 1970's. At the end of the film I was left with intense emotions, as if I had been carried away by a whirlwind. I urge you to buy this film, it's brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmie's brutal revenge is unmissable., 19 April 2015
At the turn of the 20th century Jimmie Blacksmith a young Australian half-cast tries to fit in with white society but is treated with hatred and racism even when he marries a white woman. Eventually Jimmie explodes with violence against the people he feels responsible for the he's been treated.

Fantastic drama about what happens when someone has had enough and takes it out on everyone. Fred Schepisi directs with real skill from Thomas Keneally's superb non-fiction novel into a masterpiece of intolerance and injustice. The first hour of the movie builds the tension scene after scene until the inevitable explosion of violence, the second hour see's Jimmie on the run with escalating violence and tension. Acting from unknown Tommy Lewis in the lead is fairly understated but no less powerful, the entire cast deliver strong and credible performances. There is a lot of racist language and characters but most certainly not a racist film, some may find it too strong, to what it is doing is adding to the atmosphere of the film and all subsequent events within the picture. The beautiful cinematography is another major bonus, the shots and locations look stunning and are most definitely a character of there own, as is the understated score making its presence heard but never being intrusive.

Absolutely outstanding movie about a controversial subject rarely seen on screen. One of the very best Australian films of all time, and also a film never really given the credit it deserves.

This is a movie that really shows how stupid the DPP and police where in the 1980's, to think an incredibly serious, important and frankly excellent picture like this could have been linked as a possible video nasty (it was eventually a section 3title) is utterly ridiculous and shows the complete nonsense at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great piece of cinema., 8 Aug. 2009
By 
I can only echo what the previous reviewer says about this movie.Absolutely mindblowing!The disc comes with afew extras a commentary by director fred schpesi,a making of (35mins)and an interview with lead actor tommy lewis(25mins),he certainly is a strange chap,he didnt do very much acting after this I suppose after this movie the only way is down.DONT MISS IT..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - but no subtitles on this DVD!, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This definitely deserves its place in the "1001 Movies You Must See before You Die" list. It's not just thrilling - although it certainly is that - it's also intelligently written and directed. The way it charts Jimmie's reponse to being pulled simultaneously towards his aboriginal and white ancestry, and his journey from earnest self-improver to hate-filled avenger to lost soul is fantastic. It's worth watching the director's commentary, it brings into focus his intention to show that the things that were said and done to and by Jimmie were a product of, and consistent with, that time in Australian history. We might well be appalled at them but that's how it was. We can condemn retrospectively - just as we condemn the Holocaust and other outrages - but we also have to understand that the capacity for humans to inflict these outrages pre-dates history and will always lurk ready to appear. The value of this film lies in this message.

But what a pity that it's only available as an import and that this version - the Region 1 US import - has no subtitles. It's not just the aboriginal dialect that is at times unintelligible - the white Irish Australian settler accent defeated me too at times! This was more than just a pity, it robbed me of a complete understanding of the things said to Jimmie in "justification" of the treatment of him, and of his justification for his response. Fortunately the general drift was clear enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been searching for this film for many years after watching it on tv. First class service and film better than I remembered. A classic, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Australian Film?, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (The 30th Anniversary Edition ) (DVD)
Fred Schepisi's 1978 film may well be just that but it's not included in my Australian Cinema 12 disc boxed set and I've never known it to be on TV, here. I became aware of it through my old film 'bible' Halliwells and they rated it very highly, awarding a rare maximum score, citing it as 'one of the greatest achievements in Australian cinema'.

It's taken me a good number of years to finally find a copy that was on region of DVD I could play and wasn't a silly price.

The first thing you notice is the sheer authenticity. Language is as brutal as any and is more akin to a Victorian Scorsese than starched collars and stiff upper lips. The language used to describe the aboriginal natives is as coarse and racist as you'll find in any gritty 70's set LA cop show and for that it is both upsetting and rather embarrassing, but at least goes to show the leaps and bounds humankind has largely made on this issue, since.

Jimmie Blacksmith is a half-cast, a subject that has been visited in a few memorable films, particularly 'Rabbit Proof Fence' and as 'these' were often the result of rape against white women, were seen as worse than the lowest. Jimmie (superbly played by Tommy Lewis) does have an advantage, he's overseen by the local white vicar and is known as a hard and honest worker.

He soon goes on to work for white farmers, along with his fully aboriginal brother, erecting fences. Miles of them. He does too good a job and they don't want to pay, so he moves on. His relationship with a white girl, then marriage results in a child, that by colour alone, cannot be his. Then, around half-way in, all this pent-up anger boiling up inside the civilised and decent Jimmie erupts. This is when the violence (extreme in its day, now, maybe sadly, average) erupts as he goes on a vengeful killing spree.

I need not go further than this, except that obviously, he is then a wanted criminal and a fugitive on the run.

There's a real sense of the epic, with cinematic hints and nods to Nicolas Roeg's 'Walkabout', with the natural geography, fauna and the culture all vividly brought to life, superbly filmed by Ian Baker .

Thankfully - hopefully, this can now be seen as a historical drama, the like of which can never happen again. It is as hard-hitting and making as powerful a statement on in-bred racism there is and is without doubt a five star classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars preachy, 25 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (The 30th Anniversary Edition ) (DVD)
This film could have done with editing and been 30minutes shorter. Nice cinematography. Acting was uninspiring. Keneally's preaching gets on ones nerves.The whites are all nasties and the blacks all abused and homeless and living on charity .I'm sure that was true but character development is more important for a film to grip you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (The 30th Anniversary Edition )
£20.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews