Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Creepshow' FINALLY given the royal DVD treatment
'Creepshow' is the best horror anthology ever put to film. It even beats out the original 'Tales From the Crypt' (which is a close second). For almost ten years, fans of this fantastic horror film have had to live with a barebones/crap-transfer DVD. Now, unfortunately not in the States, but in the U.K., a fantastic 2-Disc release with wonderfully ghoulish extra...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by Erik Van Sant

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A word of warning.
In reponse to the review submitted by one customer which was for the 2 disc special edition of Creepshow.
The item listed above is 1 disc only with no special features at all.
Just wanted to make this clear to avoid confusion.
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by 1970sBlackheart.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Creepshow' FINALLY given the royal DVD treatment, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Erik Van Sant "King of Cheese" (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Creepshow' is the best horror anthology ever put to film. It even beats out the original 'Tales From the Crypt' (which is a close second). For almost ten years, fans of this fantastic horror film have had to live with a barebones/crap-transfer DVD. Now, unfortunately not in the States, but in the U.K., a fantastic 2-Disc release with wonderfully ghoulish extra features.

The standouts on this release are definitely the incredibly gorgeous transfer/deleted scenes/'Just Desserts' documentary, and Tom Savini's priceless video diary of the effects for the five films.

For my money, it doesn't get better than watching Savini punch hair into 'Fluffy', the crate monster. And there's so much more.

This is a must-have for any horror fan. The best release of 2007 in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepshow Turns 25, and Continues To Age Gracefully, 28 Nov 2007
By 
Kenneth Holm (Kenosha, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to give you a story by story review. If you're reading this, you probably know all about it already. This set contains a wonderful transfer of the film, which has been restored with loving care. Also new is the commentary with George A. Romero and Tom Savini. While they tend to ramble a bit, it is an interesting time for the true lovers of this movie.

The second disc houses the all new retrospective featuring actors and crewmembers having a good time dredging up memories from the shoot. This was realy quite cool, as it explained a lot about the filming. Deleted scenes are also included, but they are mostly extended scenes with additional dialogue. There is also footage shot during the movie by Tom Savini which shows some of the hardships that occured while shooting.

All together, this is a worthwhile pruchase for anyone who loves Creepshow. The transfer makes it worth purchasing. The only problem that ket it from being five stars was the title menus. The writing was a bit blurry, and the background was too chaotic to be able to see what is going on. Even with these objections, it is worth every penny, and I am sure you will love it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepshow (2 Disc DVD) - The Lowdown., 2 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. R. V. Ennis "bumblebert" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I'm not going to bother reviewing the film itself. If you're taking the time to bother to read this you're already probably (like me) a complete Creepshow obsessive.

Im going to focus on the DVD itself:

PICTURE
Firstly the film is presented in widescreen. The American import DVD included a widescreen version of the film on one side and an "unmatted" version on the other that had more vertical picture information. The widescreen version is the correct ratio and was how the film was seen in theatres. The picture is greatly improved on the previous edition. Much sharper and clearer though their are marks and scratches on the negative itself which are not too distracting and acceptable for a film of its age.

SOUND
There is a 5.1 sound option which I can't comment on as I don't have the right equipment. The stereo track is clear giving clear dialogue and vivid music. (UPDATE: I've since bought a surround system and can report that the film sounds GREAT in 5.1. Especially the famous soundtrack!)

EXTRAS
This is what really makes the release. There is a feature length (90 mins approx) documentary, which is good but would benefit from more of the stars being in it (Ted Danson, Leslie Nielson) and Stephen King's absence is keenly felt. The deleted scenes are taken from the workprint of the film and do not include (as rumoured) the sequence with Ted Danson's hand coming off or Adrienne Barbeau's characters head coming out of the crate. The commentary is decent but suffers from the moderator being too jokey and he actually interrupts Romero and FX man Tom Savini at times.

OVERALL
An excellent DVD release which, though it feels ungrateful and petty to say so, could probably have been a little better. Still a great effort though and the best release we're likely to see of what is pretty much an obscure film. Thanks for reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King's tribute to good old E.C. Comics, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Rather than attempt to avoid charges of cheesiness, Creepshow embraces such a characterization, patterning itself openly on the old E.C. horror comics of the 1950s, those delightful horror-filled books of illustrated wonder which the horror-phobic among the general population brought down with their baseless charges of fragile little mind corruption. The movie is framed around a modern-day father who all but thrashes his son for having brought a Creepshow comic book into the house. Out in the trash the comic book goes, where an animated horror-meister and a cooperative set of wind gusts take us through its pages of old-style, campy spooks and scares. Each of the five stories making up the bulk of this movie are delivered in the form of a cinematic comic book, with the opening and closing of each tale of terror literally presented inside the type of illustrated frame found therein. Each of the stories is good but perhaps not great, enjoyable but not overly exciting. Among a cast of several big-name actors, a certain fellow from Maine comes close to stealing the show.
In Father's Day, you have your basic decayed dead body crawling up out of the grave to demand the final wish denied him in his final moments of life. This is really the most stereotypical of the five vignettes, although it does offer a modern example of hideousness in the form of Ed Harris dancing. Next up is The Lonesome Death of Jordy Verrill, wherein a half-wit of sorts discovers that meteorites from the heavens bring with them something more than the prospect of a couple of hundred bucks from the university science department. This story could easily be called It Grows on You. Playing the part of Jordy is none other than Stephen King himself, and I believe he gives a rather remarkable performance. The role doesn't exactly call for the world's greatest actor, but King definitely exhibits some natural acting skills in this unprecedented extended foray before the cameras. Something To Tide You Over is pretty good, casting Leslie Nielsen as the jealous husband intent on teaching his wife and her lover (Ted Danson) a thing or two about threatening to take away one of his possessions. It's rather predictable, but the unusual nature of the jealous husband's revenge is fun to watch. The Crate is the best of these five stories in my opinion. The action revolves around the discovery of a 150-year old crate inside a university science building. The janitor who finds it is the first to discover the importance of its contents, although he quickly finds himself in no condition to communicate the discovery should he wish to do so. The professor who watches the scene in horror is severely traumatized and runs off to seek the aid and comfort of a friend. One man's nightmare is another man's gain, as Hal Holbrook's hen-pecked character proves. Of course, what would a Creepshow be without bugs? The fifth story provides cockroaches in legions, much to the horror of a hard-nosed, germ-paranoid, bug-hating businessman. Sure, the man's got a problem interacting with his fellow man, but the hard lesson he learns is a little bit extreme. Bug-haters should be forewarned about the content of this story as it is literally crawling with bugs.
Creepshow is the brainchild of modern horror master Stephen King and well-known horror director George Romero. The format and unique style of presentation of this movie are impressively campy, and the manner in which the stories are introduced is very effective. Creepshow comes as close as humanly possible to becoming a video comic book. Its faithfulness to and nostalgia for E.C. Comics are quite satisfying to those of us whose disdain for would-be censors of such material knows no bounds. Those who would criticize the campiness of this horror film would probably have a hard time understanding that such charges are, in this particular case, indications of success rather than failure. If you like your crypts emptied of animated corpses, your meteors filled with a substance much more significant than metals of different sorts, and your murders conducted with the type of unusual flare that shows how much the perpetrator really cares, Creepshow is a movie that can definitely entertain you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creepshow is a forgotten gem of a horror movie. The most fun you'll have been SCARED!!!!!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this for the first time with my dad during halloween on one of those Horror marathons that used to be on BBC2. I was waiting to see this after seeing a clip of it on the same channel. Good to see that i was not disappointed with the feature presentation. Five great and terrifying stories of the Macabre by two of the best horror masters Stephen king and George A. Romero. I suppose you could say Six stories if you count the wraparound story of Billy (the boy reading the comic) and his Dad. The effects may be old school but i value them much more than most of the CGI effects they have nowadays. Creepshow stills scares me to this day. John Harrison (who later scored the music of Day of the Dead) devises a brilliantly creepy and chilling soundtrack which pretty much put you in the mood for whats to come, Pure unsettling horror. When i first heard the theme at the start of the movie, it send shivers down my spine and still does nowadays whenever i watch it. This was the film that got me into all the other anthropology horrors like Asylum, from Beyond the grave, Vault of horror, Tales from the crypt, Dr terrors house of horrors and many more. Now finally Creepshow gets the treatment it deserves and a forgotten classic is re-remembered for what it was, spine chilling horror.
It's just too bad that the other sequels (yes i'm including Creepshow 3) weren't directed by George (he was only the scriptwriter for the second one) and again have 5 great horrifying stories (the second one only has three. Only three??? Why couldn't they have added two more?) cause that would have made it an unforgettable trilogy of the horror comic-style franchise.
If you enjoy being scared, you're in for the fright of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Bloody Chicken Soup For The Horror Loving Soul, 18 Oct 2008
By 
JEY (Largs, UK) - See all my reviews
One of the best horror anthologies to come out of the early 80s and one I practically grew up with. Using a very clever homage to the old EC horror comics and with it's black swollen tongue stuck firmly in it's skeletal cheek, this film takes us through a series of absolutely brilliant macabre stories specially written by Stephen King.

Classics include the wrath of a father who just wants his cake, a vengeful murderous husband who gets in some serious deep water..*snigger*, a hapless fool who should never have touched a fallen meteor, a desperately unhappy man finding the perfect alternative to a divorce thanks to the unlikely discovery of a crate and a contemptible tycoon with a phobia of bugs getting just what he deserves. There's also a neat little filler story that connects them altogether. The only flaw in Creepshow is that nobody told Stephen King he couldn't act. His little stint in front of the camera is quite memorable...for all the wrong reasons... This movie is like black bloody chicken soup for the ever hungry horror loving soul. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release delayed for special edition, 13 April 2007
By 
Mick L (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creepshow [DVD] (DVD)
According to the fangoria site this disc was pulled at the last minute as Universal were offered the opportunity to do a special edition including commentary, documentary etc. They should be releasing this before Halloween 2007 for those interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepshow, 12 Nov 2006
This review is from: Creepshow [DVD] (DVD)
First of all this is an excellent film which I have loved for years. It's the classic anthology of horror stories told in the 50's comic book style. Leslie Neilson is brilliant playing the role of an angry ex lover who takes revenge on both his girl and her guy by burying them in the sand at the beach!! Where is this DVD? It's advertised as being released on the 23rd of October and it says it's not available!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A word of warning., 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Creepshow [DVD] (DVD)
In reponse to the review submitted by one customer which was for the 2 disc special edition of Creepshow.
The item listed above is 1 disc only with no special features at all.
Just wanted to make this clear to avoid confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and very creepy!, 8 July 2009
I loved this movie as a kid and was quite spellbound with joy upon finding it here with a 2 disc edition.It's an anthology of tales based upon a comic book series.While it's not George Romero's best it still has alot of great scares,it's genuinely creepy and it will leave you double checking you have closed your curtains at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creepshow [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import] [Region Free]
Creepshow [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import] [Region Free] by George A. Romero (Blu-ray - 1982)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews