Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Great season, very funny. Highlights are Children of a Lesser Clod (Homer starts a daycare centre), I'm Goin' to Praiseland (Ned creates a Christian amusement park), The Great Money Caper (Homer and Bart become con-men), Worst Episode Ever (Bart and Milhouse take over the Android's Dungeon), Skinner's Sense of Snow (The kids are trapped inside school at Christmas) and...
Published 13 months ago by Steve McName

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful packing that damaged the discs
I really like this season and it has some of my favourite episodes; HOMR, Worst Episode Ever and the sublime Trilogy of Error.

The packing is gorgeous - a crimson box houses the discs in a wonderfully-decorated, six-fold concertina - but there really is an issue with it; almost everything about the cover and sleeves ensures they'll get damaged and cause damage...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by Mr. P. Ince


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful packing that damaged the discs, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. P. Ince "On my way" (Finsbury Park, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this season and it has some of my favourite episodes; HOMR, Worst Episode Ever and the sublime Trilogy of Error.

The packing is gorgeous - a crimson box houses the discs in a wonderfully-decorated, six-fold concertina - but there really is an issue with it; almost everything about the cover and sleeves ensures they'll get damaged and cause damage to the discs. The outer box is quite flimsy card which will easily crush and crease. The fold-in flap I'm having to leave open if I don't want to crease the box taking the disc-pack out.

What people say about the inner box is true; it's a chore and scratches the discs. When I took them out the first time, all 4 discs were scratched already. In pulling one disc out, I scratched the playing side badly on the edge of the adjacent disc (this is possible because each pair of discs comes out edge first from a slot either side of a fold in the concertina). The scratched disc plays ok but I was very lucky not to have ruined it. Lastly, the tightness of each 'wallet' makes it hard to get a grip on the disc to get it out. You either have to bend and crease the wallet to open it wide or use your finger or nail on the surface of the disc to get a grip on it, guaranteed to grease or scratch it.

Many of the episodes in this set are good to great but, overall, I have to give this set 2 stars. Good episodes, lovely-looking artwork, but incomprehensible design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great season, very funny. Highlights are Children of a Lesser Clod (Homer starts a daycare centre), I'm Goin' to Praiseland (Ned creates a Christian amusement park), The Great Money Caper (Homer and Bart become con-men), Worst Episode Ever (Bart and Milhouse take over the Android's Dungeon), Skinner's Sense of Snow (The kids are trapped inside school at Christmas) and HOMR (Homer becomes smart when researchers take a pencil out of his brain that was there since he was a kid).

Not all the episodes are good, though. Insane Clown Poppy (Krusty discovers he has a daughter), Day of the Jackanapes (Sideshow Bob hypnotizes Bart to kill Krusty), Tennis the Menace (the family get a tennis court installed in their back yard), Hungry Hungry Homer (Homer goes on a hunger strike to stop the Springfield Isotopes from moving) and New Kids on the Blecch (Bart joins a boy band called "Party Posse") are duds. Nevertheless, a very good season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please give us what we want, Mr Groening!, 9 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The package is still unacceptable and thus I've decided not to buy a Simpsons set for the first time ever! As long as Fox and Matt Groening refuse to release the sets in reasonable quality, i.e. boxes that do not damage the discs and do not fall apart on their own, I'm not going to spend any more money on this franchise! I know Groening wants to save the environment and so do I but conventional Simpsons boxed sets using plastic devices are NOT the main reason for global warming. Theses paper boxes are nothing but a very bad running gag and I am no longer laughing, Mr Groening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Packaging, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
OK my review is not about the season it is about the Boxest it is the worst one ever they have not taken any of the reviews to mind and have made the packeging even worse. i ripped the box as i was treying to get the dvds out they have made the cardboard sleeve even tighter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny season, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons suffered an agonizing low at the beginning of the 21st Century when the writers got lazy and the show became nearly unwatchable. It's this painful decline that I blame for the rise in the vastly inferior and undeniably ugly Family Guy.

Having never seen any of the episodes as they aired on TV, I only got Season 12 as I already had 1-11 on DVD. To my delight it features hardly a single bad episode and is consistently funny with dozens of laugh-out-loud moments. Absolutely brilliant!

The packaging is just downright awful though. A nice idea, but poor execution. I wish studios would move away from cardboard digipacks. They're just not made to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great season bad packaging, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
enjoyed the season. anybody buying the simpsons boxset knows pretty much what they are getting in terms of episodes and extra content. so let me talk about the cardboard box packaging. packaging that is so tight you can't get the discs out without getting fingerprints over the discs. box that damages with ease and lets not forget the earlier season boxsets were better packaged and at the same price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Twelve: The downfall begins!, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Varney "Douglas Varney "film d... (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The twelfth season of The Simpsons (2000-2001, 21 episodes), was at a point when Matt Groening was shifting away more of his commitment to the series with his other cartoon Futurama in the prime-light and sadly this sorry season's pretty much set the course of what the Simpsons were for the remainder of the decade.

With the number of episodes going down from a peak 25 episodes in Season 6 to now 21 episodes in Season 12, it is pretty obvious that the programme was plain past it's peak. Also, the rise of other cartoon sitcoms like Family Guy and South Park where noticeable and Family Guy itself, althought it is quite an overrated cartoon in my opinion, was getting more publicity. It was plain to see in this season that the Simpsons were threatned by the new kids on the block and, instead of going for an winning formula, had to try to spurce up the show to compete and sadly ever since 2001, The Simpsons has just been trying to copy Family Guy but with less charm and more celebrity input.

Season 12 itself is not truly terrible like the later seasons (the deplorable Season 16, I mean you!) but this really was when Simpsons started to get very bad. Here, you will find one or two which will make you chuckle but nothing stands out and a good deal of them are even cringeworthy. "A Tale of Two Springfield" and "Hungry, Hungry Homer" are the pick of the bunch but some episodes in here are very poor. "Tennis the Menace", "The Great Money Caper" and "Day of the Jackanapes" are the worst offenders. Also, the season's finale "Simpsons Tall Tales" is beyond a joke! Here, while some gags certainly work, they don't hit at you like they used to and the story-writing has simply gotten more lazy and all-over-the-place. The days of witty, character-driven, satire humour are gone, replaced by unrelastic, wacky adventures with just looks for cheap laughs.

Another noticeable thing is that the Simpsons has moved away from being a regular yellow family and the things they got up to, to an regular, simple cartoon. In one episode, Moe removed a crayon from Homer's brain and later on, he just simply puts back in. What happened to the realistic storylines like One Fish, Two Fish...? And while you are wondering, Homer is remaining a jerk.

While Season 12 was diffently below average, the series has simply got worse as the decade grinded on. I do not know whetever the current season (21) has improved since the doldrums of Seasons 15-18 but for now, I won't how my breath! If you an Simpsons collector or just a simple comedy fan or even someone who has never seen the series before, then this is one for you but if you are an nostelgic early-season Simpsons fan who claim the show simply is not as good as it used to be, then I recommend you buy the earlier sets and avoid this!

P.S. I have read many people on Amazon giving poor reviews about the packaging. If it is the Digibox you complain about, don't buy it! Sacrifice a few pounds a go for the good boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Packaging, 1 Oct 2009
By 
L. O. Adcock (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
If you like The Simpsons, you'll get this regardless of the quality of the episodes (although I admit they were starting to go downhill around this point, thanks to Jerkass Homer). I can't exactly give a review for 21 episodes.

But the one star is because of the packaging. If you disliked Season 11's packaging (and that was pretty awful) this is even WORSE.

Last time, the DVDs were held in a dreadful little case that had 'pockets' for the DVDs that make them difficult to remove. Despite all complaints, that method of holding remains.

And worse, the actual BOX is more like something you hold cornflakes in, or one of those small Sunmaid Raisins boxes (without the pro of having raisins), and you need to open a flap to get the DVDs out. You can't just slide them out. And worse, they're tightly wrapped so that it's also tough to get them back in. And that little thing that used to insert inside with information about the season? Now it's stuck to the back, very vulnerable to damage. And not well-stuck on either.

This is The Simpsons; they can AFFORD to have decent packaging. But they're being real cheapskate - usually only the very cheapest and crappest of movies are wrapped up like this. And we're STILL paying the same price as we were back when Seasons 1 to 4 came out. It's not like these guys are exactly POOR, and NEED to save a few pennies. It's just pure cheapskate laziness.

This really is NOT good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post-peak but still packing plenty of very good stuff, 25 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons is really really really.. good. Surely the greatest comedy show ever and with the quality and popularity they've had for around two whole decades they are in a league of their own. They had a lot of seasons where practically every episode was top notch. As many others have pointed out though, once they got past season 9 and 10 the quality started to wane. The best episodes aren't as good as the best episodes in earlier seasons; there's a lower proportion of top quality to less than top quality episodes; and the poorer episodes are poorer than the poorer episodes of earlier seasons. As time has gone on these trends have continued in that direction. This is entirely understandable given the vast amount of themes and issues already explored, and cultural references and jokes already used.
For all that, season 12 still has loads of very good episodes and lots of good stuff in the less than great episodes. Certainly it will be added to my collection. I'm not sure if there'll come a point where I think enough's enough, but I'm certainly not there yet and I don't think I will be for at least another couple of seasons after this one. It remains to be seen though whether I can refrain from buying the boxsets after that - I'm feeling pot-committed collection-wise already so I'll probably buy everything they ever release. Thankfully it's not dilemma time yet though, because as I've said, this is a very good season and well worth buying to continue a collection or as a stand-alone season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars are they trying to make you buy more copies?, 15 Oct 2009
By 
A. Nelson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
5/5 for the series, however it is spoiled by the shoddy packaging that seem to be designed to scratch the discs and make them unplayable. From the first time i played the discs i had problems with skipping. Now im assuming the packing is designed to save money but when there is no change in price to the earlier seasons it stinks of their gain and my loss in my pocket. Sub standard, not good enough by a long shot and in my opinion, a rip off. Do yourself a favour and avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD]
The Simpsons - Season 12 - Complete [DVD] by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2009)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews