Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars airfix avro vulcan
the vulcan is a cool, Big and fun kit. it is reasonably good value. recomended for experienced modelers. some use of filler is needed for the wings but overall gives good finished results ;)
Published on 2 Jan 2011

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Diabolocal quality.
My daughter wanted to make this for her grandads 70th birthday and the one we found seemed too good to be true. It is the model of the aircraft they both own a part of, and it was made by Airfix. She was so excited when it came, and couldn't wait to start. However, when I opened it, I couldn't believe what I was seeing. This had clearly been no where near quality control...
Published 3 months ago by Roger Kinsella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars airfix avro vulcan, 2 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
the vulcan is a cool, Big and fun kit. it is reasonably good value. recomended for experienced modelers. some use of filler is needed for the wings but overall gives good finished results ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 8 July 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
If you're buying this then it's safe to say you know what you are getting. What was amazing was the item turned up after a day! Very, very quick dispatch and a bargain price! This is a good model of a very imposing aircraft that holds an important place in history made by the legend that is Airfix. Get your kids off the XBox and Playstation, sit them down and build this with them (or any model kit with them)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan kit, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
A very good model kit, the detail was excellent, also the unit pieces. It made an outstanding model. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Husband loved it., 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
My husband loved it and found it fun to do. I would recommend this to people who are interested in airfix but haven't had much experience doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm pleased to say that the kit still has the blue ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
The venerable Airfix kit re-released. I'm pleased to say that the kit still has the blue steel missile. The kit was purchased at a reasonable price so it's worth spending extra money on upgrades. All in all a happy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan made good present, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
Bought it as a present for my cousin 80 who made a balsa model of the same bomber when I was nine. Much bigger model than I expected. And never opened it. I do hope he enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big, 25 April 2014
By 
John Hindle "Dad" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
This is a big model, but some of the parts are tiny. It says in the instructions "Not suitable for children under 36 months." - It took me two hours just to build the landing gear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Diabolocal quality., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
My daughter wanted to make this for her grandads 70th birthday and the one we found seemed too good to be true. It is the model of the aircraft they both own a part of, and it was made by Airfix. She was so excited when it came, and couldn't wait to start. However, when I opened it, I couldn't believe what I was seeing. This had clearly been no where near quality control! The amount of excess flashing was unbelievable! In some cases you couldn't tell where the part ended at the spru began. Every single piece had to be trimmed and probably contributed to the extensive filling that was then required. Some were completely unusable. We had to opt for the "landing gear up" option. Which brings me to another point. There is some mention of alternative parts for some points on the model, but no mention of what they are or instructions for them. A good example of this, is the massive missile that could be attached to the underside (I assume), but no painting or assmebly instructions for it at all. In fact, it is nowhere to be seen on the box or anywhere. Now for the paint. They should basicaly decide to supply it properly, or not. What they supplied with the model was next to useless and no where near enough for the size of the model and its paint scheme. I had to keep checking the box, yes it is Airfix! I have never come across such a disgracefull model. Games workshop and even that horrible Italari make have not been this bad. I grew up with Airfix, and they used to be renowned for their quality. What ever happened? If it wasn't for the time constraint, this would have gone straight back, but instead I had to hide my disapointment and help my daughter as best I could, thankfully she enjoyed the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kit, 24 May 2012
By 
David Sanders (surrey uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
Kit only just arrived - will not build just yet. First impressions are really positive. If you have built Airfix kits before and are not a small kid you should manage this. Kit is large and I think fantastic value as includes paint , brushes and small tube of glue. Does not include stand as far as I can see and in my experience they are very hard to find at this scale so will have to make one.
Update - kit went together well and looks great. Fit of parts good and very little filling required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plastic Fantastic, 10 Sep 2012
By 
G. Mimms - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50097 1:72 Scale Military Air Power Avro Vulcan XH58 Vulcan to the Sky Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes (Toy)
Having seen the Vulcan fly at a recent air display my son was eager to have a model of this iconic aircraft. He had earned a treat so I ordered it as a reward and was advised that delivery would be approx. 5 working days. How surprised was he when it arrived within 2.
We have had many enjoyable holiday mornings carefully constructing the model, with all decisions on whether he wanted the wheel carriage down, or the nuclear bomb attached to the undercarriage being his. The detail of the model is very high and the clear instructions make this a good product to put together. The two wing wheel flaps were slightly distorted, and this was a little frustrating when the undercarriage is supposed to be up and the flaps are not secured truely flat to the body (but that was more my grievance). But that aside, this is a worthwhile product to purchase - as long as you have somewhere to store it upon completion; it is a sizeable model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews