Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best filming of the classic Hugo tale
Previously filmed in 1923 (with Lon Chaney as Quasimodo) this version is a vast improvement. Directed by German expatriate William Dieterle and featuring a superb performance from Charles Laughton as the lonely misshapen bellringer who falls in love with a beautiful gypsy girl. This was Laughton's second portrayl of a Hugo character (after playing Javert in 'Les...
Published on 13 Jun. 2002 by C. Jarvis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible film-making, bravo for real classics.
What a truly lavish and gorgeous film this is, thematically it pulls the emotions in different directions, and as a story it's as sharp as a tack. Boasting a quite incredible performance from Charles Laughton as the tragic bell ringer Quasimodo (no nomination Academy, are you flipping sure?), and sets that are simply out of this world, this film to me defines classic...
Published 6 months ago by Spike Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hunchback Good old classic one of my favourites Never tire of watching it , recommended if you like good films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 28 Oct. 2012
i dont come across many films to put in my see before you die list but this one did make it.its the best version of the hunchback. my only grief is that the americans strayed well away from the book and gave it a happy ending. where as in the novel esmerelda was hanged and quasimodo starved to death. good film but could have been better without the yanks and there bloody happy endings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hunchback of Notre Dame., 17 Feb. 2012
By 
B. Gladman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
I have been after this film for quite a long time and was very happy to see it come through the post! An altogether excellent film with a very young Maureen O'Hara together with Charles Laughton playing the lead roles,well worth watching just to see them in action. The resume on the cover is in Korean but the DVD is in English.If you like Charles Laughton I recommend [[ASIN:B001AOHPJ4 Hobson's Choice [DVD] [1954].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time favorite, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Simon Vanderlaan (St.Clair., N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A childhood favorite is this movie, one of my all time greats.
A classic movie made in 1939, a year of many classic movies.
This film needs to be restored and put on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughton is Simply Magnificent, 6 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. C. Stone "mgcs" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
So this is dated and is very much a product of its time. It is also typically over the top Hollywood 'stagey'. But - then there's Charles Laughton. Often caricatured and referenced, but you need to see the original performance to understand how great he was. That first glimpse of Quasimodo in the festival crowd. The way he trots along following his 'protector's' horse as he is commanded away from the fun. Scaringly brilliant. There is a truth and genuine genius in Laughton's portrayal. It reminds you that for all the fuss around 'great' actors of the current generation, Laughton was in a different league. And that dated or not, some of the films from a previous age can possess qualities that set them above the fabricated and hyped twaddle of 95% of current Hollywood output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
item arrived on time was of good quality and I enjoyed watching again this masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent! if old fashioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars agood deal fast delivery hope to do more business, 2 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great movie great actors and great director love to see more of them very few of them around any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD]
The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] by William Dieterle (DVD)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews