Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best filming of the classic Hugo tale
Previously filmed in 1923 (with Lon Chaney as Quasimodo) this version is a vast improvement. Directed by German expatriate William Dieterle and featuring a superb performance from Charles Laughton as the lonely misshapen bellringer who falls in love with a beautiful gypsy girl. This was Laughton's second portrayl of a Hugo character (after playing Javert in 'Les...
Published on 13 Jun 2002 by C. Jarvis

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
very poor quality (seemed like a copy to me) no info sleeve too expendive for a low end product very dissapointed
Published 11 months ago by big rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest classic horror films of all time!, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
No words needed. Just awesome. Simply awesome. I reviewed the 1923 version and I mentioned that it's not one of the best classic horrors. Well this is one of the greatest classic horror films of all time. It's excellent. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hunchback of Notre Dame., 17 Feb 2012
By 
B. Gladman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
I have been after this film for quite a long time and was very happy to see it come through the post! An altogether excellent film with a very young Maureen O'Hara together with Charles Laughton playing the lead roles,well worth watching just to see them in action. The resume on the cover is in Korean but the DVD is in English.If you like Charles Laughton I recommend [[ASIN:B001AOHPJ4 Hobson's Choice [DVD] [1954].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughton is Simply Magnificent, 6 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. C. Stone "mgcs" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
So this is dated and is very much a product of its time. It is also typically over the top Hollywood 'stagey'. But - then there's Charles Laughton. Often caricatured and referenced, but you need to see the original performance to understand how great he was. That first glimpse of Quasimodo in the festival crowd. The way he trots along following his 'protector's' horse as he is commanded away from the fun. Scaringly brilliant. There is a truth and genuine genius in Laughton's portrayal. It reminds you that for all the fuss around 'great' actors of the current generation, Laughton was in a different league. And that dated or not, some of the films from a previous age can possess qualities that set them above the fabricated and hyped twaddle of 95% of current Hollywood output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars agood deal fast delivery hope to do more business, 2 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great movie great actors and great director love to see more of them very few of them around any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best version of this classic, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
Great version of this classic film. Surprising good quality clear picture and sound. Arrived in time and very well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to watch on laptop., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film with a marvelous piece of acting by Laughton well backed up by a talented cast.The filming is dark and moody thanks to the directors background in German art cinema. His experience in handling crowd scenes is evident.Extras include a documentary narrated by Maureen Ohara about the making of the film and the building of a replica of Paris in Californias San Fernando valley. I have an all region player but it WOULD NO T play this region 1 import. I watched it on laptop and it was still.brilliant.This and Mutiny on the bounty show Laughton as the 20 th centurys greatest actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it got here, 22 Mar 2013
By 
J. Dunton-Downer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
haven't opened or watched it yet, but with the request that i review the service pestering me, I am here to say, yes. it did arrive as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
very poor quality (seemed like a copy to me) no info sleeve too expendive for a low end product very dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars its a dud as far as i'm concerned, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It wont play on my UK DVD player, I guess its only suitable for the American market,,,,, as it came from the USA,,,, I'm not happy at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worried about the legality of this purchase, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My own fault for not realising that this DVD will not play on a UK, PAL system.

More concerned however withe prited statement on the back of the case "NOT AUTHORISED FOR SALE OR RENTAL OUTSIDE THE USA & CANADA". It then goes on to detail how severe a copywrite offence it is to sell outside the USA..

I will be contacting the supplier but do believe that Amazon have some responsibility here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD]
The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] by William Dieterle (DVD)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews