Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best filming of the classic Hugo tale
Previously filmed in 1923 (with Lon Chaney as Quasimodo) this version is a vast improvement. Directed by German expatriate William Dieterle and featuring a superb performance from Charles Laughton as the lonely misshapen bellringer who falls in love with a beautiful gypsy girl. This was Laughton's second portrayl of a Hugo character (after playing Javert in 'Les...
Published on 13 Jun 2002 by C. Jarvis

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
very poor quality (seemed like a copy to me) no info sleeve too expendive for a low end product very dissapointed
Published 14 months ago by big rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Hollywood's greatest, 12 May 2008
This film is great on all levels - the performances of course, especially a very young Maureen O'Hara before the studios removed the naturalness, the music, the sets - but what really stands out is the cinematography and mise en scene: you feel that this is what medieval Paris was really like. Scenes such as the one where Quasimodo brings a caged bird to Esmeralda, or when he leaps on to the giant bell - "she made me deaf" - have tremendous emotional power. This movie should be available for Region 2, along with other greats of the 30s such as the Lubitsch films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
What a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A not so modern classic., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a wonderful film. Takes me back to when I was a child when I watched it with my Dad !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
got this for my granddad as he was looking for it everywhere, he loves it wont stop watching it, quick delivery, happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
Item arrived quickly, well wrapped. Good quality black and white film. Music quite loud compared to speech but then it's an old movie, that's the way they were made most of the time. A classic you must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old films are still so good to watch!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
This was a request from my husband and he was delighted. It didn't seem to detract from the enjoyment by being in black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really pissed off. The first ever DVD that will not play on my DVD player .
I presumed I had a multi-region DVD player as it normally plays all
regions but not this one.
I clicked one star but five appeared and I can't even change them.
Altogether a disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definative, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, there can be no other film likely to top this one for the story and performances. With some outstanding acting and superb direction, this story opens out into one of great tragedy and loss. There are some amazing exteriors and interiors scenes, the story has good pace and the soundtrack is reasonably clean and clear to hear. Lost love, betrayal, murder and greed. These blend into a well told tale that will entertain you. You will want the characters to make good even though you know they cannot.
This is a great film that should be in every film lover`s collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over 70 years old and timeless, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite films of all time, for a number of reasons.

First, the direction by William Dieterle which is superb. Next, the music by Alfred Newman is great; he very cleverly mixes the ecclesiastical music of medieval France with his own to bring a thrilling score to the film. And lastly, the actors: Charles Laughton was not always my favourite actor, but he was in this. He's supported by Maureen O'Hara, cleverly under-playing the gypsy girl, Esmeralda and Sir Cedric Hardwick as the sexually repressed, murdering Frollo who ruthlessly stamps down on anything he considers to be reformative.

The scene in which Quasimodo rescues Esmeralda - falsely accused of murder - is terrific; the tension builds as the crowd kneels outside Notre Dame where her execution is due to take place - and then as Quasimodo miraculously snatches her to safety there's Newman's tremendous chorus of `Hallelujah' and general rejoicing from the multitude although rather less so from the deeply unpleasant Frollo.

And in the closing sequence as Esmeralda finds happiness, the pitiful Quasimodo beseeches the Notre Dame gargoyle, `Why was I not made of stone, like thee?"

Not a dry eye in the house - well, not in my house, where I'm known to be a serial blubber!

Rush out and buy this timeless DVD - you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] (DVD)
Really well made and believable even for its age very atmospheric and special effects. Acting as most of the films of this era was excellent. No french accents though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD]
The Hunchback of Notre Dame [DVD] by William Dieterle (DVD)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews