Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best RPG's on the Xbox
First thing I noticed about this game was the intro which shows an Anime cut scene showing all the characters in action along to a very catchy theme tune so much so I leave it a to run through before I play the game.
As a fan of the Tales series Vesperia does not disappoint at all and ticks all the boxes to be a very enjoyable game. All the characters you get and...
Published on 10 Aug. 2009 by Mr. Martyn Poole

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
Having just finished playing through another Tales game not that long ago in the form of Wii game Tales of Symphonia 2, perhaps I was suffering a little burnout with this sort of game, but I honestly wasn't overly enthused by this game.

Don't get me wrong, it's a perfectly fine JRPG title, with the appearance of a properly realised, full world map(A very real...
Published on 18 Jan. 2010 by John Clayton III


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best RPG's on the Xbox, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First thing I noticed about this game was the intro which shows an Anime cut scene showing all the characters in action along to a very catchy theme tune so much so I leave it a to run through before I play the game.
As a fan of the Tales series Vesperia does not disappoint at all and ticks all the boxes to be a very enjoyable game. All the characters you get and meet are very likable which is strange in most RPG's as there is normally at least one that gets on your nerves and most of the time it's the kid. Although we do have a couple of them in Vesperia they work well of each other and become likable, this is down to how well the script is written for these characters, there are lots of speaking parts and most are humours. The only thing that started to annoy me where at the end of a battle your characters will say something and this can get repetitive but thankfully they do change through the game and depending on what characters you have in your party and also can be skipped.

You play as Yuri Lowell. You're an ex-soldier, living in the lower class world. Yuri quit the Knights because he was fed up with the way laws were stopping people get their just deserves and this as you will see when the game goes on is where Yuri comes into his own and shows a darker side to him. The first character you bump into and is also your healer is Estelle who is a vital character to have in your group of 4 but her whole "I am not coming with you anymore ok I will" attitude gets old very quickly.

Some people have said the battle system is just button mashing but there is so much more to in then this especially when facing bosses and harder enemies. It's true that you would only use two attack buttons in a fight but you do need to block and watch everyone's health as you are fighting. Also special attacks are provided later and can pop up in the middle of any fight. You would just control Yuri while the other 3 characters will attack and do their own thing around you, you can put your trust in your healer but it's worth protecting her and stop her being attacked so she can cast. It would also be wise to watch her TP [Magic Meter] so she can cast, this can be replenished during battle slowly, after battle or through items.

As well as fighting and special attacks you will also pick up a limit meter which will increase as you play the game, this allows you a short burst of attacks without stopping and is great when under pressure. There were bosses where I would clean out some of my healing and Life items and it's annoying that you are only limited to carry 15.

The usual RPG things apply like at the end of a battle you will gain experience, money and maybe new skills. You carry items for everything you need; you can change/upgrade weapons and clothing and carry a certain item to help you. And also for anyone who has played any of the previous games you can also cook certain foods which have different benefits.

I also love the soundtrack to this game; the music matches the mood of places you visit and the storyline which is a big factor of any RPG.

Alongside Lost Oddesy this is one of my favourite RPG's on the Xbox 360, I wait with high hopes for the 2nd Tales of Symphonia game coming out on the Wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Finest Games in the Tales Series, 29 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Pros:

+Engrossing storyline, thanks to some well developed characters
+Fun, Addictive Battle system
+Very well written dialog with a good sense of humor
+Good voice acting
+A Fairly good soundtrack
+Good looking game

Cons:

-A lot of story exposition, some of it not even necessary
-Battling can sometimes rely on button mashing over skill

The Tales series has never been too big in America, but many of the games within the series are a blessing. Tales of Vesperia is a great outing that many fans of the series may enjoy. If this is the first time you've ever played a Tales game, then Tales of Vesperia is a good game to start with.

Tales of Vesperia takes place in a world where blastia, magical properties, are used to protect the denizens from monsters. There are also knights who help out and protect the citizens of the world. You play as Yuri, a man who left the knights mainly because he didn't like how the government treated the people. Obviously, there's something else a foot. Something more that this powerful empire is hiding and as Yuri and company you're going to find out what it is.

Tales of Vesperia may not have an original storyline, but it's told very well. Much of the dialog is very well written and sprinkled with its own fluffy humor. What really helps the story standout as being something much more than it is, however, is the cast of characters. They're very well developed and as you play you'll become really attached to them. Each also has their own distinct personality to help them along and they have their own charms about them. To help character development you can also watch skits, which are basically conversations among the party and they're completely optional. They really add to the characters by giving you a glimpse into just what they're thinking. If there was anything about Tales of Vesperia's story that is a little troubling, it would be that perhaps there's too much story in some areas. You'll run from one town to another only to backtrack to a previous town only to realize it was all done for story exposition and that you didn't really engage in a lot of battles. Yet, while there's a lot of exposition, there's still plenty of battling to be done.

The Tales games have largely been known for their battle systems. Once a battle begins you control one of four characters. You can all run around freely and land blows akin to a hack and slash game. You can also perform special techniques called Artes which will cost you tech points. It's all very simple stuff and feels very similar to the Star Ocean games. It can feel like a button mashing affair at times, and certainly the beginning stages of the game can be that way, but as you get further into the game it becomes less about hack and slash and more about strategy. Bosses in particular can be a challenge, especially if you want to get all the achievements. Some bosses require you to do certain things in order to get the achievement for them.

While you control one character the game's AI makes it a point to control the other three. Surprisingly, the AI does a very good job of keeping your characters alive and using items on allies who need them as well as healing. You can also set certain strategies and customize it up to help out. Even better than that, the game has multiplayer. Up to four players can play, although only the first player gets to control what happens in the field. For all it's worth, though, the battle system is superb.

Finally, there are abilities. Characters can equip weapons that will teach them certain abilities. If they use the weapon long enough they'll learn the ability and be able to use it whenever they want, provided they have the skill points required to equip it. There's nothing difficult about learning Tales of Vesperia's battle system. It's all relatively simple and easy to pick up on. So even if you've never played a Tales game before, the battle system is easy enough to learn that it shouldn't give you any trouble.

Graphics wise, Tales of Vesperia is gorgeous and runs very smoothly. Most of the dungeons you'll travel to also look nice. The enemies and bosses are very detailed and the load times are incredibly fast. The character designs are perhaps the best part as every character stands out as their own. Music wise, the game has a lot of memorable tunes that stand out. There are a few forgettable tunes but much of it really fills the situation. Much of the dialog in the game is spoken and the voice acting is very good.

If you're a fan of the Tales series, this is a great game to add to that collection. If you've never played a Tales game before and you're curious about the series, this is a good game to start with. With its easy learning curve and character driven story, most RPGers will find Tales of Vesperia to be a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vesperia's star illuminates, 8 July 2009
By 
K. Ng "Digi.k" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
* Great story but it starts to pick up around 30+ hours.
*Despite fitting on just 1 disc this is a long game with lots of hidden stuff and bosses which you can miss if you don't have a guide but still you can just stumble upon them by chance.
* Fighting is hetic at first and you can't help but button mash for the first few hours.. later on the gameplay will evolve and become even more deeper.
* lots of weapon and armour creation as well as cooking food that increase stats etc..
* Great voice work that helps bring the characters to life.
* The skits help flesh out the characters and make them even more believable and help just create a real charm to them all. some of these skits are kinda hidden and won't appear until you meet certain criteria.
* music is acceptable... there are some really nice music tracks but overall I just find it ok.
* graphically there are some really nice wow moments but overall while not visually amazing it has a real nice unique anime charm and there are some great anime cut scenes.
* deep character customisation depending on what skills you learn.
* a real lengthy Japanese RPG which has quite a deep battle system. There are lots of hidden stuff to discover which you will probably not find all on first play through. the hidden stuff should definitely satisfy the hardcore RPG gamer. To find everything will take you over 100 hours of gameplay.
* world map you can save just about anywhere and go almost anywhere except up mountains. there are also hidden places for you to undiscover as well as harvest rare items for creation later on.
* dungeons and towns you can only save when you get to save points.
* quite a few mini games integrated into the game.
* lots of in-game terminology which can confuse you.

overall a real treat. the story and characters really are excellent quality and combined with lots of hidden stuff for you to unlock this is a fantastic package of a japanese RPG crammed into 1 disc.

EDIT:
there seems to be 2 hidden dungeons for you to unlock.. but you will need a guide for these.. Good luck brave Vesperians!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of a brilliant game, 12 July 2009
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So, another typical Japanese Role Play Game (JRPG) reaches the coast of the UK to a country with immense apathy towards RPGs, can it change everything?
The game opens with you, Yuri an ex knight in a city whose Barrier Blastia core has been stolen. This is made worse by the fact that without this core, the city is vulnerable to monster attacks. So, Yuri goes to search for the thief and ends up meeting companions such as Estelle along the way. Its a typical story really with some trully amazing twists and turns along the way.
The characters are the first thing I would like to mention. Unlike the recent Star Ocean, the characters are genuinely likeable. Yuri's sarcastic bravado beautifully contrasts against Estelles pleasent, helpful feminine nature and all the characters which join your party have some brilliant quirks which make them a joy to play with.
Graphically this game will blow you away. The characters are all flatish, and the environments maybe cell-shaded, but the detail that has gone into every location is evident. Enchanted castles, overgrown forests, dingy scholars cities, even ruins look beautiful in this game. The enemies are varied and fun to fight against too.
The combat system is also brilliant. It is an action based role play game where you control the main character and the computer controls the remaining 3 in your party. You have some control over their attacks and can select strategy or command them to use items, but generally, the AI is good. They never appear to be wasteful with magic which is often a problem with these games and are generally very helpful. The character you will usually control is Yuri and he can use items, and use special attacks by using the x button and moving the analogue stick in the desired directions. As characters battle, they earn experience and level up giving you new powers and abilities.
So what about extra or new features? You can learn different skills from weapons which is reminiscent of Final Fantasy 9 and can create your own weapons, but features such as the wonder chef who gives you recipes to create are still present.
So, what are the negatives? Due to the way the game has been designed, you have no control over the camera angle. It seems archaic but thankfully the camera angle always appears to be pretty good. Sometimes you'll miss things like treasures chests because of it but this is a small price to pay for such a great game. It probably won't convert those who hate RPGs, but this is a brilliant game nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To expensive, 8 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great game but very expensive on here the value of any standard edition game at most is £49.99, if you have xbox live buy this game on games on demand its only £19.99 i gave this a 5* because its a great game and not because of the price i give that 0*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic 'Tales of' game, 18 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. J. Pears "Eternal Solar" (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For anyone that likes JRPG's this is another fantastic game by Namco, it has everything you've come to expect from a 'Tales of' game, an intresting setting and well developed plot, great characters, sound and graphics plus its a long game. In the current generation of games which only last up to 10hours or its so much more fun to play a game that lasts up to 50hours really giving you value for money! :D
In conclusion...
+ Great, lengthy story
+ Very good looking, cel-shaded Graphics
+ Satisfying combat system and gameplay
+ Surprisingly well voiced characters (compared to many JRPGs!)
+ One of the best 'Tales of' games yet

- Some of the characters are somewhat cliche...
- Button mashing will see you through the first few hours in combat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best J-RPG I have played in the past few years., 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am currently over 50 hours into this adventure and still having great fun !
I haven't played a J-RPG this good in ages and has quickly become a strong favourite of mine recently.

I love the full real time Battle scenes , this is one of the few J-RPGs that I've played that completely abandons the traditional turn based menu combat system that many non-RPG fans loathe.
It feels like you're playing a half hack and slash , half RPG in Combat.
There's tons of freedom , possibilities and customisation in the battle system, even though at first it feels like button mashing .. hours later as you learn more about the way things works, you'll realise a lot more thought is required than you first imagined.

Also if you love fighting games , you might like the way this RPG has turned out ,because I am a big fighting game fan too. Racking up combos, blocking and juggling all make it into this battle system !

The game itself is beautifully presented in a lovely and vibrant cel shaded world with very pleasing anime character designs.( Along with a decent soundtrack too )
The story itself is very well told , has complexities and twists , but I never did find myself lost in the detail.
I was able to follow and appreciate the depth and development behind it the plot , which is a hard balance to find.

The I found cast of characters themselves , very likeble and tend to grow on you especially since they had decent voice talent behind them. Which is a great relief , because some of the J-RPGs I played a while ago had some pretty weak character designs.
These characters , although some are kind of archetypes you may have seen before, gel together and play each other very well .... as shown in the numerous and humourous character conversation skits that are sprinkled throughout the story. ( Which is one of my favourite things about the game )As the hours went by I found myself really feeling for these characters.

The world itself is quite big and has lots of freedom .... which I was glad , because some RPGs I played recently were quite linear. The adventure is very long and enjoyable and feels rather epic the more you are drawn into after the half way mark.

In summary this game is beautiful and very different from most J-RPG series I've played and I recommend all J-RPG fans to try it out. Give it a few hours , I'm sure it will grow on you.
I'm 50 hours in and still having fun !!! This is probably one of my dream RPGs come true .... a beautiful anime-esque world with some wonderful characters and liberating real time combat !

Defintely worth picking up before the Big Final Fantasy 13 arrives next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best JRPG's I've played, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Matthew A. Slonskyj "13blak" (Barlborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
ok, i consider myself quite a fan when it comes to rpg's/jrpg's, one of my favourite games is golden sun (a game i sincerely suggest all rpg fans should buy) and the thought of grinding to get levels up makes me giddy :) anyway, when i first heard this game was coming out i knew i had to buy it, id played tales of sonata for gmaecube and so was looking forward to this installment. I'll tell you now, i was blown away this is so much better. the storyline is great (you find yourself being more and more drawn into the world and caring about what happens to the characters), the visuals are immense (i really love the cell shaded effect)voice acting isnt that bad (believe me as jrpg's go its actually pretty good) but the real thing that sets TOV apart is the battle and skill system. Similar to final fantasy tactics advance, skills which benefit your character in various ways e.g health boost, resistance to magic, backsteping, are learnt through equiping various weapons you find in the game for enough battles untill the desired skill is learnt from it. The battle system does take a bit getting used to at first if you're used to the final fantasy set up where you select your character and chose actions, in TOV you control only one character whilst a friend or the computer controls all others. with your chracter you must then attack as you would in a hack and slash game, such as dynasty warriors, building up combos and intergrating magic/speacial moves. It takes a few battles to get used to it (knowing when to attack and to back off successfully) but after a while you'll be wondering how you could sit there just pressing a button before. This system, i feel, breaths some life into the rpg world amking you feel more a part of the happenings. Please please please buy this game if you're fan of rpg's or looking to try out a rehash of the system :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 12 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a fan of the Tales series for over a decade, i've always found something to enjoy about Tales, sometimes not all the pieces come together as well as they should, but their popularity is mostly down to people not willing to give this series a try, and bad marketing. Because it's an amazing game series. You don't need to know anything about the previous games to play this one, each story is it's own world and lore, etc. So you will have no problems diving in. This is one of the best Tales games full stop, and though because its rare, it can be expensive - for some reason (maybe the next-gen consoles) the price of this game has dropped dramatically. I picked up my copy for 15 quid after years of searching, and I couldn't be happier. Give this a try, you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Characters Make Up for Weak Plot, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is one of the best Tales games out there. I fell in love with Symphonia and Abyss returned my affections, but some of the recent games in the series have left me feeling cold (*cough* Xillia). Vesperia has taken almost everything I loved about Symphonia and improved on it.

Let me just get this out of the way now. The biggest flaw with Vesperia is its story. A lot of Tales games have confusing stories but Vesperia takes the cake for being the most confusing on an hourly basis. In other Tales games you know what you're trying to achieve more or less from the beginning. In Symphonia you're trying to save the world from decay. In Abyss you're trying to stop the miasma. In both games the situation takes numerous complicated plot turns that completely alter the manner in which you're expected to succeed in your task or even what that task means, but on the whole the initial quest leads directly to the end quest. In Vesperia you have no idea what's going on until you near the end. At 30 hours in I still didn't know what was happening and I had no indication that the world was in danger at all. After every major event Yuri asks Estelle whether she wants to continue on her current quest (which changes repeatedly) or investigate some new incident. The party is constantly struggling to find a reason to stay together. There's not really the sense of unity that the other games had. This is all tied into the game's theme of growing up and deciding your own path, but it's a really bad idea from a storytelling standpoint.

Now if that sounds bad, well, it kinda is. But it's not as frustrating as it might seem. This is largely because of the characters. Vesperia has assembled one of the best cast of characters I've seen in a video game. Yuri Lowell is the lead and he's a ball of laughs. Unlike other Tales protagonists he's not quite as kiddish (he's 21, an old man by Anime standards). I was very impressed with what they can do when they have a more mature character like this. When the game goes for the stereotypical Tales character reveals (gosh, is that obvious princess really a princess? No...) Yuri reveals he's known the entire time and just hasn't bothered to tell anyone. You can feel his self-satisfied smirk at watching the others in shock. His friend and foil is Flynn (an NPC unfortunately). He's the second part of the duo and is essential to the question that drives the game: is it better to work from within a crooked system to try and change it from the inside, or to oppose it directly knowing that it means not much will get done. Yuri takes the latter approach, Flynn the former. As you might imagine this leads to some conflict but also some really interesting exploration of the issue.

The other characters are good too. Estelle is totally not a princess. Honest. Raven's the untrustworthy scoundrel type who's always whining about his old age (he's somewhere in his 30s the poor man). Karol is a kid who wants to overcome his fear of, well, everything, in order to become a guild leader and respected person. Rita's very angry and likes hitting people. Judith is... odd. Let's leave it at that. Repede is a dog. With a pipe. Yeah, I don't get it either. These characters are fun to watch and we still get the great Tales cutscenes that reveal background details and conversations to expand on the plot and characterization.

The mechanics of the game are basically the same as earlier ones. We still get an open world and enemies you can see approaching and sometimes avoid. Fighting is done in a fighter game format and real time. Your companions are computer controlled, although you can determine the tactics they should follow or override their commands. The graphics are much better than in Symphonia, while continuing the same cell shaded style. Instead of the big headed wide-eyed spheres of that game we get more realistic Anime figures.

I don't think this game quite beats Symphonia, although it definitely has areas where the improvement is massive. The plot is to blame for this defect, but it's never bad enough to make the game anything but fun. You want to find out what happens to these characters, even if you don't necessarily want to see it told in this way. The cities are charming, the gameplay first rate, and the plot (when it finally shows up) decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360)
Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
£34.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews