Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squad based gaming at its best
First and foremost apart from the first few levels of the campaign that i have played and sampled, my opinion/review of this game comes entirely from playing online. Apart from Battlefield modern combat 2 on the original xbox i have had no prior experience of this gaming franchise as i have never been a 'PC Gamer'. Having not owned Bad company 1 i was a little reluctant...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Callum

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good game but ea servers are rubbish
Ok, having nuked myself senseless on cod I decided to have a crack at this. In many ways it's better. Much bigger maps, use of loads of great vehicles and blowing up building etc is a nice touch. The online game play is less frenetic than cod and you've actually got to be able to aim your weapons, none of that silly auto aim. Again good. Took a bit of getting used to but...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by nupton


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squad based gaming at its best, 9 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First and foremost apart from the first few levels of the campaign that i have played and sampled, my opinion/review of this game comes entirely from playing online. Apart from Battlefield modern combat 2 on the original xbox i have had no prior experience of this gaming franchise as i have never been a 'PC Gamer'. Having not owned Bad company 1 i was a little reluctant to invest in this title as there is currently a wide variety of games that have my interest. However after 11 hours of online gaming already i am happy to say that i was right to take this gamble. First of all the graphics are good, although not mind blowing, but still impressive and the sound effects are very realistic such as the firing of your gun or the distant sound of an incoming chopper which gives the impression that you are really there. Add to this the realism of how your character moves and shoots this was a very good start for me.
Now to the combat:
At first i approached this game as a normal first person shooter with my usual sprint in, throw a grenade and shoot whatever i can hit. This tactic did not work for this game as countless times i was either at the recieving end of a well placed enemy or occasionly even a tank towering over me around the corner. This was made harder with all of the effective war vehicles that meant that a quick trigger finger with a rifle or a camper with a rifle grenade isnt always good enough. This led to me adopting a new stratedy of actually using my squad members to gain objectives and to get kills. With the easy point and click system which helps you to organise your squad easily and effectively i was able to now stick with my squad members which was far more efficent for gaining objectives and subsequenly getting those most sought after kills to improve my K/D ratio and look good in front of everyone.

So is it worth it? I think so but this game will take a little time to get used to and a little patience as you wont always be the best. With the availability of many war vehicles such as attack helicopters and the realistic gunfights it all leads to a very enjoyable online experience that will leave you wanting more. This game is so much better when playing with your friends as you can form a squad and can communicate your strategies easily and efficently.
Overall i would give this game a 9/10 for the multiplayer experience online and if i can pry myself away from it maybe i will be able to enjoy the single palyer experience which im sure will be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best FPS online by far, 19 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Simply the best First player shooter that I can think of by far. Having played modern warfare 2 after this game I can safely say that surpases it in every expectation. The guns seem more solid, the battles infinetly more varied (with a huge selection of vehicles from Apatche's to quad bikes on large battlefields), and the more important aspect, infinetly more fun. Unlike COD, which is based around getting shot repeatedly without being able to retort until you climb to prestige levels, battlefield gives everyone a fair fighting chance. Yes levelling up can give you an advantage, but unlike COD this advantage does not end in ridiculous kill streaks from people that hide on rooftops sniping and bombing everyone. Yes this is an option in the game, but after getting a couple of kills your enemies will come in a tank and blow up you, or your house and probably the vehicle you drove to the house in for kicks. There is much more of a team feel to this game, points are gained for reviving, healing, re-arming or repairing your team members or vehicles. Couple this with a single player campaign of decent length with engaging characters and bright South American landscapes and you have a game to be reckoned with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Online FPS of the last couple of years?, 6 April 2010
By 
Mark "MarkyD43" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Battlefield Bad Company 2 Review
Single Player:-

Gameplay:
BC2 has a very solid and memorable single player campaign that is quite different from the original game in numerous ways. Firstly, the SP maps are considerably more linear than BC1's expansive maps, with only a handful of open 'arenas' per mission. Whilst I was initially skeptical of a BC game with increased linearity, the change generally increases tension and ensures the player remains focussed and immersed. In contrast, while I enjoyed the open world sand box of the original, I did often find motivation to complete the mission lacking or get bored of dying and having to drive a long distance as the checkpoints were occasionally unevenly spread. The missions in BC2 are varied, usually just hard enough to be a challenge but not too hard as to be a challenge, with the usually excellent AI putting up a good fight.
The campaign itself is a decent length unlike another recent competitor, and the storyline is more interesting, easier to follow, and makes more sense than said competitor. But even with a good story and focussed gameplay, this game wouldn't be complete without the old squad, Haggard, Sweetwater, Redford, Preston and a couple of amusing new characters along the way. These guys complete the game. Haggard and Sweets' banter is always amusing with Redfords harsh put downs always bringing a smile. The conversations they have while idle are as funny if not funnier than some of the scripted material, for example one conversation
between the squad about 50 Cent is particularly funny. In my opinion, no other FPS game of recent times quite mixes the humour, storyline and ferocity of combat quite as well as BC2. When I completed BC1 for the first time I remember thinking that it was a good game that only just missed out on greatness due to a few small faults. DICE have however improved on and subsequently surpassed themselves with BC2, I'd therefore give BC2:SP ~9/10

Multiplayer:

Invade nobody noticed there has been another game released recently that's been proclaimed the 'largest entertainment release in history' that has sold however many millions of copies and is also based on modern warfare. This game was good, it was pretty fast paced, poorly balanced with 'noobs' getting a lot of unnecessary kit and experienced players grabbing double barrelled shotguns and sprinting round and round the map one-shot-killing every player in their way, racking up a massive 'killstreak' and then nuking everything. I prestiged on this game and played nearly three days online before I realised that it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. I'd been fooled by the massive hype and the number of friends that played. It wasn't about 'modern warfare' it was about a few tooled up players killing as many people as they could as fast as they could. Then along comes BC2. It had a tiny fraction of the publicity the other game had, and unless I missed something, hardly any of the over-hyped craziness either. I
bought the game because of it's online, and because I hoped it would show the other game up as the singleminded and occasionally dull multiplayer experience it is.

BC2's online multiplayer is like nothing I've had the pleasure of experiencing on the 360 before. The first map I saw was Valparaiso, a south American themed map with a low sun streaming through the jungle. At first glance I thought a developer had produced a game that graphically rivalled the great Crysis. A recently destroyed tank spewing black smoke at the entrance to a shanty town and a blackhawk circling above with it's gunners tearing houses apart. The gameplay itself ranges from brutally fast paced (some urban and CQ jungle maps) to a steady advance with snipers, machine gunners and heavy vehicles (desert and jungle maps). However, most maps combine these elements. Some start with an armoured vehicular assault by land sea or air, while others involved parachuting into forests at night, followed by blistering fights in streets and then a final infantry assault on an enemy postion. This is of course when playing Rush mode, first introduced in the original BC. This mode is usually fun and well balanced, with the occasional round where either due to an exceptionally good enemy team or a particularly weak allied team means the enemy start sniping you not long after spawn, however, this is a problem with all online games that are not scripted in any way. These situations however are few and far between and DICE seem to have made an effort to ensure camping does not occur too often. Conquest mode allows an all round battle, in contrast to Rushes headlong assault. It usually means every structure on the map will be levelled and a forest will turn to a patch of dirt by the time tanks mortar strike and rocket launcher carrying infantry have finished with it. By the end of the round, it really makes you feel like you've been in a battle, on a battlefield. And it doesn't stop there. As you progress through the ranks you gain new weapons and gadgets, be they vehicle improvements (armour, secondary weapons etc) or scopes, skills or extra ammo for your soldier, the game constantly rewards you for your efforts, whilst not giving new players previously mentioned unnecessary help or experienced players uber powerful unstoppable weapons. Finally, BC2:MP is far more diverse, better looking, entertaining and there is nothing quite like crushing a squad of enemies in a collapsing building. BC2:MP ~9.5/10.

Conclusion:
Great single player with Likeable characters.
Superb graphics.
Lengthy campaign (~10hrs on normal)
Incredible multiplayer experience.

Any fan of online fps should not miss this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 word WOW, 11 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game dropped through my letterbox today and im struggling to put it down. im keeping this short.
if i had to give an honest answer of this game i would say its the best game i have played in 10years.
i like every1 else downloaded the demo.. but i didnt like it. so i was in two minds to get this but im really glad i did. its 5million times better than the demo, graphics are jaw dropping on and offline. i had a quick go on SP first and i love it the characters are still as funny as ever.
after a few hours i tried MP and thats where this game comes alive. usually playing games i would stop to read my messages off friends, but not with this game i have just been well into this its unreal.
well i could go on forever about how good this game is but i dont want to bore you. i just wanted to make this point.
ifyour in doubts of this game. DONT BE!!! its amazing and will leave your jaw trailing on the floor for hours. i have bioshock2 on the way but i doubt it will get played anytime soon.

this game is a 10/10 MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good game but ea servers are rubbish, 12 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, having nuked myself senseless on cod I decided to have a crack at this. In many ways it's better. Much bigger maps, use of loads of great vehicles and blowing up building etc is a nice touch. The online game play is less frenetic than cod and you've actually got to be able to aim your weapons, none of that silly auto aim. Again good. Took a bit of getting used to but starting to really like it.Then ea servers stopped working. The game will only work half the time, really annoying. Checked some forums and found out this is a common fault. A real shame. They came close with this game but what's the point if you can not play it when you want, only when ea servers feel like working?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting new standards, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. F. C. Wood "frankowoodsracing" (Crewe England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When you look at the front cover of the game box, you see that the images soldiers, tanks and choppers all have mock gamertags above them, which suggests immediately that this first and foremost a multiplayer experience with a solo campaign tagged on.

Not that the solo campaign is a poor afterthought by any means, it offers plenty of fun and fresh ideas that haven't been seen in a FPS before, such as the survival orientated section of the Andes mission where in between killing Russians, you have to keep ducking out of the snowstorm and find warmth in buildings before you freeze you to death. If you enjoyed the wide track roaming style of the first Bad Company solo game then you may feel a little alienated by the more linear and narrow track style of the missions and although I had the same initial feeling, I soon got into the game and found myself marvelling at the amazing sound design, beatiful surroundings, improved destructability and the well voiced banter of your likeable squadmates. It wasn't all perfect in my opinion though, as I found some of the save checkpoints a bit long winded and a few too many fade to black moments during play which tended to spoil the tension and pacing, but they are easily forgiven in my opinion.

I treated the solo campaign as a fun warm up for the multiplayer, which is what earns this game its five stars. The maps are perfectly designed and almost fully destructable with plenty of vehicle options available to you. The different classes are perfectly balanced and the game rewards team play in a way that discourages lone wolf kill-streaking as selfish play wont earn you big points. I like the fact that you don't merely earn points for being the best shot or biggest killer, as points can be earned by the medic class for healing squadmates and the support class can gain points for fixing vehicles, which means you don't just have to be the best shot to help your team win, as long as you play your chosen role well. Put it all together and for me, this is the best multiplayer experience i've ever had and I just can't see myself going back to FPS games that don't offer the same destruction, class balance and vehicle play that Battlefield offers. Long live Battlefield!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically entertaining, 7 Mar 2010
By 
td90uk (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There is no other description for this game, it is absolutely fantastic. I hated the first Bad Company, it seemed to fake and un-serious. This one though has been made more serious, the graphics are some of the best I've seen (Modern Warfare 2's are a little better though) but this is unnoticable in the long run and being able to topple any building or structure makes the game more intense, realistic and gives you a better weapon for killing. You can blow walls out with grenades, when buildings topple they kill the occupants and you don't have any hiding places, because they can just be destroyed. Excellent for any of the four classes (Assault, Engineer, Medic and Recon). The Recon class is quite good, you get marksman rifles and ghillie suits to camouflage you, however, a lot of people like the Recon class so there are always sniper rifle bullets flying past you.

Its excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More balanced than MW2!!, 2 April 2010
By 
R. Mackenzie "Media Junkie" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok so, before you buy Battlefield Bad Company 2 you should firstly ask yourself whether or not you get frustrated at MW2....if
the answer to this is yes then you definitely need to pick up Bad Company 2, and even if you don't you should still pick it up.

So where to start, well single-player is a good place. The Battlefield Bad Company 2 (BBC2 from now on) single-player is excellent, it is paced well, but isn't as linear as the Call of Duty series. It hasn't as many "wow" moments as the first Modern Warfare but is definitely on a par with the second. Add to that a real sense that your a member of a squad, some camaraderie and I found myself starting to care about the characters. Also add to this the destruction from the first game, but with a bit more va-va-voom and it really is a varied and enjoyable experience.

Onto the co-cop portion.....unfortunately, BBC2 doesn't have any sort of co-op mode, just straight up team based games. This is somewhat of a disappointment especially as there is a squad of four crying out to be played as with 3 friends, still though here's hoping for it's inclusion in Bad Company 3

Now onto the real reason you buy this game. Multiplayer. There is a selection of modes, my favourite being Rush, which involves a defending team and an attacking team with the attackers trying to destroy objectives and push the defenders back to the last set of objectives, while the defenders try to eliminate the attackers respawn points....it'll be clearer when you play it. The other modes include a squad version of rush(smaller teams), a squad deathmatch where 5 teams of 4 try to reach a kill limit and conquest which is like Domination in MW2. Maps are excellent, they look amazing and allow for all the classes to get a chance to be used to their best, and vehicles to be used effectively.

Now onto the class system. There are four classes with each specializing in a specific weapon (engineers-sub machines guns, Medic-LMGs, Recon-Sniper rifles, Assault-Assault rifles....duh). As you play with a class you gain points in that class so if you only ever played as an engineer you would only unlock the new SMGs. The things you unlock by levelling up are mostly specializations so body armour or more room to carry explosives. You can also unlock certain weapons (shotguns and single-fire rifles) to be used with any class you want.

I have read in a couple of reviews saying that the game is unbalanced and its too hard for someone new to compete....well this is utter rubbish. Personally I bought the game two weeks after its release and have had no problems coming up against higher levels, as unlike MW2 the balancing is perfect. The guns higher up are all down to personal preference....do I substitute rate of fire for damage etc etc. And vehicles can be taken down if you know how and don't run like an idiot towards it with an SMG. In short i have yet to frustratedly punch a wall due to this game, something I cant say for MW2.

So sorry for the somewhat epic review but i feel an epic game deserves an epic review. For those of you who cant be sacked to read the above, here's the need to know.

Graphics - 9.5/10 The only console FPS better is Killzone 2

Gameplay - 10/10 Slightly more "hefty" than CoD but infinite sprint balances this out

Sound - 10/10 I will occasionally stop and listen as bullets whiz by, a helicopter buzzes overhead and a tank whines past awesome!!

Lasting appeal - 10/10 will be playing this until Bad Company 3

Overall - 9.8/10 The best game I have played so far this year, along with Mass Effect 2 of course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 23 July 2010
By 
J. Neeson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im sorry to tell you this folks. If you buy this game you will have NO life left. The story mode of the game is excellent and fun to play, plus you will have hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! of fun playing this game online.

You will get angry as someone snips you from across the map but once you work out where they are and get payback they joy is ahhh.

You will shout as your team does not do what you want at first but once you win the round you will cry out with joy.

I used to think cal of duty was the best war game around but to my happyness Battlefield beats it hands down, infact there is not even a contest between the to off them. You need to own this game and experence they joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MW2 move over!! Offline mainly review..., 5 Mar 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
REVISED 11/Mar/2010

Well i got this wednesday, and so ive had several hours at the games campaign (offline) mode.

OFFLINE----------------
First thing first, the graphics and sound in this game, have got to be one the finest out there, even better than mw2. The landscapes are so impressive, they almost look photorealistic!! The snowscape and jungle levels are so beautiful to look at sometimes youre think your watching a movie rather than game!> (the gfx are reminiscent of uncharted imo)
The sound is equally impressive, the weapons sound powerful and it almost gives you a sense of pleasure pressing the trigger. Explosions almost knock you out of your seat especially when you start toppling houses!!

The actual game story is more like cod this time around, it seems more linear, and the story seems a bit more whole than , cods one minute your him than your him, sorta thing. The AI both enemy and friendlies are pretty good, the only thing that got me is sometimes your friendlies would go off onto an objective and start killing the enemy before i got there. This would happen when i would be searching an area for weapons or collectibles, and they would bugger off, and can be annoying but obviously not major. The checkpoints are spaced nicely but not too hard or too easy. The inclusion of regenerating health is much needed and so much better than finding health packs. The controls are nice and smooth, and dont feel clunky. The thing which i think stands out over mw2, is the destructible environments, its brilliant! See an enemy dug in, give the area some firepower, or topple whats around him on him. I seem to remember in the first BF, the enemy would still be standing there, even though the house came down on top of him. Now in this one, they will certainly die, just as long as you have the firepower.

**i started on hard and would recommend any experienced fps gamer to start on. To me it offered a more realistic war setting, and increasing the length of the campaign and made covering crucial.**

The enemy Ai are average for AI (hard level) i suppose, but i feel they could be little more like "cods veteran AI", but then again that was sometimes frustrating as hell, at least BF2 is enjoyable on its hard setting. Having said that on hard u do seem to get shot when u think no one can see you, its like "how the hell did u see me there!!". Theres not really much else to say about the campaign, apart from the collecting weapons, which is a nice feature to give u incentive to search, but the map almost indicates where the weapons are anyway. The small sections in the game, when your riding in a vehicle (shooting from a heli/tank etc) are very similar to cod, but when the environment is destructible, this seems more authentic and engaging then mw2!!

ONLINE----------------
Ive played one game online, and this is not MW2 run n gun n jump style gameplay, you have to have teamwork and strategy to succeed, noobs beware lol!!
I felt that as ive played more games online, i wanted to update my review one last time to give my full honest opinion.
As i said above, this is no run n gun like m2, you have to stick in a team, no lone wolf rambo style gameplay here to survive long. Conquest mode i beleive is the core online mode, the battles/gunfights ive witnessed playing this mode is unbelievable. One instance me and a few of my squad in a house, were having a intense shootout with the enemy team in the house across the street. It was great and felt like a war movie, and felt realistic (not that ive been to war). We were just fighting for that little bit of ground to achieve our mission. None of that arcade garbage thats modern warfare, Battlefield is the proper modern warfare!!!! The explosions/firefights and tank battles to be had are jawdropping, this is seriously intense online.
A few things that did bug me was the fact that there is no prone/lying position for your soldier (important for sniping imo). Also sometimes the knife swipe, is not so accurate. Ive had a few times when im dancing with an enemy just trying to knife eachother, you have to be almost on top of them to reach them. Also the sniper class is unbalanced and commonly used....!! Having said that with the small niggles, my final word online is bloody awesome, this is modern warfare how its meant to be. END OF!

CONCLUSION----------------
Im sorry that ive compared it to MW so much, but i feel thats the best way to review this game, as it looks like DICE are trying to take CODS mantle! For me this game is slap bang between Operation:flashpoint and modern warfare 2. It has the accessibility of mw2 and has its fair share of set pieces and action, but it also shares that authenticity that OFP has, without a maybe too simulated feel. It is also in my opinion the best of them!!
The way i look at it , MW2 is for children, battlefield 2 is for the adults.
Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360)
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews