Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Getting Better all the time!
This game is excellent and if you are a fan of The Beatles sheer perfection.

The all important track listing is as follows:

"A Hard Day's Night"
"And Your Bird Can Sing"
"Back in the U.S.S.R."
"Birthday" Beatles 04
"Boys" Please Please Me
"Can't Buy Me Love"
"Come Together"
"Day Tripper"
"Dear Prudence"...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Brawny Withed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the beatles
i expected more but it arrived in good condition and played well just not what i expected it does for the kids
Published 1 month ago by elaine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Getting Better all the time!, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is excellent and if you are a fan of The Beatles sheer perfection.

The all important track listing is as follows:

"A Hard Day's Night"
"And Your Bird Can Sing"
"Back in the U.S.S.R."
"Birthday" Beatles 04
"Boys" Please Please Me
"Can't Buy Me Love"
"Come Together"
"Day Tripper"
"Dear Prudence"
"Dig a Pony"
"Do You Want to Know a Secret"
"Don't Let Me Down"
"Drive My Car"
"Eight Days a Week"
"Get Back"
"Getting Better"
"Good Morning Good Morning"
"Hello, Goodbye"
"Helter Skelter"
"Here Comes the Sun"
"Hey Bulldog"
"I Am the Walrus"
"I Feel Fine"
"I Me Mine"
"I Saw Her Standing There"
"I Wanna Be Your Man"
"I Want to Hold Your Hand"
"I Want You (She's So Heavy)"
"If I Needed Someone"
"I'm Looking Through You"
"I've Got a Feeling"
"Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds"
"Octopus's Garden"
"Paperback Writer"
"Revolution"
"Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" /"With a Little Help from My Friends"-67
"Something"
"Taxman"
"The End"
"Ticket to Ride"
"Twist and Shout"
"While My Guitar Gently Weeps"
"Within You Without You / Tomorrow Never Knows"
"Yellow Submarine"

The only improvement the developers could have made for the game would of been to include the entire Discography to play.

This is miles better than any of the Guitar Hero series which I also have.

Just a note as well to say that this game is compatible both with Rockband and Guitar Hero peripherals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game...but you might have to buy more peripherals, 12 Sep 2009
By 
J. Wall "jimboblink" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you love the Beatles music, then you'll love this game.

Please be aware that if you buy this game for the vocal harmonies, you will need a USB microphone for each singer (assuming you want to harmonise locally and not online) - it does NOT support the Xbox headset as a microphone. I've ordered the MadCatz one listed on Amazon.

Also, if you want three microphones plugged in you'll either have to plug one in the back of the Xbox (not an option for me as I have the Wireless Network Adaptor plugged in) or use a USB hub. If you bought rock band (band in a box) in the past then you should have a little USB hub. Otherwise you'll have to get hold of a USB hub (apparently any one will work, but it most likely would need to be a powered one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definate purchase for your xbox music collection, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Thompson "pault24" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like alot of people I have been a fan of the Beatles for a good while now even know I am an 80s child and they where a good while before me.
Now to the point, this game is amazing, if you like Rock band and the Beatles then you must get this game. Set list is great, visuals are very good and the extras that include pictures, videos and sound files are an excellent bonus.
The game works exactly as Rock band except the visuals are better and you can get access to all songs from the get go.
The only negative I would have is that they didnt include the most liked Beatles songs on the disc such as Hey Jude or Let it be (my fav), however im sure these are being kept for DLC and as the Beatles have so many great songs there are plenty on the disc.
With the announcments of DLC full albums being available over the next 3 months i know i will be spending alot of MS points.
If you own the xbox 360 instruments then this game is a must for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, respectful and high quality but could do with more songs and features, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. T. Anderson "onlyconnect" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Beatles Rock Band is a Beatles-themed variant of the Rock Band series. You play along to the hits against a backdrop which varies from the Cavern Club in Liverpool to the Let it Be rooftop concert.

The game is very well done. The developers had access to high quality multitrack tapes, giving great sound quality, and the videos created for the songs are outstanding, including some fancy psychedelic effects for songs like Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. You can also unlock some conventional videos though with one exception I wouldn't get too excited (I don't want to give away all the secrets).

Another extra is the use of genuine studio chat at various points - there are some fun comments and die-hard Beatles fanatics will love it.

Just in case you have not played this type of game before: it is huge fun, especially if you can get a full band together, and you really get the illusion of making music together.

Now the weak points. First, the game is short-ish; just 45 songs which you will whip through in no time on the easier settings. No She Loves You, no Help, no Strawberry Fields, no Day in the Life - everyone will have their absent faves, but I feel that 45 songs is rather minimal. More are coming as downloads, at extra cost though. Second, the extras aren't that great and there is little variety.

I can forgive both flaws, because of the overall high quality, but it makes it a four-star in my opinion.

Although the game is very easy on the first two settings (Easy and Medium) the challenge takes a huge leap up for Hard; and I am full of respect anyone who can get high ratings on Expert. That said, it seems easier overall than the standard Rock Band games.

Here's my recommendation:

If you love anything Beatles - get the game.

If you like the Beatles and have never tried Rock Band or Guitar Hero before - get the game, it's great fun, and you might prefer this to the more hard-rock oriented variants.

If you only mildly like the Beatles and/or have other games of the same type - probably not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock Band Beatles. A Real Challenge!, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Ph Sharp "Pog" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well, despite certain comments, so far, i have found that, The Beatles Rock Band has been a superb, intricately detailed, full on challenge!

Doubtless, some may, in bravado, like to kid you that this game is a doddle to play well.

No it isn't. However it rewards effort and practise more than adequately.

I was around in the early 60s and have been a fan of the Beatles for all of the life that i have lived and remember. Some 44 or so of my 48 years.

I know all of the songs very, very well indeed. I must add that having the full drumkit, guitar and mic made it a blast to mess with. Allowing me to alternate mic and instruments as i explored the games deeper depths.

What i, as a forty plus year Beatle fan failed to appreciate, up until now is, just how superb Ringo's drumming was, and quite simply how good and, how difficult Beatles harmonies really are to get right.

Right from the opening cartoon esqe and latter psychedelic Walrus parade you will be hooked on this game.

Pay no heed to idiots who say it is easy and takes four hours to complete, it's utter tosh! I await the UTUBE video of it!

Given the amount of songs here, just do the maths yourself. I don't think that half of these fools played the game at all. Leastways not seriously.

Maybe these people played the game on easy mode. Which is, in no way easy, i hasten to add. Not to play or sing perfectly anyway.

This surely is what the game is all about, pitting your wits against individual fab four members and their instrument playing/singing abilities.

The game has a very smooth and fairly forgiving learning curve on the easier setting, which makes player/s want to strive to achieve better performances.

It is also a fair learning curve for those who know little about the Beatles and their music. A tad hard for a start, but the game soon opens up to those who know little or nothing of the Beatles and their music.

I guess most who have appraised this game so far, simply wanted to queue up to be first to have their say about it.

I guess they have had their fifteen minutes of fame by now then!

How sad for them, still if you are a fab four fan or just want to have a great experience, playing a game that gives a solid challenge, then look no further. You have found it.

I doubt that, at this moment in time, you could do better than to buy this game. Guitar Hero world Tour i have, it's ok. I prefer GHII myself, but this...

STREETS AHEAD, just like Rock Band was.

If you can't play drums or harmonise after playing this then you truly are lost musically.

You can still enjoy music though. But hey you must be good at something right!

In my opinion this game is a worthy purchase.

One slight downer for me though, no Eleanor Rigby or Norwegian Wood. WHaa...t why!
Hmm i suppose i may have to cough up for that one later then!!! Not too chufded there.

All the best, enjoy Nempster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles brought to gamers and fans in a Rock Band way, and it works!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"The Beatles: Rock Band" is another entry into the RB pantheon, only this one focuses solely on the career of the Fab Four. Unlike band-specific games in RB's rival series, "Guitar Hero" (such as "Guitar Hero: Metallica", "GH:Aerosmith" and the forthcoming "GH:Van Halen"), this game does not feature songs from other artists chosen by the band. No, TB:RB is solely about The Beatles, and includes 45 of their songs, all taken from the original masters. At the time of writing only "All You Need Is Love" (which came out on the same day) is available as downloadable content, but more is on the way, the first of which should be the Abbey Road album on October 20th 2009 (well, the songs that aren't already on the disc!).

The game plays pretty much as you expect from the RB series, and, with the exception of one song, all are readily available to select in Quickplay. The Story Mode takes you through the career of The Beatles from their early days in Liverpool's Cavern Club through to the Shea Stadium concert and the Ed Sullivan Show to their Abbey Road days and finally their songs atop Apple Corps building.

One thing of note is that this game is totally incompatible with the two previous RB games (except that you can use instruments from those games), so bringing your existing DLC from those is not possible. TB:RB has been programmed from scratch, and the new presentation reflects this. This is not necessarily a bad thing, and the fact that the two surviving Beatles and the widows of the two who are no longer with us allowed this project to go ahead at all is really quite something considering you still cannot get any of their songs on iTunes.

Anyone who has played GH or even any of the previous RB games will feel right at home when it comes to the instruments (bass, guitar and drums), as these function pretty much the same as before, as do the overall gameplay elements. Two notable exceptions are (a) the whammy bars on guitars can still be used to more quickly gain Beatlemania (this game's version of Overdrive or GH's Star Power), but these do not cause the sound to tremolo like they did in the other games; and (b) in the previous RB games the drummer would have a free-fill section prior to the optional crash-cymbal when his/her Beatlemania meter was at least half-full -- this free-fill section has been removed here, leaving only the optional crash-cymbal (which can still be omitted completely if you didn't want to use it just yet).

The biggest change is in the vocal part. As you may have noticed from the back, up to six people can perform a song at once, and it's down to the introduction of multiple voice parts (up to three, depending on the song). When you select a song to play, you get the various difficulty grades on a bar chart, as before, but there is sometimes a number 2 or 3 beside the Vocal bar, and this means that there are two or three vocal parts in this particular song, where people would be singing the original harmonies as performed by The Beatles originally. The three microphones required would be assigned to the player connected to the console using the regular console controller, and extra bonuses can be obtained whenever the vocals split into harmony (shown by separate, differently-coloured voice lines and lyrics on the vocal highway -- it works really well and adds a new dimension to the experience) and sung correctly by all performers. Three mikes can be connected using a USB splitter if you have USB mikes such as the ones from "Guitar Hero: World Tour" or either "Rock Band", or it is possible to use the wireless microphones from "Lips" equally well.

Gameplay on XBox Live is still possible, just like in RB2, and it is still as much fun as it ever was. As before, only the songs that all of the players in your virtual band have can be selected for online play, so if you have "All You Need Is Love" and one other player does not, then this song will be ghosted on your screen when selecting a song and will be impossible to select.

The graphics and sound are incredible, and the psychedelia in some of the songs is quite a retro delight, as are some that are inventive with backgrounds when they would otherwise have consisted of the four people (who are rendered well, too, portraying what they looked like at the time of release of the original song, such as John Lennon not having his glasses until later on in the band's career) just sitting in a recording studio playing their instruments. (Anyone who saw the original trailer will know what I mean via the segments from "Here Comes The Sun" and "Octopus's Garden").

It's fair to say that if you liked Rock Band 2 then you'll probably enjoy this, but probably not quite as much. 45 songs for 40 can seem a bit mean considering RB2 (and even RB1) had more than that on the disc and cost the same when they first came out, and even on the Expert difficulty setting (Easy, Medium and Hard being the other three) none of the songs are particularly tough and even a moderate RB veteran will probably race through the story mode with little fear of failing out of a song at all (although anyone who has selected Easy difficulty will automatically have the game's otherwise optional No-Fail mode activated as standard; I don't mind this inclusion at all, especially having read that even pensioners get enjoyment out of TB:RB).

Another thing that I thought was a shame is that some very popular songs such as "She Loves You", "Help!" and "Please Please Me" are notable for being absent. While these may admittedly eventually appear as DLC, it just seems, again, to be a bit mean to exclude them from the main setlist on the disc.

So, all in all, while it's not at all guilty of being a half-kilter release, and it does its job exactly as it should, it's not quite a patch on the sheer intensity of its own predecessor, RB2. Still, fans will no doubt delight at unlocking trivia items and photographs of the foursome simply by doing well enough in songs, and it'd no doubt still be a hit at parties, particularly any with a great mix of generations, some of whom might have grown up with The Beatles, while those denied this chance have some defining songs brought to them in an entertaining way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love the Beatles and I only paid pennies for. The game, I think is worth far more. What a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the beatles, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i expected more but it arrived in good condition and played well just not what i expected it does for the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I expected this to be a cheap cash-in but was actually really surprised by what an enjoyable game this is, although i didnt know you need a seperate controller so i had to by a usb microphone which i picked up for around a tenner off ebay/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, very enjoyable and slightly addictive!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The best game I've bought in a while, I completed it in less than a week thou but I did play it all day ;P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc9524c)

This product

The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360)
The Beatles Rock Band (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
5.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews