Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trio Of Musicals
South Pacific: one of the first blockbusters I saw in the 1950's with my mother (dad not interested). This screen version of the Rodgers and Hammerstein show had me in tears at the end. Mitzi Gaynor (a Navy nurse) Rossano Brazzi (A French planter),Juanita Hall ('Happy Talk'), and John Kerr (Lieutenant Cable) and the native girl Liat (Frances Nuyen). The score is...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon could you please list the audio type on all ...
Amazon could you please list the audio type on all DVDs and Blu Rays as this is most important to audiophiles.
Published 2 months ago by Musicman 100


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trio Of Musicals, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
South Pacific: one of the first blockbusters I saw in the 1950's with my mother (dad not interested). This screen version of the Rodgers and Hammerstein show had me in tears at the end. Mitzi Gaynor (a Navy nurse) Rossano Brazzi (A French planter),Juanita Hall ('Happy Talk'), and John Kerr (Lieutenant Cable) and the native girl Liat (Frances Nuyen). The score is wonderful. 'Some Enchanted Evening', 'There is Nothing Like a Dame','I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair', 'Younger Than Springtime', 'I'm In Love With A Wonderful Guy' 'Bali Ha'i'. Marvellous story and sets.

The King and I: Rodgers and Hammerstein again. A talented and handsome cast starring Yul Brynner and the lovely Deborah Kerr are outstanding. She was more than a match for the King of Siam as his English governess.They make a great team. Rita Moreno as the lovelorn Tuptim and Carlos Rivas as her Burmese beau add graceful support. Numbers include , 'I Whistle a Happy Tune', 'Hello Young Lovers', 'Getting to Know You' and 'March of the Siamese Children' and the delightful 'Little Hut of Uncle Thomas' ballet. Beguiling performances, cinematography and production. Very moving.

Oklahoma: More Rodgers and Hammerstein. Taken again from Broadway, Gordon MacRea (Curly) and Shirley Jones (Laurey) took the leads and love interest. Charlotte Greenwood was Aunt Eller, ever solid, and Will Parker (Gene Nelson) with girl Ado Annie (Gloria Grahame), are superb. Rod Steiger and Eddie Albert pop-up. Numbers include 'Out of My Dreams' (a ballet), 'The Farmer and The Cowman', 'Everything's Up In Kansas City' exemplify the choreography. 'Oh What a Beautiful Morning', 'Surrey With The Fringe On Top', 'People Will Say We're In Love', 'Oklahoma'. What songs and film.

A knock-out trio of Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals transferred from stage to film. Superbly adapted and still thrilling and entertaining from one generation to the next. Indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs carry the three movies, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty good value.
Lots of lovely songs, which made it all worthwhile.
The King and I was sumptuous, Oklahoma tunefuil, South Pacific memorable
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD package ever, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. William V. Roper "Bill Roper" (Watford, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
I was overwhelmed with these 3 DVD's. all three are my favourites, individually, so to get them all together in one "cover" was a great bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movies, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. M. K. Croft (west midlands england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
all three movies brill quality and would certainly buy off the same seller again.all the films are great and we will never see the likes of this kind of screen musical again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
I will be watching this for many years to come, it is magical, just as i remembered the first time . Ageless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winning combination, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
This really is a winning combination! Three great Rodgers and Hammerstein movies in one package!
In 'South Pacific', set during World War 2, an American nurse (Mitzi Gaynor) is stationed on a South Pacific island. She falls in love with a widowed plantation owner (the gorgeous Rossano Brazzi) but when she finds that he has mixed race children, her inbred prejudices get in the way. At the same time, a U.S. lieutenant falls deeply in love with a beautiful Tonkinese woman, but he fears that, should he marry her, she will not be acceptable to his family and friends.Amidst the beauty and charm of the island and its people and the stunning energy of the film's music and dance, racial prejudice is a serious theme. The lieutenant sings "You've Got to Be Carefully Taught" as he considers the consequences of marry his sweetheart. The film applauds Mitzi Gaynor's character as she overcomes her reservations and learns to accept and love her fiancé's beautiful children. The film is loosely based on James A Michener's book, 'Tales of the South Pacific.' It won a number of awards at the time and is still as absorbing, entertaining and touching as ever.
Based on the true story of Anna Leonowens, who went to Siam in the 1860s to teach the children of King Mongkut, 'The King and I' is equally wonderful. It shows the clash between old ways and new as the king tries to modernise his country while still retaining his own prejudices and status. The love between Anna and the king is never stated and yet very obvious, thogh of course it can never come to anything because the king already has a number of wives and many children. Yul Brynner was not first choice for playing the part of the king; Rex Harrison was. Thank goodness he wasn't available! It would have been a very different film if he had. Brynner was a Russian-American; he looked exotic and dangerous and, though his part was originally meant as a supporting role, he dominated the film and made it what it is. The Asian-flavioured music and the charm of the exotic setting are just marvellous! An unforgettable movie.
'Oklahoma', released in 1955, was the first musical written by Rodgers Hammerstein, based on a play by Lynn Riggs called 'Green Grow the Lilacs'. It was written around 1943 and, like the other films in this collection, it was a smash-hit stage play first. Set in 1906, it is a romantic story about a cowboy, Curly McLain, and farm girl Laurey Williams. Another cowboy, Will Parker, deals with his very flirtatious fiancée, Ado Annie.
Rodgers and Hammerstein won a special Pulitzer Prize for Oklahoma! in 1944. like 'Showboat', it was a new kind of musical - one which integrated singing and dancing with a strong storyline, creating a drama which could make you laugh and cry and think. It is very balletic, despite the energy of the dancing, a wonderfully innovative musical which stuns you with its impact, musically and in every way. It won and incredible number of awards and is still a great film that no-one should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect combination, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
This is a perfect combination and the DVD is of such a high quality - it was a joy to watch and better than ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Pacific/The King and I/Oaklahoma, 11 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my elderly mother. It was very reasonable priced and had 3 old musicals that my mother absolutely loved. She spent hours watching the musicals and she then passed them on to family members and friends.
All in all it was a great purchase that brought great pleasure to a lot of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to my youth, 9 April 2013
By 
Eve Kiff (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
Sheer nostalgia. This was a a trip down memory lane. It brought back memories of going to the 'pictures' before television was the main source of entertainment. We viewed the films through clouds of smoke which rose up to the ceiling through a blue light from the projection room, as almost everyone in those days smoked their cigarettes all through the performance, but it didn't detract from the wonderful acting, singing and scenery in each of these musicals. I hadn't realized that South Pacific was quite political - it didn't occur to me at the time; it is quite dated but worth watching, if only to give some idea of some of the views held in those times King and I - quite perfect - Yul Brynner at his best. Oklahoma - great singing by Gordon Macrea - especially "Oh what a beautiful morning" and "People will say we're in love". (Its is said that this song was the favourite of the Queen and Prince Philip during their courtship) - A great buy - three favourites on one DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars golden oldies, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent value for money for 3 lovely sunday afternoon films. A brilliant introduction to the musicals for the grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Pacific / The King And I / Oklahoma! [DVD]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews