Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again, most definitely not a toy - do not allow children to use!
Does what it says on the tin, and makes a very good job of it. Excellent for protecting charcoal, pastel and other smudgable drawings, goes on evenly, doesn't stain, and dries invisibly. Have used other makes, and this is one of the best.
Published on 1 Jun 2012 by Mrs W Foden

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Expensive
Good product but very expensive, would have used hairspray if I had been smart enough to realize It. will do more homework next time. Good touch by supplier they included a Chewy sweet in packet.
Published 10 months ago by Graham P Luscombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again, most definitely not a toy - do not allow children to use!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs W Foden (Beaford - Devon) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
Does what it says on the tin, and makes a very good job of it. Excellent for protecting charcoal, pastel and other smudgable drawings, goes on evenly, doesn't stain, and dries invisibly. Have used other makes, and this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long lasting, 24 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
I've a can of this which I've had for about thirty years now and I'll use it, umm, very infrequently. It IS a superb product though.

For day to day working I just use hairspray, my current being:
VO5 Hair Spray - Extra Body Hard to Hold 14 Hour Hold 250 ml (Pack of 2) which I just reviewed AS a fixative. If anyone has come across a better alternative I'd be delighted to learn of it.

The Winsor & Newton is a little better for "gallery" quality work, though of course never quite as good as no fixative at all; it does tend to flatten the character out of a rich pencil drawing and (I don't use them myself) it turns pastels and chalks into crayons and kills a lot of the "freshness" BUT it's a darn sight better than having a work ruined by smudging so if it's not going under glass _immediately_ but might, someday, then the W&N is good insurance. It's very clear, non-yellowing in my experience (whereas paper usually isn't) and tends to wrinkle far less than the cheap substitute.
Of course I'm just a hack illustrator whose drawings are usually just a stage in producing something in a different medium so fixing with hairspray is a sensible alternative. Your mileage etc. etc.

In conclusion:
First class product. If it's essential (difficult choice) I doubt one would find anything better. Expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st one replaced with no problem By the way this is not a TOY, 22 Oct 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
The firtst can of fixative was not a spray it is just a dribble it was a good thing that I did a test first .It was replaced with no problem and the next can worked perfectly .I think I just got a bad can the 1st time S*** happens .I good product that works well .PS this is not a toy but as a art product I give it 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
Ideal for giving a light fixative to drawings and pastel work. I only use a light spray to avoid colour changes in work. A good quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
Good product, would like a larger version, sometimes use hair spray as an alternative which suggests the fixativeprice could be lower
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works really well, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Eileen E (North Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
Although a small can this fixative lasts a long time. It works really well and you can use it between layers of colouring and can therefore colour over it once dry. Only problem is the smell. Even using it outside it still stinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good for protecting your pencil and chalk drawings., 24 Dec 2012
By 
Kristin "I read so I don't kill people!" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
If you are drawing in mediums that rub off easily, then you really do need a fixative for any you wish to keep. This simply puts a thin invisible coat on top of the work to stop it getting rubbed off while in a portfolio or being shown off to friends! As you would expect from W&N, this is a good quality product, and a little goes a long way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pandam, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Janet Edwards (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item does what it says, which for the purchaser is time saving and hassle free. You can rely on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product well worth the cost., 1 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
I received a silver tin instead of the one pictured but it is the correct product. As a graphite, charcoal and coloured pencil artist I find this spray-on glue fixative a must have. If I need to do some layering but don't want to end up erasing certain areas, I can use this to fix things into place and then once it's dry I can continue working without worrying I might accidently erase or smudge something. It has a very strong smell so I recommend using outdoors (or a very well ventilated room away from people and animals) when it's not too windy and spray this in the direction the wind is blowing, so that the spray doesn't end up on you. And also use the spray at least 10 inches above your paper. One quick sweep from over the page away from yourself should be surfice, but if you've used something like charcoal vines/sticks then I recommend a second coat once the first is completely dry (not tacky to the touch). Will definitely buy again when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lasting effect, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml (Toy)
Not the cheapest on the market, but very effective.Works very well, has been used on several charcoal images with excellent results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winsor & Newton Fixative 150ml
£10.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews