Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie!
Really creepy, atmospheric horror flick. Sure, it's not gory, and there are no Hollywood CGI effect, but it has a genuinely disturbing feeling about it, which made my spine tingle somewhat!

Definitely watch a watch!
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by MrOakley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Ending
A low-budget Brit horror that is very much played by numbers. The first half of the film is mind numbingly boring. And as with a lot of other low-budget horrors, loud music is used to try and scare. I almost switched it off. But I'm very much glad I stuck with it. Because it came as a nice surprise to me when I was caught out by the twist ending. The acting was pretty...
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by NELMES316


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Ending, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
A low-budget Brit horror that is very much played by numbers. The first half of the film is mind numbingly boring. And as with a lot of other low-budget horrors, loud music is used to try and scare. I almost switched it off. But I'm very much glad I stuck with it. Because it came as a nice surprise to me when I was caught out by the twist ending. The acting was pretty decent; MyAnna Buring stands out the most and I look forward to seeing a lot more of her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low-key but effective psychological horror, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
As average horror films go, this is a pretty decent one. Unfortunately, its title and plot summary do it no favors. I thought this was going to be a film about a group of theology students summoning a demon and then trying to survive in the wake of their very bad mistake. In point of fact, that little demon conjuration story serves as the background to the actual storyline, which involves five college students picking the worst possible site for house squatting. Having - quite by accident, mind you - watched two consecutive movies about house squatting, I can say, with some authority, that house squatting is bad, mmkay. If you try it, you're just asking to find yourself locked in and hunted by some evil entity - be it man or demon. Getting back to the title, I think LionsGate made a mistake in changing this film's original name, Credo, to The Devil's Curse once it purchased the American distribution rights. I mean, please, The Devil's Curse? Could you possibly have a cheesier title for a horror film?

The central character in this story is Alice (MyAnna Buring), a most diligent student who is the last person to leave the library on a nightly basis. For some reason, she is friends and roommates with a stereotypical party animal, an insecure would-be suitor (Mark Joseph) who secretly tapes her in her room, and two other girls. Thanks to Jock (Clayton Watson) and his loud partying, the whole lot of them are evicted on an early Saturday morning. Jock finds them a new place to crash for at least the next couple of weeks, though. Unfortunately, it turns out to be a former seminary/dormitory where a group of five students tried to summon the demon Belial some years ago. As the urban legend goes, one member of the group chickened out and broke the pentagram (or circle, if you will), thus freeing the demon from the group's control; by the next morning, the other four students were dead. It goes without saying that I would be making some well-defined tracks out of that place, but these crazy kids decide to stay. Needless to say, that's a decision they're going to live to regret (if they manage to survive at all).

This sounds like your basic paint-by-numbers horror plot, but writer Alex Wakeford and director Toni Harman manage to pull off a pretty good ending. While it isn't uniquely original, the bit of a twist at the end works beautifully and changes the viewer's perspective on everything that has come before. Don't look for a lot of gore here, as this is primarily a psychological horror film. I like the low-key approach, though, and there's just something about The Devil's Circle that stayed with me after the film was over. This isn't really a crowd-pleaser, but it's more than worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie!, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
Really creepy, atmospheric horror flick. Sure, it's not gory, and there are no Hollywood CGI effect, but it has a genuinely disturbing feeling about it, which made my spine tingle somewhat!

Definitely watch a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice, 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
Those of you who love gore and heart-stopping frights won't be that impressed with this film, nor will anyone who chose it purely because of Stephen Gately.
However, if you are looking for a milder scare and a great twist, search no further. Credo is an enjoyable film that lets your imagination do most of the scaring. Those nervous individuals, who don't like to be spooked, will find this a compromise, halfway between "The Exorcist" and "Bob the Builder", which will allow them to say they've seen a horror movie, without spending the next six weeks in rehab.
The acting was surprisingly good, with likeable, hateable and fanciable characters if you are of that age. Myanna Buring was good as the lead actress, with one confusing "wooden" bit of acting that becomes clear later. Nathalie Pownall was extremely good, although why her character had to be a lesbian never became clear and the toilet scene left me non-plussed; however, Nathalie was in no way to blame for the strange directions.
The scenario was a bit of a cliché but the actors managed to create believable characters who were reluctant to enter the derelict college, but desperate enough to put up with it temporarily.
The ending was surprisingly unpredictable. Once you've watched it once, you'll want to watch it again. It gets better the more you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seen it all before, 11 Sep 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
Students crashing at an abandoned ex Catholic reformatory/school thingee conduct a seance, entity apparently gate-crashes though you never actually see it. Students wander around the building for the rest of the film, dying one by one though you never see them being killed just their prone bodies afterwards.
Add a bearded edgy outsider (survivor of the original seance and suicide spree when the school was functioning) who is in the know on these things and lives in a secret room in the building with (sigh) bible messages and drawings etched all over the walls, neglect to put in any scares whatsoever and cue end credits.
Poor direction to boot; quite an emphasis on 'hanging' in this film though unrealsitically done. With the last victim in particular you could clearly see the cord was loose around the victims neck. Saw a little of the poor extras just enough to observe the female director 'Toni' someone or other who whilst referring to a tunnel scene she wanted to incorporate after finding what looked like a corroded metal dust chute, referred to herself in the third person (a real pet hate of mine) saying how she had thought 'in Toni's world' (ooh I'm so zany me) it would look good until she was advised otherwise.
The young actors did what they could considering the limitations of the director. There were some awful scenes where other actors were just used as screen filler especially noticeable during the opening sequence when Gately was given lots of lines with the other male actor being his foil during the initial seance whilst the two female actors were mute witness to all goings on, really, really unrealistic and I felt quite sorry for them. I do not recommend this as a foray into horror and hope this director has moved onto more suitable genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give credence to Credo, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
Five theology students plan to take part in an occult ritual in their halls of accomodation, to prove the existance of the devil. One backs out after the ritual has begun, breaking the circle of protection. The next morning his four friends are all dead. Some years later, a group of students evicted from the house that they share, find themselves a nice place to stay as a stop gap. Yes, its the very same halls of residence, now derelict and boarded up. Then strange things start to happen...
This film superficially resembles another modern Brit Horror, Long Time Dead. As the film progresses however it comes across more like a British version of the superb American chiller Session 9.
The film eschews gore and elaborate set pieces, instead favouring a gradual build up of mounting dread, and it postively drips with atmosphere. The creepy interior of the building takes on a life of its own, and the young cast all equip themselves admirably. Its not that scary, but it should leave you with a little tingle down the spine, especially after the ending, which made me question everything I had seen up to then.
It even comes complete with a Lesbian shower scene. Okay, thats a bit of a fib, but if it makes one extra person delve into this superb film, then I'm glad I told it.
A terrific film, destined to become a minor classic in the future. Highly recommended. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Stephen Gately, 30 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
Was a little disappointed. Bought Credo as I love Stephen Gately, it was a shame he wasn't in it longer and due to his untimely death, also a shame that he'll never be seen in anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars booh, 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
it made me jump a few times and the end was a bit of a surprise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars credo, 17 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
quite a good story getting your mind thinking with a twist even though it is the usual group of teenagers the acting is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Credo DVD, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Credo [DVD] (DVD)
This is totally disappionting. Anyone hoping to see some fine acting from Stephen Gately will not do so, as he appears to be in it for a very short time. There does not seem to be good acting from anyone in the film, and the sound effects are more like someone flushing a victorian out side toilet, and desperately banging the metal arm to refill it,rather than indicating the existence of a malignant force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Credo [DVD]
Credo [DVD] by Stephen Gately (DVD - 2009)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews